We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Porta Rossa

La Porta Rossa
Ranked #1,271 of 8,089 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$27 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Stazione Centrale
Description: Typical Apulian restaurant and pizzeria in Milan since 1971.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Having had a stupidly expensive lunch in the Duomo square for dinner I took a short stroll from my hotel and found this excellent restaurant in a rather horrible 1960 's commercial building. Attempts have been made to make this modern space rustic with eclectic and quirky decoration; it is not a sophisticated restaurant.

However, the food was a total surprise and I enjoyed an excellent meal. There was plenty of choice and I had excellent prosciutto followed by a local meal dish, both were good as was my desert. The staff were very helpful and the service good.

For what I had and by Milan prices the bill was good value.

It would be easy to pass this place by based on its appearance, do venture in as it serves good food with attentive service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    135
    67
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A bad surprise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have tried this place many times. I have tried twice the fish "seafood pasta al cartoccio" and "seafood paccheri". Both times the fish has not been cleaned and the quality was almost acceptable. In addition the pasta was not cooked as you should expect (or too soft or too hard). The bills was extremely and inexplicably expensive and I don't think I will choose this restaurant anymore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
449 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived late to Milan and were looking for some fast meal. This restaurant's name is La Porta
Rossa Pizza Restaurant. We were surprised with their menu and ordered different dishes and everything was top quality. The place was visited mainly by locals. Although it says Pizza and the
ambiance is not too hot, they really have great food and excellent wines. Walls are filled with photos and memorabilia.
www.ristorantelaportarossamilano.it is their website and 02-6705932 their phone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very so so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at around 8:30 at the restaurant and hesitated for sometime before we chose this restaurant as there is a more chic and nice bar next to it. As we had the happy hour earlier, we did not order much, only some starters and some pasta. The salmon starter was so so and we are expecting better pastas. However we waited for long and when we tasted it, all our 3 pastas were very salty and i would sugguest you to ask them to put less salt when ordered. Only one thing that we praised was the wifi provided.

Helpful?
Thank Tektekua
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Straightforward Italian Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After two visits-the restaurant has a traditional menu at a reasonable price. The wine list is simple. The dishes are uncomplicated and well presented by a friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonwoodlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Porta Rossa also viewed

 

Been to La Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing