We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga
Ranked #1 of 70 Mantua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is situated in an old palace turned museum. This we knew before arriving, so we expected something special. And indeed it was: The rooms were large apartments. Living rooms and bedrooms had richly decorated walls and roofs, and the bathroom had all the comfort that you could ask for, inclusive a jacuzzi. (The bed room of our friends was formerly an old chapel, which had been turned into the apartment of a cardinal some centuries ago). Several computers, TV, WiFi, fridge and coffee machine, and even a bicycle were at our disposal.
The hotel is family owned, and all family members did their very best to make our stay as memorable as possible.
Don´t miss this hotel if you plan to visit Mantova! I can promise you the hotel experience of your lifetime.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own history. Opt for the guided tour in the building which is offered by the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    26
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
255
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were received by the owners, their tour of the Palazzo was delightful and the whole experience of sleeping in a museum was outstanding. You are sleeping surrounded by frescoes, sculptures, magnificent marble fonts in a totally Renaissance ambiance, but the bed and bathroom comforts are top and up to date. I recommend the experience and do borrow the bicycles and go around Mantua on a bike to really get a look at all the architecture, balconies, small streets and cafés. Such a place!

Room Tip: We chose the upstairs suites, opened the windows and enjoyed all the art around us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexgwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

All the good things you read about this hotel are true. Felt like a lord living in the palace. Expensive,,but worth it. Pricy breakfast. The professore, his wife, daughter and some hired help run the place. You also get a free tour of the hotel in the morning.

Keep some time to spend all the day inside the hotel looking at the rare books, frescos, statues, antics and the art work. And also to talk to the professore.

The staff give excellent service wherever they can. They are not professionals and are not meant to haul luggage. The parking is a few blocks away.....easy once you know how but confusing initially, particularly if you are jet lagged, driving thru the narrow one way streets is not easy.

Good location. The interior is so good (if you like to live in a Lord's manor), it trumps everything. The bathrooms, plumbing etc.is all modern. Good Wi-Fi. The basement suite did not appeal to us, we chose the one on the first floor. We changed rooms once curing our stay, both were spectacular.

Room Tip: The main floor suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodLuck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed recently (Sept. 2014) at the Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga In Mantova :

At a wonderful historic house, providing a special experience and all needed modern comfort.
The guided tour with the story of the Valenti family and their house blended with the Italian history of a dramatic period.
The warmth shown by the owners, Prof. Linardi and his charming wife added to a beautiful
experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameralucida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visiting and staying at the Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga is not just about spending a night in a hotel, but pretending to live an historical adventure. It’s challenging, because it implies an open mind to art, ancient traditions and the will to forget conventional schemes and embrace a Renaissance atmosphere. You’ll be driven through this dream by the original stucco and frescos, as well as the relevant collection of the museum (don’t forget that: the rooms are part of a museum indeed!), the courtesy and explanations of the owner and the staff.
If you keep in mind where you are, in a museum which offers you the chance to have a glance on a past world which though still lives in the background of every expression of our present culture, you will really enjoy your visit and stay and won’t mind the apparent contradictions of the place. Since when you cross the elegant “diamond” façade (which reminds the illustrious ancestor of Palazzo dei Diamanti in Ferrara, in the same way in which the frescos recalls the Giulio Romano’s Palazzo Te frescos) you realize you are not going to stay in an usual place, and you must accept the inherent context. I mean, you have to accept the fact that the rooms have been “carved out” from an ancient, historical place; on the other hand, modern comforts of course can’t be “philologically” correct in such a place. Of course the basement apartments may be less comfortable than the main floor rooms, but it’s a question of exploring other levels of knowledge (i.e. the awareness of an underground Mantova, or the past architectural solutions for storage or service rooms that unravel a thread through different use of this spaces from their original intent to their most secret adhibition). So, in my opinion, the compromise allows people, for the nights you spend there, to revive something that you have just read about in the books!

Gabriele C.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor are more comfortable and really gorgeous
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This place merits at least a visit with a guided commentary tour by the owner, a retired Professor from Pavia University, who brings it all to life. Better still, stay in a historic frescoed room or suite, or else in the basement ultra - modern remodeled room located in historic tunnel made by Garibaldini before Italian reunification! Unique and unforgettable.
Only a few minutes walk to central Mantua ' s hist I rich piazzas and shopping area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
188 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Firstly, the restoration of this hotel was clearly a labour of love and it shows. The property is unique and an experience. The owners were very warm and friendly hosts. Their daughter provided us with a tour of the property and its history. Our room was over the top with its decoration, The pictures on the hotel's website do not do it justice.

If you are in the area stay there for a special night. The room and bathroom were very clean. There were little things missing, like a bar of soap in the bathroom. WIFI was good. The room was compete with a computer and little fridge with water. The breakfast was extra at 10e, in my opinion not really worth it expect you were eating in a beautiful room. There are lots of nearby restaurants for dinner,
Summary: A not to be missed stay. Like sleeping in a museum. Very romantic.

Room Tip: The basement rooms are very nice but are in a basement. Stay in the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mantua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Poli
Hotel Casa Poli
#2 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residenza La Villa
Residenza La Villa
#1 of 27 in Mantua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Mantova
B&B Hotel Mantova
#1 of 3 in San Giorgio di Mantova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Bianchi Stazione
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Arrivabene
Palazzo Arrivabene
#10 of 70 in Mantua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga

Property: Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga
Address: Via Pietro Frattini 7, 46100, Mantua, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Mantua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Mantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Museum Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga in Mantua The Gallery Museum Valenti Gonzaga is located in the most representative part of the piano nobile. The premises consist of more than 500 square meters; they are structured as an open-space composed by the entrance hall or "Gallery" , the "Camera del Figliuol Prodigo", the "Chapel", the “Stanza del trionfo del Tempo sulla Fama" and the "Stanza degli Stemmi." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga Italy/Mantua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing