We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatrical dining”

Trattoria Arlati dal 1936
Reserve with
Trattoria Arlati dal 1936 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 8,237 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bicocca
Description: Typical Milanese cuisine restaurant run by the same family for 80 years and recognized by the city of Milan as the family license most historic in Milan. The restaurant hosts evenings with live music on Tursday and Fridays with jazz, cabaret and cover band during the winter season. Classic dishes are the milanese style saffron crispy rice, the homemade pastas and meats as typical Milanese osso buco, veal cutlet, rustin negaa, beef tartare, and veal with tuna sauce. Careful selection of wines with particular regard to small wine producers. Family atmosphere, full of art with soft lighting for lunches and dinners and the possibility of rooms reserved exclusively for companies or groups of friends.
Leipzig, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Theatrical dining”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This neighborhood restaurant seems to be known for hosting music performances and offering good food. Its history and interior design create a classical, theatrical ambience. I found the service friendly and caring. The "gran misto della casa", a great variety of hours d’ouevres, appeared to be a good choice for the starter, and the "osso buco alla Milanese" was very tasty. So were the domestic wines and the grappa. For those staying in the area, close top La Bicocca University, this is a nice place to dine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo A, Proprietario at Trattoria Arlati dal 1936, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review and I'm very glad you enjoyed the service and the food. For us this is very important.
I think your advice for the appetizer and the "ossobuco", is the right advice for our type of restaurant.
I hope to see you soon in "trattoria" and thank you for suggesting our restaurant.

See you soon

Leopoldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    317
    75
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little overvalued”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The area is not the most appealing and it could also be difficult to find parking space. The restaurant itself is a little dark and a little bit "aged"

The waiter is professional and friendly

The food was ok but not top of the quality (we had risotto and pappardelle with mushrooms + cotoletta and tagliata) while the dessert was definitly not good

All in all the price was higher than the quality

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank the_expert_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo A, Proprietario at Trattoria Arlati dal 1936, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Google Translation
Gentile signore,
la ringrazio per la sua recensione e per il tempo che ha voluto dedicarci.Le rispondo in italiano perchè vedo dal suo profilo che è di Ferrarra.
Per quanto riguarda la zona, si fidi che piacerebbe moltissimo anche a noi essere nel centro di Milano dove per altro la difficoltà nel parcheggio è comune.
Per il discorso di essere un ristorante un po' datato è forse dovuto al fatto che la trattoria ha 77 anni essendo aperta dal 1936, va da se che un po' i segni del tempo si vedano e che forse siano il suo bello insieme all'ambiente scuro che le garantisco essere voluto.
Comunque il cameriere professionale e gentile ero io, tra l'altro come è andato il concerto di Bob Dylan? Mi spiace molto che non abbia ritenuto il cibo al top della qualità però mi spiace anche molto della sua recensione in generale dopo tutta l'attenzione che ho riservato al vostro tavolo.
La ringrazio comunque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The real Milan dishes and tradition”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Trattoria Arlati has a long tradition, it was founded in the '30s by a Milanese family, and has maintained its culinary tradition, while knowing how to adapt to the needs of today's customer.
Here you can enjoy all the tradition and cuisine of Milan. The atmosphere is nice and friendly, but also very professional. This is really a restaurant where the customer is the center of attention.
Typical dishes are prepared with skill and care, they tell me the wine list is of good choice as well (I do not express myself on this because I drink very little and I am not a connoisseur :-) -
The restaurant is located near the Bicocca, now a university and business area as well as residential. Absolutely recommended for couples in search of an elegant good dinner, for friends and for business meetings (the restaurant is not big, I suggest it for small groups, not more than 10).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo A, Proprietario at Trattoria Arlati dal 1936, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review.
I'm very happy you appreciate so much our restaurant
and i hope to see you soon at our tables.
Thank you very much
Best regards
Leopoldo

Ps: "If you love our restaurant with 5 stars the'll feel the most important that there is!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welome to your personal "Trattoria"”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My favourite eat out in Milan, for the simple reason that here you feel like home.
Run by the Arlati family for 2 generations, it serves a selection of the most important dishes from the traditional "Milanese cuisine" along a vast yet very subtle wine choice. The exquisite ambient resembles that of a traditional "Locanda" with a luxurious, yet soft touch and a few Botero hanged on the walls. Magnificent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fmgg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Perfect typical trattoria in Milan”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I thought places like this one did not exist anymore. Hidden in an obscure peripheral street of Milan, close to the Pirelli establishment, this trattoria serves typical local food of excellent quality. The rooms are small and packed full with artifacts, to the point that the restaurant looks more like a bric-a-brac place than a place where to eat. But the ambiance is quite different, interesting, and quite curious to see. I had a typical Cotoletta Milanese, and it was great (this is a very simple dish, but because of how simple it is to make, it is very often done badly). The panna cotta dessert was excellent. My colleague had an excellent pasta with porcini mushroom.
If you are in the area it is certainly worth a visit and more. I believe it can be very cozy and interesting in the evenings, as the decoration and the food make it perfect for a friendly evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Arlati dal 1936 also viewed

 
Sesto San Giovanni, Province of Milan
 

Been to Trattoria Arlati dal 1936? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing