We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint little place.”
Review of Hotel Emmy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Emmy
Ranked #411 of 427 Hotels in Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A quaint little place.”
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a tourist-type 5 star place, this is not it. But if you are looking for a cheap place to lay your head before a shopping trip in La Galleria, this will do just fine. The rooms are sparse, but that's what you're paying for. It is quiet, with one of those old-world elevators you see in 1960s European movies. There is an amazing restaurant just downstairs, and the service is incredible. I would recommend this place to any seasoned traveler who doesn't mind just a bed, a shower and some peace of mind.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lediable007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    17
    10
    43
See reviews for
8
12
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Simple but decent hotel. It´s true that is a cheap hotel. Clean and quiet. It is far away to the center. Only there is a shared bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miki_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

It is not a hostel.... It's a trap! No common area, no place to leave your luggage. We booked a 3-bed mixed dorm, and were put in a 5 bedroom with 3 other people a double bed in the middle of the room for us. This was ridiculous. The staff who works in the evening, didn't (or pretended they didn't) speak english and was extremely rude. I cancelled the second day of our stay and asked for the refund. The owner (Viviana) agreed and gave my money back. But after a few days, to my surprise, the money was taken of my credit card anyway (this is criminal I believe). And about the breakfast... The rats in the sewers eat better...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Turned up at the hostel where the guy took our passports, then said nothing while we sat there for 15 minutes. Paid for the room in cash, then he showed us to it... a double bed! He insisted that is what we had ordered, despite showing him the booking receipt. Then he said "just one moment" and left it another 20 minutes of silence until I asked him again did he have a room? No, he said, just one moment. Luckily got the money back and told him where to go.

Despite not staying in the hostel, we did see around it and it wasn't dirty but was very much in disrepair. Bad attitude of the guy on the desk, combined with £30 a night for 1* accomodation is an absolute joke. DO NOT STAY THERE, go to Zebra Hostel instead. 10000000x better, and they gave us a room after we were stitched up by Hostel Emmy at 11:30pm!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oly9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

The hostel is run by a bunch of crooks, that prey on travellers. They advertise on hostelbookers and hostelworld, and always accept unlimited bookings, even if they are full. Then when people turn up, they pretend they haven't received your booking, and send you to "another hostel" on the other side of town. This is actually just the same people, who have an awful apartment converted into an awful dorm. They think they can get away with this. Don't ever stay here, and warn everyone else from ever staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

If you don't have high expectations and need an affordable place to stay for one or two nights in Milan, Hotel Emmy will suffice. Having said that, beware - the bare bones hotel is on the 4th floor of an old, run down building (peeling paint, etc.). The building's ancient elevator is very small and not always in working order therefore be prepared to drag your luggage up four flights of stairs. The proprietors are chain smokers so the entire hotel reeks of smoke. As a non-smoker I put a towel under my door and kept my window open and I was fine except when in the “reception area.” We asked for the largest room that had its own bathroom (#3) however we saw two other rooms that had single (very tiny) beds and a shared bathroom in the hallway. I’d ask for #3 if possible as it is the furthest down the hall and has a bit more privacy and a TV. The rooms are as one star as they come; outdated furniture, broken fixtures, somewhat functioning plumbing (the hot water was off for one day of our stay) but the linens were clean and we felt safe as the hotel staff are on site (apparently busying themselves by smoking). This is a place where you definitely want to bargain the room rate down & it will help if you speak Italian. The hotel is next to a street with trolleys and busses so expect noise early in the morning.

The best part of the hotel is the local’s restaurant downstairs & just outside the building: Becco Fino. From 12:30 – 3:00pm you can get a full lunch (appetizer, main dish, wine, etc.) for EUR 8.00. The food is great and it has to be the best bargain in Milan. The hotel is also close to a metro stop and several mini marts.

There is another hotel, Hotel Gambara, located in the same building on the 2nd floor. It appeared to be along the same line as Emmy (if not a bit more expensive).

  • Liked — Price & location
  • Disliked — Smoke, noise
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LvtrvlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Edy
#213 of 427 in Milan
231 reviews
Gambara Hotel
#250 of 427 in Milan
117 reviews
OstellOlinda
#343 of 427 in Milan
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#297 of 427 in Milan
174 reviews
Porta Venezia
Del Sole
Del Sole
#263 of 427 in Milan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emmy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emmy

Property: Hotel Emmy
Address: Via Fra' Galgario 4, 20146 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Emmy 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Emmy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing