We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Milan, Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #56 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milan, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel was fabulous. The bathroom was very well appointed. The room was small but very nicely done. Most rooms in Italy are small especially in the city center. We only spent one night but it was adequate for what we needed. The metro station was right outside of our door. So it made it very convenient to travel around the city. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlynnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    518
    121
    26
    8
See reviews for
147
366
78
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I booked this place for a night mainly it is close to the Central station and I have the Ambassador Gold. Room is the smallest of all the hotels I've stayed in this trip but clean, modern and functional as in most photos.

Liked:
- Hotel right above Sondrio station, the M3 line that goes directly to the Duomo. Convenient.
- Clean tidy rooms. Cannot fault.
- helpful staff.

Dislikes:
- There is no convenient store nearby. It's kind of a business/industrial feel to the area and nothing is open at night and gets quiet.
- It is one train station away to Central station. I found it awkward deciding if I should walk or take the train. with my luggage.
-

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the window to the courtyard. Not much of a view but is quite and on a nice day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damonology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel, België
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed in July and now in october at the CP Milan City. It has a perfect situation and you have a direct subway under the hotel, who connects directly the touristic places (Duomo,...).
The breakfast is correct (and only 12 euro). There is no swimmingpool and no ClubLounge for PC members. Nice sunny terrace. The rooms are OK. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanbelgium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Having previously stayed at the Crowne Plaza in San Donato, near Linate airport whilst in Milan on business, I decided to stay at the hotel in the city, as there is little to do in San Donato in the evening.

The hotel is a short walk from the central station, which makes it convenient if you are arriving on the Malpensa express or by train from somwehere else in Italy. The Sondrio metro station on the yellow metro line is also directly beneath the hotel, and within a few stops you can be in Montenapoleone or Duomo in the direction of San Donato.

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms freshly refurbished with a funky and modern interior.

I didn't have time to eat or drink in the hotel so I can't comment on those facilities.

Overall this hotel is a much better choice than the property in San Donato and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelliingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Our tour spent the first night in this Crowne Plaza hotel and found the room small but modern and very clean. The bed, AC, bathroom, and lobby areas were up to the level you come to expect from a Crowne Plaza enterprise. Breakfast was included and was such a nice and welcome change of pace from the dinner included the night before. Dinner was a steamed chicken leg section, pasta, and steamed potatoes. What I wouldn't have given for a salad or a nice, green vegetable! One man was serving the entire 38 person tour and no one could place an order for drinks of any kind. Not a great first impression. Breakfast was probably the best we had during our whole 10 day tour of Italy (we stayed at 4 hotels) but the eggs were soupy; the bakery choices more than made up for that. It was so convenient to the airport and there are some neighborhood places you can stroll to if you are looking for a little exercise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is situated quite nicely with it's own stop below (Sondrio) and a walk away from Centrale. But the Sondrio station is being fixed so go to where me and my colleague needed to go (Milan Convention Center) - we had to walk to Centrale but coming back we can go down straight to Sondrio.

We had a junior suite and I must say that for a suite it was quite small - the sitting area was next to nothing. But the room was tastefully designed. Weird as well that for a Junior Suite breakfast in not included.....

Room Tip: I didn't see the regular rooms but the junior suite is not as big as you would think so I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTEBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel has advantages and disadvantages and is therefore difficult to rate. Having now stayed at five Crowne Plaza hotels it should be said how they can all vary; this one is not one of the best.

Situated in a rather shabby suburb of Milan, this hotel’s main advantage is the very convenient transport location. Steps down to Sondrio (yellow line) Metro station are just outside the main entrance. On the way down there is a newspaper stall where you can purchase a day pass for all public transport for 4.5 euro/person, and within fifteen minutes you can be standing outside the Duomo (Cathedral), and Galleria Vittorio Emanuele. The Metro system felt safe and is easy to use with frequent trains every few minutes.

We were on motoring holiday and fortunately there is secure private car parking at the rear of the hotel. However with heavy suitcases to be unloaded from the car there was no ramp to the rear entrance which some travellers may find awkward as there are three or four steps to negotiate.

Reception staffs were helpful, polite and efficient. We stayed for two nights.

Our room was on the second floor which since my wife likes the occasional “puff”, is the smoking floor. Apparently this hotel has some rooms with balconies but there were none available on this occasion. Although we are Gold Priority Club Members with the Intercontinental Group we actually booked with Travel Republique as they offered the best deal, however I guess as our penance we were allocated a very small room. (For example the sleeping area was approximately 3.5m X 3,5m which take into account out the size of the double bed /dressing table and you are left with one very tiny room) The room was however very clean and modern with the quality of fixtures and fittings that you would expect from a Crown Plaza Hotel. Strangely the bathroom was larger than average, spotless and well equipped. The room also had the essential in room tea/coffee making facilities. However later on we were to discover that sound insulation from the room above was poor; I think the guests in the room above were practising dancing or something but the noise and vibration was very intrusive. The room was also at the front of the hotel and suffers from traffic noise especially if the window is open,

In Milan where after an apparent heat wave the weather had broken. We had driven through storms, torrential rain, flooded roads. etc on a Friday Afternoon rush hour through Milan and arrived early evening tired and hungry .We decided that due to the heavy rain not to venture outside and try hotel restaurant instead. This I am sorry to say was a big mistake, since the service was pathetically slow and the quality / value of the food was poor. Although there were only a few other diners seated we waited almost ten minutes to be offered drinks and almost an hour for a simple chicken salad with some chips. We retired to our room for coffee as we could not face waiting any longer. The evening restaurant is actually a section of the bar area with a few tables set for dinner while the main Restaurant on the first floor is only used for breakfast. Breakfast has a reasonable selection of food but avoid the scrambled eggs which we found to be cold and unsavoury.

To sum up, would we use this hotel again, possibly but we would insist on a top floor room and preferably one at the rear as less traffic noise than at the front. The location is most convenient for central Milan and ideal if on a short break or shopping trip. We would avoid the evening restaurant which Crowne Plaza you need to improve.

Room Tip: The quieter room are at the rear, a top floor room would have no noise from rooms above as sound ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccr260243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#38 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#48 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing