We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #56 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New Year at Milan”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Had long weekend at MIlan and choosed Crowne Plaza City for 3 night stay. First time in Milan and didnt know location of airport, taxi costs 110 euro oneway or you can pre-book own driver (like we did) for 154 roundtrip. Of course shuttle is option too, but with sevaral luggages we wanted to use transport direct to Hotel.
Internet booked transport worked well, driver was waiting us with name sign and drove us direct to hotel without any problem, we paid full amount when came to Hotel and when was time to go back he was waiting there and nothing extra needed, very nice and I recommend this service.

At Hotel arriving was nice, we came before midday and they had room ready for us, Junior suite at 5th floor. Room was clean and used, that you could see from floor, wooden floor had scratches from past time. Way wasnt much, backyard and buildings, but after we saw around hotel, there wasnt much for view. We had so early trip that had to take nap and went out later at evening trying to find place for eat, that was tough, it was sunday evening about 18.00 2 blocks all araunfd hotel wasnt any place, one restaurant ands pizzeria we found but those were closed, finally near railwaystatiojn we saw humble pizzeria, that was nice experience, after walking was thirsty, 1 big and 1 small beer, then pizza with red+white wine, total 22,80, for us it was very cheap and also tasty. Had later on trip Pizza near Duomo, 2 pizza + 2 wine and 1 water 36,80, location rise price.

Hotel had nice beds, prompt cleaning and specially breakfast service was fantastic, Lady + boys made you welcome, friendly and prompt service, food was fresh and loaded more fastly, first 2 mornings we came early had same table on corner, third morning when we came late (new year day) it was very busy and Lady was sorry that we couldnt have same table, very personal and nice that remember these things, heard other peoples order when staff new what kind coffee people had last morning and do they take same, young boys cleaned tables fast, with smile and if aanything you asked they said yes, breakfast staff was excellent, thanks.

checkout was prompt and fast, had welcome drink only at lobby bar, not much say to that, didnt use gym, it was located top floor. Metro is just beside hotel, easy to access, we used bus when we went to center and took taxi back, it wasnt expensive, only 10 euro and easy with shopping bags.

Room Tip: take top floor, maybe there is some view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColombo, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guest,
wanted to thank you for your comments and congratulate you for the very useful description of the various services that the hotel offers. On behalf of all the staff wish you a Happy New Year! And see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    552
    130
    25
    9
See reviews for
160
390
80
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Milan City as our final stop during our Italian vacation. It is walking distance from M. Centrale, about 8 minutes. There is a metro stop underneath the hotel, you walk out of the lobby, look left, and there's the entrance to the station. The rooms were comfortable and modern, the bed was the most comfortable we had in Italy. Most importantly, the service was second to none. The check-in staff were great and I would like to recognize the great service of Simone, who served us at the restaurant and the great service of Johnatan at the bar (who gladly served us even though it was just past closing time). Overall, a great value for its location, comfort, and outstanding service!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

On our post cruising to Europe my husband and I wanted to visit Milan, so we booked a room for two days at Crowne Plaza Milano. Sondrio Metro Station is just next door and it takes us to Piazza del Duomo in a short time.

We were very much impressed of how the staff went out of their way to cater our needs. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, good value for money. We love our room and the bathroom surprisingly huge and very clean. The gentleman that chauffeured the hotel's limousine was very nice and courteous. If we ever go to Milan again in the future we will definitely book Crowne Plaza, Milan and we won't hesitate recommending the hotel to would be visitors as the hotel's customer service is second to none. " A big hurray for all of you guys" you are simply the BEST!!!

Marie from "Australia"

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColombo, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear guest

on behalf of all the staff thank you for the nice words. In a Milan where you can find everything the service and courtesy make a difference. We try, we do not always succeed, but our professionalism and our passion drives us to be ready to every need and if we can get our goal is reached.

Thanks again and see you soon

L. Pellegrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

a bit outside the city centre but a well appointed hotel just right for a relaxing evening after a day of sight seeing. We stayed there in torrential rain and made the error on the first night of not parking in the hotel car park - got a ticket, whoops, none of the locals seemed to be pinged though! the bar has a classy feel about it and is a great place to start an evening out, either take the metro from right outside or walk round teh local streets and find some authentic italian street restaurants. Tip on Milan though it's worth booking some of the tourist sites before you get there, day of visiting tickets are tough to get....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColombo, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Our parking lot is available for our guests as guests arriving by car can safely park it and take the subway adjacent to the property and in four stops are located in the center. Our barman Jonathan is grateful for his appreciation and waiting for a wonderful new drink and make her try on a variety of snacks for 24 hours can order easily in your room.

thanks again

L. Pellegrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Room are a little bit small, but well organised. Room was very clean but sadly to notice heavy stains on the desk chair. Nice choice of products in the room (free tea/coffee/still water, kit to have a good sleep - never seen than before, and good equipment in the bathroom, even for woman hygeen!). Really friendly people at the reception, although breakfast is a little bit disapointing (e.g. no fresh fruit juice). Overall OK with a parking and straight access from the door to the subway. A little bit noisy if rooms are on the street. Nice design in room

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on a city break from Scotland. It's a little bit out of the city centre, but the Sondrio Metro station is literally outside the front door and it only takes 10 minutes to reach the Piazza del Duomo. We flew into Malpensa and took the Malpensa Shuttle to the Stazione Centrale which is a short walk from the hotel. There are some good restaurants in the surrounding streets, but you have to look for them!

We were on the 8th floor, but still had to sleep with the windows shut due to the traffic noise. The air conditioning seemed to be off for the winter, so the room did get a little warm. Room was fine though and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We went to the bar for pre-dinner drinks every night and barman was very hospitable and courteous, providing us with lots of nibbles!

On the last morning of our stay the hot water packed in on our floor, but the staff were very responsive offering us the use of a room on one of the lower floors to have a shower. They also waived the charge for breakfast which was appreciated.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for a short visit to Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan1tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza Milan City because of it's vicinity the Milano Central Train Station. I was on an overnight business trip in the city so was looking for somewhere accessible from Milan Linate Airport and close to the train station.

There is a shuttle express bus (costing 5 Euros per person) from Milan Linate to the central station. From there is about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The area around the train station isn't the best, I don't think I would have been comfortable arriving at night and walking to the hotel.

The hotel itself is very well presented, very modern and stylish. Rooms are average size but were perfect for an overnight stay and the value of money we got them for.

I needed to use the Metro system to get to see a client on the other side of the city. There is literally a Metro station directly underneath the hotel so as soon as you come out of the hotel entrance it is to your left.

One let down was the walls in the rooms were "paper thin". You could hear every single word and movement from the neighbouring rooms which meant I couldn't get much sleep. Furthermore there was a gentleman above my room who must have had a nightout, who decided to start having an arguement at 4am in the morning with his partner which I could also hear every word of.

However for the purpose of the hotel for an overnight stay, it was in a perfect location, affordable and the rooms were clean and modern. Recommended stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelColombo, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We can confirm that our position is strategic because the subway is near the hotel and even on rainy days the path is completely covered with a bus stop to get to the train station with only four stops while you are just in the Dome Square.
As for the rooms we are sorry for the noise he heard as we are very keen to complete soundproofing of our rooms which have been certified by the relevant authorities and the hotel company. Thank you anyway for this report and we will investigate.
Looking forward to it again and be able to give our guests the maximum comfort greet you cordially.

L. Pellegrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 427 in Milan
1,319 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 427 in Milan
2,612 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#67 of 427 in Milan
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#48 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing