We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Ares Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ares Milano
Ranked #190 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

It is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and polite staff. We booked 3 nights and we got any information we needed from the reception. It's a good option in a good price and we recommend it for couples or even for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giorgioD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    96
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
19
71
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wateringen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I read the reviews before we went and feared the worst but I was pleasantly surprised! Off the main road, down a side street. Literally 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station. Hotel staff were friendly, spoke English. We had a hire car and we could park it behind the hotel in a secure area for a small fee. We had a room on the top floor (402) and it was huge! Room was clean and tidy. Ok, breakfast isn't anything to write home about but hey, you're in Milan! If you don't like it there are plenty of places to eat breakfast with a view of the Duomo. I thought it was decent enough - cereals, croissants, soft buns, ham, jam, coffee, tea etc.

Would I stay again? Certainly! Really good location to explore Milan - buy a urban travel ticket and travel everywhere via tram, train or bus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Room on the last floor had poor air-conditioning, it was so hot that it was impossible to sleep. room was clean, but on the balcony there were a lot of cigarrets and some foreworks left after new Years (we wrere there in July). Only two small bottles of water were given, but we stayed there for 3 nights. Breakfast was more that poor - it was absolutley nothing to eat, only marmalede, honey -no juice, no water, no chease or someting you would like to taste in Italy. And coffee: you'd better not taste it. Whoever decides to book this hotel should search for other location, I am sure that 2* hotles or hostels are much better.
We were granted a welocme drink and fresh fruits, but we never get it, although we reminded the staff about it. No air conditioning in the cantine.. Lost of money! don't go there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good points:
* the hotel is located in a quiet street outside the city, but very close to public transport (bus, trolleybus, tram and metro).
* the room that I had was big enough and clean and also the quality of the beds are ok.
* bathroom is ok: shower works and enough soap, shampoo etc.
* the people in the hotel do their best to help you

Bad points:
* even the hotel is in a quiet street, they all have old windows without isolation (don't ask how it is in the summer and winter, spring is ok) but you'll hear everything of the main streets (2!) 100 meters away, just like you'll sleep with a open window. Too many noise and I couldn't believe that such simple glass still existed.
* not only the quality of the glass of the windows is tiny, but also the doors and the walls. You hear too much noise when other people are somewhere in the hotel!
* breakfast is a joke. It's a buffet, but the choise is very limited and the also tiny rolls are just made of steal. Juice looks like to be coloured water and has also that taste, if you can find a taste in it. And I can continue, because this is really bad.
* sometimes there was a smell in the bathroom.

The hotel is not bad, but not 3 stars: just worth 1 or maybe 2, but not more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located on the street side, even the noise is coming from the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank focus1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Older, small hotel on a side street about 3 blocks from Maciachini metro station. Small lift with dirty carpet. Single room was small but okay, except for the strange bad smell which came from the bathroom at night. The room and bathroom look clean, but during the second night there was a terrible smell in the room. When I closed the bathroom door and opened the window for fresh air things improved.

No one was at the desk when I left early in the morning so I couldn't report the problem.

I was out of the room early mornings so did not have the included breakfast.

No computer available for internet use if you don't bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cl1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#163 of 428 in Milan
227 reviews
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#192 of 428 in Milan
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Delizia
#191 of 428 in Milan
186 reviews
Hotel Palladio
#65 of 428 in Milan
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ares Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ares Milano

Property: Hotel Ares Milano
Address: Via Edoardo Porro 8, 20158 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ares Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ares Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing