We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Meuble Abatjour
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Mantua
Trinidad
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Drove here from Garda and hotel was further out than we had thought when booking. Good hotel, clean, comfortable, good value for money but too far out. Found a bar nearby for breakfast. We elected to walk in to the centre after we arrived but not a pleasant walk on major roads so although we had the car and didn't know what the parking situation would be in the city, we did use taxis. Mantova is a super city, quite different, does not benefit from the publicity of Verona and Padova but that is what made it for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinidadDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    73
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
68
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. It is a great, room only, hotel with very helpful staff. The rooms are modern, spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. Although the location is not the best, Mantua has plenty of free parking and Mantua, itself, is a delightful city with plenty to see. It is easy to park at the hotel and free wifi is, also, available. Since we were leaving on a Sunday, with no restaurants open at that hour, the hotel offered us a pleasan tbreakfast at no additional cost. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is fresh, modern, clean, quiet, and economically priced, but its location is highly inconvenient unless you have a car or don't mind taking taxis. Although Google Maps shows it as being a 20+ minute walk from the train station, the route is not walkable at all; the path goes right along Via Cremona, an extremely busy street that has no adjacent sidewalks. The #5 bus stops about 300 meters from the hotel, but its final run from downtown is at 8:30 PM. Fortunately, there's a good restaurant (La Bruschetta) near the hotel but dining options in the area are otherwise pretty limited (there's a steak house right by the hotel that others have recommended, but we didn't try it).

Be advised also that the hotel is not staffed 24/7. Official reception area hours are from 8-10 AM and 2-8 PM, but caveat emptor. No staff appear to be on site during the night. There are a couple of phone numbers posted outside the door of the office, but they won't do you any good if you are traveling without a phone that works in Italy.

Wi-fi is free if you can locate the network. My smart phone, which had no trouble with wi-fi anywhere else in Italy, was unable to discover the hotel's SSID (several others broadcasting in the area were readily displayed, however), and supplying that information manually to my device didn't help either. The staff member on duty was sympathetic, but not technically savvy; his response was simply that no one else had the problem (my wife, incidentally, experienced the same issue that I did).

In sum, this hotell may be a good choice if the issues described above aren't relevant to your situation. My rating of 3 stars is a compromise between 4 for the property itself and 2 for the location and limited amenities. A final note regarding location: If you're going to be taking the bus, it would be a good idea to buy multiple tickets at the tobacco shop located near the bus stop; its hours are more limited than the bus runs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britinsussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Spent a night there as a stopgap, but could easily have stayed there all the time we were in Mantua. Really clean and the rooms were lovely and light and airy. Reception was very helpful and courteous. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britinsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We left the Cinque Terre to catch a boat in Mantua. We were told there was nothing to do in Mantua when in fact it's a beautiful city with great bicycle paths and a wonderful ambiance.
The hotel was super clean and staff were extremely friendly. The hotel rented bicycles, and they held our luggage until we could get onto the next leg of our journey. We received a discount at two wonderful restaurants as guests of the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginainelora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

5 nights, July 2012.

Positives: Staff is very friendly and helpful; room is of a good size (not huge, but comfortable); clean and well kept, with a good A/C unit; right across the street from a supermarket, if you're trying to keep your expenses down; 1-2 nice restaurants in walking distance; easy access to bus line, and about a mile away from the rail station

Negatives: staff is not in the office most afternoons, though if you give them a call, they'll be there in about 5 minutes; not close to downtown (4-5km), though as mentioned above, it's an easy bus ride into Mantua.

Room Tip: Hardly a luxury option, but a great option for those looking for a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantova, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I am writing this in the last day of more than 30 days staying in hotel Abatjour in Mantova for my business trip here. And this is first time, that I am satisfied with a online-booked-by-company hotel.

The hotel room is large (for Italian standard, always clean) and what I enjoy the most is the sky window, I often relax watching the blue sky while waiting my colleagues to go o dinner. Absolutely beautiful (cheers!)

And what I must say is "the hotel is very well-placed". You can find a convienient store and one or two restaurants down-stairs, in front of the hotel is super market - which you can find everything. And also the hotel is only 2kms from the centre of the city. You can travel by car (or by bus - the hotel is next to the bus stop also - take the bus 12 and you will be in the centre by 5 mins).

If you go there, please give Donata and Giancarla (the owner) a smile. They deserve for wonderful hospitality and support.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Le D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mantua hotels
4.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Mantova
B&B Hotel Mantova
#1 of 3 in San Giorgio di Mantova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#3 of 27 in Mantua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Casa Dei Gonzaga
A Casa Dei Gonzaga
#12 of 27 in Mantua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo Bianchi Stazione
3.5 mi away
Residenza La Villa
Residenza La Villa
#1 of 27 in Mantua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Abacus
Hotel Abacus
#1 of 3 in Porto Mantovano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Meuble Abatjour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Meuble Abatjour

Property: Albergo Meuble Abatjour
Address: Via Cremona 27 | Interno 10, 46100, Mantua, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Mantua
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mantua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Meuble Abatjour 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Meuble Abatjour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Meuble Abatjour Mantova
Albergo Meuble Abatjour Italy/Mantua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing