We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional & cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria dei Magnani Al Cantinone

Trattoria dei Magnani Al Cantinone
Ranked #271 of 8,033 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$27 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
Barcelona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Traditional & cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Close to Duomo but not full of tourists, we were lucky to stumble across this lovely, traditional trattoria at lunchtime. Service was professional and unobtrusive if quite quick. We were told that our next course was ready before we had finished our Bruschetta - but I am a slow eater! All the food was fresh and tasty and the expresso excellent.
Would recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anniekBonnieDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    466
    116
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Trattoria right in the heart of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a really nice lunch here.
So good in fact that after snapping photos of the starter, we completely forgot to photograph the mains!
Great location, right in the heart of town and an easy walk from Duomo etc.
We walked right in for a late lunch, without a reservation.
There was another tourist couple eating and a couple of tables of locals that clearly knew the owners. (always a good sign).
We had Carpaccio and Bruschetta to start, good size portions so you won't get hungry!
Followed by a really tasty risotto. Good priced prosecco too.
Plenty of room inside, no doubt busy in the evening though!
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great restaurant, typical trattoria with amazing food. The restaurant provides 2 options self service or reataurant. Went at 12pm the self service area was already busy but the restaurant was emply, by 1pm people were waiting. Restaurant part is kids frindly. Sercive was great. Highly recommend, will go back every time I go to Milan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentofte, Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very busy and very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I choose this place, as it looked like a lot of locals were dining here, it was busy and looked like it’s been there for a long time.
I liked my choice very much. Al Cantinone was packed, but we only had to wait around 10 minutes for the table. Food was well prepared, and very tasty. Waiter hardly understood English, but this was not a problem, as menu was also in English

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not bad but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

I suppose I should know better, but I am still trying to find a good restaurant reasonably priced in the Duomo area of Milan. One of these days I will have to give up.
The restaurant is actually quite nice and traditional with wooden panels and old fashioned waiters. Generally pleasant ambience
I had a first course of tagliatelle with clams and prawns which was pretty tasteless. Correct, no more. The tagliatta I had for second was pretty good but nothing special. What I find difficult to accept is that this, plus a small bottle of venetian wine, coffe and grappa should come to €59. It is really excessive.
Pitty, really. A nice place with reasonable food but grossly overpriced. I suppose all the Duomo area is like that

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria dei Magnani Al Cantinone also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria dei Magnani Al Cantinone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing