We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally fine with patchy service. Don't rely on the "wake up call".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #52 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Generally fine with patchy service. Don't rely on the "wake up call".”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have stayed here before and have found it to be clean, modern, very convenient with the metro at its doorstep and generally efficient (but not effusive) service. However this time I was disappointed during my recent stay of 11 nights on 2 occasions :
1. I rang front desk to inquire on the telephone operator's number so that I could make an international collect call to American Express. I was dumbfounded when the gentleman simply replied "I have no idea" three times. No effort to check and call me back. Finally I found it on the internet. FYI, it is 170.
2. On my last night I requested for a wake up call the next morning (630am) so that I could catch my flight at Malpensa in good time. There was also a card in the room which claimed guaranteed wake up calls or your affected night's stay would be free. Unfortunately, 630am came and went and there was no call. I overslept. At check out I was told that no one had made a record of the request (?). The free night stay that the hotel claimed to offer was not honoured; instead they waived 10Euro for 2 drinks consumed at the minibar. I was rather annoyed by the non-apologetic demeanour by the reception desk as well - I could have missed my flight if I had not hotfooted it out of the hotel to Malpensa immediately.
In sum, this hotel is fine if you are self-sufficient, but doesn't do well in the finessing of its services.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    542
    128
    26
    8
See reviews for
157
382
79
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed in This Crowne Plaza for three nights and found it very good. We had an upgrade to the top floor with a terrace and a view of the city. The Subway as mention is just out side and the 24 hour tickets for 3 Euros are great value. One of the Main rail stations is about 50metres away and this has a reasonable mini market hidden in the lower levels along with a shopping mall.
The Restaurant is clean and efficient but lacks ambience, the dinners menu is not extensive but well cooked. Breakfast is adequate.
It seems that there is a charge for the extra person not usual in Crowne plazas for priority club members which was our only niggle.
If the intercontinental Milan had not been opening soon we would stay hear again for a similar leisure break.
The Barman was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronchadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed in superior room and it was very clean and modern. There is very nice bath room as well. It was very pitty that I found the cigarette in the terrace even non-smoking room. I was little bit disappointed of that. The subway station is just in front of the hotel and it is very convenient! I could not find a restaurant near hotel......I ate in the hotel, but there is just few dishes on the menue......

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaoricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahrenshoop, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The hotel itself is very nice, clean and has a high standard. The Entrance and Lobby look very exclusive, also due to the use of differently colored marble stones. I took the superior suite, which (as far as I understood) does not mean a bigger room but rather that internet service and movies are included in the prize. The area where the hotel is located is okay. I travel very frequently to Milano and I can assure you that there are areas that even a good hotel won't help. Outside the hotel is no street-walking, therefore the street looks safe. There is a metro station just outside the hotel (Sondrio) so that you can reach the Dome and the very nice shopping area in just a few minutes, the tickets are cheap. I will definitively go there again during my next Milan Trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3breathed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Location is great base for sight seeing, since there is a metro situated right underneath the hotel.We stayed in one of the excecutive/superior rooms and the bathroom and room were modern and spacious.We had a balcony although the view was nothing special. My only quarm about this hotel is there are no local ameneties or restaurants, so you have to get the tube to most things, otherwise great city hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We went for few days to Lombardy with the idea of visiting Como, Bellagio and Milan.
The hotel in Milan was definitely one of the nicest parts of our trip: modern, clean, perfectly close to city centre, good service, nice food. We had the superior room, which was quite, spacious and had lovely bathroom. The beds are bit hard, but we discovered that all hotels along our trip seemed to have really hard beds. Maybe it is a local preference?

The hotel is located close to Sondrio metrostation, few stops from Duomo and the shopping area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THREOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I took a Superior room with a big bathroom. Modern building, pretty elegant and located over one stop of the Metro yellow line. Thanks to super thick windows, rooms are silent, nice breakfast as well

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#37 of 428 in Milan
1,302 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#59 of 428 in Milan
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#44 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing