We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good transit hotel on the way to Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Idea Hotel Milano San Siro
Ranked #374 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good transit hotel on the way to Tuscany”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was a good transit hotel just off the Milan ring road. Rooms were large, beds comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was not anything special but it was included in the price so we had no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    354
    463
    298
    316
See reviews for
347
382
43
395
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lux
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way home. It is fairly large and modern. The reception staff were friendly and easy access to the parking which unfortunately is not free anymore (€ 8).
The room was fine and as we were 4 we had 1 double bed and 1 sleepers sofa, this was to be expected. However the sleepers sofa was really not good. We had friends staying in another room and they said exactly the same. The mattress was really poor on these sofa beds unfortunately. Apart from that no major issues, a few things missing like on the bin broken cover to the electricity board gone, no glass for toothbrush or rinsing. I sit with the feeling that this hotel is really profiting from that most guests only stay 1 night and then do not complain about minor things that should be present in a 4 star hotel. (no free WIFI at all.) We would probably stay again for 1 night if we were to look for an option in the area. Be aware the restaurant closed after breakfast on Sunday and remained closed all day. The reception staff can order from a fast-food place close by. Breakfast was really basic and as we came at the same time as a large group no ham or croissant available. There is next to nothing in this area except that we spotted a water park when we left just 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff was pretty friendly and spoke English well. Also the breakfast buffet wasn't bad. The rooms were comfortable and equipped with all basics. However, WiFi costs EUR 5 an hour or EUR 9 a day, and the ethernet outlets in the rooms don't work, so no chance of using those. WiFi wouldn't connect to our laptop inside our room (we did get a refund, but it was quite inconvenient) which we were informed by the staff if apparently is a problem they have inside some of the rooms, so be sure to check this out if you need to use your laptop for work, etc.

The only real problem with this hotel is the location. We tried going for a walk in the evening, which felt like walking through a ghost town. There is a supermarket about 10 minutes away, and we enjoyed a day at the water park close by, but for a trip to Milan something more central would have made things easier. This hotel is probably perfect for an overnight stay on a long road trip through Italy.

The free shuttle service has to be booked in advance, leaves for the Metro end station Bisceglie twice in the morning and returns from there twice in the evening, and will not wait for you so be sure to be on time! Considering the hotel's location, be sure to be prepared to use the bus or pay for lots of taxis (about EUR 30 from the city centre, EUR 10 from the Metro end station) should you miss the shuttle service.

Overall not a bad place to stay, but the time we spent getting to and from the hotel could probably have been used in enjoying our holiday a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We booked this hotel because we were looking for anything in between the airport and the city center for our last night in Italy. Big mistake when looking for something conveniently located, because this hotel is not. It is in the middle of nowhere, without easy access to public transportation. Staff was friendly, but they put us in a 20 euro cab to the metro station when it was only 10 the day before with someone not affiliated with the hotel. Restaurant there was adequate, but not delicious for the prices of the meals, same can be said about the included breakfast. Room was fine quality, but smelled like smoke, and no information on the hotel or surrounding area was provided. This hotel was fine for an overnight at the price we paid, but not all all convenient, and very hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beselare, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Good price/quality ratio. Rooms are OK, but some maintenance seems needed. Would not recommend it for a Milan citytrip, but for one night stay it is OK. Hotel is situated next to the highway. Price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBarbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Main problem is the hotel is out of the way and have nothing in the near proximity.
Reception was good and efficient.
Room is big but have nothing inside.
Hotel not old but already very run-down.
Price sky high for such facility.

Room Tip: simply avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGSmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Days and days searching for a hotel in Milan, not being able to find a place for a overnight stop on our way to a cruise, this location was pretty much the only one with available rooms. We drove from Germany, and our plan was to stop in Milan, recharge in the hotel, and drive to our cruise the next morning full of energy.
We arrived to Idea Hotel....it's super creepy. Located in the middle of what looks like an abandoned industrial complex, there is nothing close to it. It's one of those places that make you feel like you are never coming out of there alive. The place was so depresing that as soon as we checked in and dropped off our bags, we drove as far as we could from there, which was not our plan after all. We had 3 kids traveling with us, and when I checked the restaurant dinner hours, it just wasn't feasable. It opened too late for the kiddos to have to wait for food.
Very bad experience and do not recommend it for any reason. Maybe good for funerals.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Da Vinci
#122 of 427 in Milan
1,702 reviews
Bicocca
IH Hotels Milano Gioia
IH Hotels Milano Gioia
#265 of 427 in Milan
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
#115 of 427 in Milan
1,240 reviews
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#189 of 427 in Milan
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idea Hotel Milano San Siro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Milano San Siro

Property: Idea Hotel Milano San Siro
Address: Via Gaetano Airaghi 125, 20153 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Milano San Siro 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located few kilometres from San Siro Stadium and the Racetrack, the Holiday Inn Express Milan West San Siro boasts a newly built and refined structure. The hotel is strategically situated near the exit San Siro-Fiera of the Tangenziale Ovest (western ring road) and at a short distance from the exhibition poles of Milano Fiera Rho and Milano Fiera City (International Furniture Fair, Macef, Bit, Smau) which are easily reachable by a free shuttle service on request. The hotel also offers a daily free shuttle service at specific hours to the Red Line underground station of Bisceglie (Rho, Amendola Fiera, Duomo) allowing you to reach the wonderful Duomo square, do shopping in the fashion quadrilateral (Gucci, Prada, Versace, Etro, etc.) and have a classical Milanese aperitif. The Holiday Inn Express Milan West San Siro has 234 modern and bright rooms, equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with LCD screen, wide selection of Pay per View films, ADSL Internet access and pillow menu. At your awakening, our Breakfast Staff will delight you with a delicious breakfast, enriched with quality products and homemade cakes. The hotel is provided with two modernly equipped modular meeting rooms with natural light and a respective seating capacity of 90 and 40 people. Tasty Coffee Breaks and delicious Business Lunches can be served on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Idea Hotel Milano San Siro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing