We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious satisfying regional dishes at good prices, modern decor, and excellent service.”
Review of LaCucina

LaCucina
Ranked #19 of 475 Restaurants in Mantua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: In Mantua something different LaCucina translates into a modern dimension the old concept of "dining" welcoming the guest in a relaxed and family environment. The menu offers both traditional and contemporary cuisine dishes maintaining the simplicity and extreme care of old times, with particular attention to the products choice and methods of cooking. At lunch, there is a deliberately small menu that allows you to quickly eat high quality food at an affordable price, in the evening you can enjoy a more extensive and elaborated menu in order to better appreciate the value of our kitchen. Customers can also order food to go and buy some of the products that we prepare and serve to our guests.
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We had lunch here as we stumbled from station to our airbnb, and what a great find it was. Late run our five day visit to Mantova, we went for dinner, and again were not in any way disappointed. I chose a barley and vegetable dish for lunch and tortellini with sausage and tomato sauce, and both were delicious, well flavoured and plentiful. One of my friends chose a meat dish, served on a hot platter, the thick slices far win the middle, but turned over onto the hot plate, cooked through to perfection at the table. The service was friendly and efficient.

At lunch we tried the torte Margherita with zabaione and chocolate pudding, and in the evening a range of other local desserts, all delicious.

We all loved the modern decor, away from the sombre tones of old style restaurants, and the whole open, fresh and friendly atmosphere. Altogether a very pleasant dining experience. Five stars for doing everything so well.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant with high expectations.Regrettably our experience was not a good one.Both meals(Iberico pork fillet and Beef Vacca Vecchia) arrived so undercooked (raw in the middle) that they were immediately returned to the kitchen.On their return the beef was so full of gristle and fat that half was inedible...at 20 Euros a plate that is totally unacceptable.The assistant chef acknowledged that this was unfortunate and not up to the normal standard and offered an alternative should we require one , but at this point the evening was spoilt.If the cut of meat is not up to scratch then it should not be on the menu .The bread at the beginning of the meal was so dry that it crumbled into powder and a very meagre helping of very average Pinot Grigio cost 4 Euros.
Their meagre adjustment to the bill at the end was insulting. If they consider this good customer relations then they should think again.
The whole experience turned out to be the worst dining experience thus far...the cafeteria style interior lacked any atmosphere and the somewhat "posing" staff did little to recommend this establishment as a venue for the more discerning diner in search of quality(paper napkins do not "cut it" at those prices).
Not to be repeated.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank annj553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Really nice place, with a very modern and warm design, large/big tables where people just sit together .. socially refreshing .. and the good is excellent ! I had the lasagne and a chicken salad .. fresh and good ingredients accompanied by Nebbiolo delle Langhe. Excellent and kind service & good value for money. I'll be back !

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

This place it's a spark of modern dining in a very dated city. It's a very pleasant place to visit, and even if the menu is limited, the food is good quality. Prices are middle-high.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

This resturant never fails to give great food with great service. with a menu that is always changing it can never bore you.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank remyholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LaCucina also viewed

 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to LaCucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing