We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Osteria da Bice la Gallina Felice
Ranked #34 of 467 Restaurants in Mantua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Unfortunately only time for a quick lunch so took their all inclusive menu: One course, a glass of wine, water and coffee 10€ or 2 courses, glass of wine, water and coffee for 16€. Excellent value.
I had the Riso alla Pilota , and it was sublime...
Vialone nano rice cooked for nine minutes in boiling salted water then covered and left to stew while the « salamella » is cooked - sausage meat without its casing is sautéed until ready. The rice is added ( it should have absorbed the water by then) and it finishes cooking until al dente -only a few minutes - if necessary. A dusting of Grana Padano ( We are North of the Po river: Parmigiano Reggiano is South of the river) and voilà, simple and perfect. Was given a choice between two white wines ( a Bianco di Custoza and a Prosecco° and Two reds ( a Merlot and a Lambrusco). Went with the Merlot and it was really good. My collleague also had a main course of steak and salad. The choice was two « Primi» ( Penne coi fagioli - pasta with beans in tomato sauce, and Riso alla Pilota) and two « secondi » ( Steak with salad or roast veal with roast potatoes) though one colleague went for an enormous salad instead.. There was an à la carte menu available as well but we wouldn’t have had time: will go back in the evening.
Service a bit brusque but genuine and extremely efficient - the waitress would take no nonsense so don’t go expecting a waiter sucking up to you but believe me, the food is spectacular and after all that’s what you want, right?

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Theresa55051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

The little sign with it's chook (gallina) was on a wall near our airbnb, so we went in search on a Tuesday night, and found it fully booked, and made our reservation for the next night, our last in Mantova. What a find!

Excellent local cuisine in a charming environment, with excellent service. A real treat.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

After roaming in search of lunch for half an hour, we were out of tourist territory, we headed back to familiar ground near the railway station. By good Iuck, I noticed Osteria da Bice's front door down a side street. You aren't likely to come across it by accident, so it isn't stuffed with tourists. Nice menu of interesting dishes. More than just your typical pasta and meat place.

The "asparagus and Parmigiano" antipasti was a novel interpretation of a classic combination. Nice grilled lamb chops. Choice of local wines – ask for advice.

At €80 for two, two glasses of Prosecco and wines by the glass to match the food, it was a bargain lunch.

The chef, who knows her onions, and other vegetables, recommended two other good restaurants in Mantova.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Special food of Mantova, deliciuos taste, nice personnel, great small restaurant with a fantastic cuisine. I was suggested by residents about this place hidden away from the crowded town. At Easter Monday something wrong for table service was forgiveable, considering. Recommended!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Antonino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

One night in Mantova for a business trip turned into a quality experience that is hard to find these days. We were suggested this place from local people (who usually know how to tell fake places from good traditional cuisine). We expected a good Italian osteria and we were struck by the passion and quality of the owners. Just a few words that cleared a whole life into food knowledge "as we cook the delicacies of our tradition we know how to judge and evaluate a good parmesan cheese from a market product and the best local ham from a fake one".. as simple as that... do go for the real tradition.. do not get lost in marketing experiments.. highly recommended!!!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank natasha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria da Bice la Gallina Felice also viewed

Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to Osteria da Bice la Gallina Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing