We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey, but with great ambience. Strange neighborhood”

Ex Mauri Osteria di tradizione
Reserve with
Ex Mauri Osteria di tradizione is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,417 of 8,181 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stazione Centrale
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“pricey, but with great ambience. Strange neighborhood”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Recommended to us by local hotel staff as being reasonably priced. We thought it was expensive. The food was good, not great. Very small menu selections. Was in walking distance from hotel, but seemed a little iffy as far as safety went. The atmosphere of the restaurant was the best part of the experience. I sat over a see through enclosure to the wine cellar. The walls are brick and beautiful. Loved this part for a romantic dinner. House wine is overpriced. Not sure that water was not just chilled tap water for 6 Euros.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    225
    90
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very tasty home-cooked food”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I’m not a big ‘foodie’, but what we were served here was very good. I had some glazed pork dish that was unbelievably tasty. My girlfriend had steak and loved it.

We stumbled on this restaurant by accident as it was near to where we were staying. It is in an odd location, but that is probably a good thing as the place was pretty full and I think we got the last two seats.

The owner / maître d’ / chef was very helpful, recommended dishes and a nice bottle of wine. A very good find indeed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sakubona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the Best Dining Experiences in Milano”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Ex Mauri is a small informal trattoria in the Isola district of Milano. They are famous for their baccala which is excellent, but they offer many other excellent main courses. The pasta first course are outstanding and the wine list is very well chosen. The friendly service and the high quality of the meal at reasonable prices make Ex Mauri an excellent choice for dining out with the locals in Milano.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefflz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
118 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A nice surprice”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I had dinner out in this restaurant one week ago. I must admit that the place is nice and cured, I liked the walls in red bricks and in general the way it looks…I would say that the style is typical of an Italian tavern, but a lot more chic. Definitely lovely! Also dishes were appropriate, a good mix between the traditional Venetian cooking and modern coking. Maybe the service was a bit slow, but I think it is not a big issue when atmosphere, wine and food are good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AneresMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Milan!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

When we arrived by taxi, the restaurant was full for the night. But because we arrived by taxi they made an extra efford so we could get a table. The food was amazing, and the service was unbelivable. This made our trip. We would never have found the restaurant if it wasn't for tripadvisor. There were only Italians there dining. A very good sign. You should visit the best place in Milan!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ex Mauri Osteria di tradizione also viewed

 

Been to Ex Mauri Osteria di tradizione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing