We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but beware for climate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #52 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good hotel but beware for climate”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We have been here before and always were happy. This time we encountered a problem in the technical design that ruined one night. It seems that between winter and summer the heating must be switched over to cooling. If it so happens that you have a hot winter day as we had April 3 the room can not be cooled, resulting in either a warm room with street noise (window open) or a hot room but quiet. This goes for the rooms with double beds but not the ones with 2 single beds, there it is a different ventilation system. So when booking in between summer and winter confirm that the airconditioner is switched on or stay in the rooms with lower numbers without the queen/king size beds.
My complaint was handled well so we will be back but I will confirm a working air conditioning first. For the rest: rooms are nice, modern and comfortable although a bit pricey, depending the dates. Parking may be on the streets if you find a spot, weekends no problem.

Room Tip: Usually upgrade to superior is not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    539
    129
    25
    8
See reviews for
154
381
79
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We recently stayed here on a trip to Milan and I have nothing but great praise for this hotel. Its clean, modern, bright with very well laid out rooms all tastfully decorated to a very high standard. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and it was exactly what we wanted.
Overall I can't fault this place, its easy walking distance (about 20 mins) to center or you can get the underground I believe. The area this hotel is in is nothing special but the hotel and location to the center worked extremely well for us.
Would I go back? Yes without question, this was not only a great base but a fantastic place to relax and enjoy our break in. Well done Crowne Plaza, top marks!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Lovely hotel, very clean and friendly staff. Breakfast is adequate with good choice.Location is a bit away from the centre, probably about a 15 minute walk but the metro station is right under the hotel.We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0nmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Decent four star hotel. Big advantage: it's so easy to find – right next to a Metro station, with good metro connections. Only real criticism you could make of the room was a lack of drawers; everything else was impeccable. Some delays at Reception, but not a major issue.

Unusually, dined in the restaurant. It rained all the time I was in Milan and there was a limited choice of restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood. The hotel's restaurant had a deal on and the price was very competitive (for Milan, which is an expensive city). Good food and good service. Only about 5 or 6 other diners.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obderver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I’m always staying at this hotel during my shopping in Milano for 3-4 nights twice per year. I really like and enjoy everything about this hotel:

Rooms

I’ve been staying in two kinds of rooms so far – standard and superior. All the rooms I’ve been staying at had the same design – modern, stylish, with very comfortable lighting. The beds and bed linens are very nice and extremely comfortable. Only once, staying in standard room, I had a shower cabin, however mostly there was a bath. By the way bathroom in superior room is really huge – just a separate room with a window. There is also free Wi-Fi in superior room.

Location

Maybe somebody could consider the hotel being not that centrally located – four metro stations from Duomo (what is actually 10-15 min), for me it’s just perfect – the hotel is located directly above the subway station Sondrio and 10 minutes walk from Milan Central train station where you can take Malpensa or Linate shuttle bus to the airport.

Staff

Staff is always very friendly, courteous and attentive. Once some minutes after arriving I was unpacking and suddenly all the lights in my room turned off – a guy from reception immediately gave me another one and helped to take my stuff from one room to another. A couple of times they allowed me really very late check-out though the hotel seemed to be full. And they always offered me to leave my luggage securely at the hotel until my evening departure from the city.

Dining

Breakfast was not always included in the rate. I had it a couple of times and was always totally satisfied - though menu is not that extended, eggs, variety of meat cutting and sausages, variety of cheese and pastry were always available. Everything fresh and of good quality. Also, what is important for me because I don’t drink coffee at all, variety of tea was also available – I found it really great as had some inconveniences with it in Italy as in coffee country before. Besides to have a complimentary bottle of water, a couple of tea and coffee bags in the room are also always pleasant.

I will definitely stay at Crowne Plaza Milan City every time I’m in Milano again and always recommend it to anyone who is going there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Crowne Plaza Milan City is ideally located for the Centrale train station and lively nightlife in its immediate vicinity, all of which are less than five minutes easy walk away. Immediately outside the hotel is Sondrio Metro station (on the useful San Donato/Comasina line - four stops away from Duomo). The huge Salesian parish church/college is just opposite the hotel.

We stayed for two nights on the weekend of the Ambroisian Carnival. Reception staff were professional and effecient, check-in and check-out was a breeze and very ably handled. Arriving back (well) after midnight only meant buzzing in at the front entrance. The room was well appointed, quiet and there was no problem in requesting additional toiletries. We particularly liked the red branded complimentary slippers!

No hesitation in recommending to prospective guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Just arrived and had the need to write a few words for this fine hotel.The hotel is not something impressive but the services and the stuff are excellent!!!It is a very warm place and you feel really welcome.It also provides the perfect solution if you travel with two young children(two interconnecting rooms)in a very reasonable price.Very clean and above a metro station (sondrio).The only minus its the location.We didn't feel very safe at nights but when we'll visit Milan,we will surely come back at the same place.THE STUFF IS THE KEY!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorkyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#82 of 428 in Milan
2,524 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#56 of 428 in Milan
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#46 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing