We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Milan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #52 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week (end of Dec to beginning of January) and only can highly recommend this hotel!
The service (reception, house keeping, restaurant) was very friendly, helpful and quick to fulfill all our needs - it was even possible to check into the room at 10am even though normally the check in time is 3pm. I sent an email in advance to let them know that our flights are so early and if it would be possible to get the room that early, and it was no problem at all!
When the safety deposit was not working, we were immediately offered a new room.

There aren't many shops or restaurant next to the hotel but if you walk for a few minutes (or take the metro which is located directly in front of the hotel) you find plenty of cafés, shops etc. The Metro to the Duomo takes only 10 minutes (5 stops), you could walk to the Central Station (or drive 1 stop with the Metro).

Here are the Pro's (and just a few Con's) of this hotel (we had a standart room):

PRO:
- extremely friendly staff, we felt very appreciated all the time during our stay.
- rooms are very quiet due to special windows - even though the hotel is located at an intersection, you can hardly hear the traffic when the window is closed.You could open the windows though which I really liked (sometimes in hotels with AC it is not possible to open the window at all)
- you can control the airconditioning in the room yourself, even can switch it off completely.
- the bathroom is big and very nicely built, it has a big tub.
- the breakfast was really good - especially compared to the poor continental breakfast selections which are normally offered in Italy. This breakfast had several options of bread, cold cuts, cake and in addition to that scrambled eggs, hardboiled eggs, sausages and bacon. It was included in our room rate but would cost EUR 12 if you paid it extra. The cappuccino was included in our deal as well.

CON's:
- We only had one bathrobe and one pair of slippers in the room (but I am sure we would have been delivered a second pair if we asked for it).
- the only German TV station was the very boring ZDF (the TV programmes include approx 2 programmes of each language but the German selection was very poor).
- WI Fi had to be paid for in the Standart Rooms (but I think is included in the Superior Rooms) - however, there is free internet access in the lobby.

Conclusion: No real CON's but lots of PRO's.
Since I suppose this is normally a "business hotel" and we stayed there during the holiday season, I can not write anything about the regular business - our stay was very comfortable and we would definitely return here at our next trip to Milan!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttvvuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I went on a 4 day City Break to Milan and booked this hotel as i thought i knew what i would get. I wasn't disappointed this hotel was perfect and right in the city centre with a Metro next to the door. Was clean all the staff i came across were helpful and the rooms were great.

The Breakfast was excellent as well with a large selection.

Highly recommend this hotel for a City Break...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverwoods1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here as a family (two adults and two children) in interconnecting rooms - very good for families. The hotel is located right above/beside a metro station on the direct line to the Duomo (takes about ten minutes). Good hotel overall. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Ended up staying here for three nights as part of our honeymoon. Everyone here at the Crowne Plaza was great to us. Gave us great directions, places to go and where to leave our car on the road so we wouldnt have to pay for parking. THe metro is literally right outside and about 10 minutes on it to the Duomo. Rooms were very clean, a bit small but compared to a room in NYC they were huge. Have a nice small gym at the top that overlooks the city. Free internet and lucky for me I had lost my razor and shaving cream and they were happy to accomadate. Overall was very happy with the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This was our 3rd stay in this hotel and we will definitely return. Rooms are very comfortable, modern furnishings and bathrooms very well appointed. The Metro connection is quick and very reliable, we bought a 24 hr ticket for 3.50 Euros! The staff are always very efficient and friendly, it is always an enjoyable experience for us to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyrumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is an adequate business hotel for one guest per room. Rooms are really small but the bathroom size is comfortable. Toiletries are nice. Service is uneven, some people are really friendly, and some others are lazy (too lazy). No concierge. We felt pity for another guest who asked at the front desk for a good restaurant and they sent him to a pizza place around the corner. Restaurant has good food, but has bad service. Food took ages to come, they forgot to pass our order. It is far away from the touristic sport but the metro is just there, so we didn’t have a problem with that.
Housekeeping is good and efficient. The lobby is nice and small. Again, the main concern is the rooms’ sizes.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with columns. The bathtub gets tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbffpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

To me the hotel is more than 4 stars and reasonably priced. It is a quiet modern hotel with good service. The Location is perfect for those who are familiar and have no problem with using the metro where it is located literally few steps from the metro; however it’s not for those who are looking to stroll around Milan on foot. The hotel is around 3.5 km away from the Duomo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed_Fakhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 428 in Milan
2,745 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,367 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#46 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £95 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing