We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Delicious”

Alla Buca della Gabbia
Ranked #11 of 472 Restaurants in Mantua
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Really great value for money. Very friendly staff. Thank you.

Unfortunately, the building is renovated outside - would be wonderful to sit outside.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank fritzjahhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

I love this place where typical food from Mantova is served in a nice and cozy atmosphere at a reasonable price.
Also the location is great.. in the heart of historic centre of Mantova
I will definitely go again during my next visit in town.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank betta700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Perfect place for a friendly lunch with local specialities. Nice ital norway party had a few good hours in the hottest part of the day in company with owners struggeling for attention behind roadwork of long duration. Worth a visit!!!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Unfortunately there are some urban street job in front of it and the entrance is a bit covered. Friendly service, small kitchen but with a big taste.
Do not miss it. Typical Mantova dishes.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank schu87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Made it a point to visit this enoteca over all the others we saw in Mantova and was a little disappointed.

The wines were ok but not outstanding (we tried two reds out of the three available) and were reasonably priced but the salami and cheese platter was a bit of a disappointment. We ordered the medium platter. There was only one type of salami (Mantovan) and one type of cheese (Gran Padano), some pickled fruit and crisped pork lard. While these seem to be typical of the region, they didn't wow us. Furthermore, we have been having salami and cheese platters quite often during our two week trip around Italy and this sort of paled against the stuff we have had in other provinces. I wouldn't say the quality was bad. The selection just could have been more varied.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank franinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alla Buca della Gabbia also viewed

 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Porto Mantovano, Mantua
 

Been to Alla Buca della Gabbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing