We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ares Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ares Milano
Ranked #196 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Even though I booked my room way in advance of my travels, I was given a crappy room near the lobby. I was woken up by the slamming door every time someone came in or out of the hotel during the night.

Even though I had turned on the air conditioner on, the room stayed warm. I looked for the air conditioning unit and found it behind the curtains! I had to tuck the curtain up to get any benefit but, because my room was on the ground floor and the outside shutters didn't go completely down, I felt like the room lacked privacy when I did that.

The bed in the single room was very narrow and on wheels so I was a bit worried about sleeping in it!

Breakfast was self service and pretty basic.

While the rates were cheap, I think I would've been better off paying more since I just wanted a good night's sleep before I caught my flight the next day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    92
    33
    19
    11
See reviews for
17
64
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preveza, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is located really close to public transfer that gives an easy solution to reach the exhibition.Also it offers a very good price ...
The rooms are really big and clean with lots of windows ...you can hear all noises from the rooms beside...the road in front is no problem...
The WI-FI is working some times ...not always.
There was no breakfast room when we visited the hotel on March ,so we had breakfast in front of the reception in the only table for 2 persons...So when the next quests come ..you have to finish quick...
At the area around is a little bit of mystery ...better not to walk alone at night...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annapreveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

It is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms and polite staff. We booked 3 nights and we got any information we needed from the reception. It's a good option in a good price and we recommend it for couples or even for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giorgioD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wateringen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I read the reviews before we went and feared the worst but I was pleasantly surprised! Off the main road, down a side street. Literally 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station. Hotel staff were friendly, spoke English. We had a hire car and we could park it behind the hotel in a secure area for a small fee. We had a room on the top floor (402) and it was huge! Room was clean and tidy. Ok, breakfast isn't anything to write home about but hey, you're in Milan! If you don't like it there are plenty of places to eat breakfast with a view of the Duomo. I thought it was decent enough - cereals, croissants, soft buns, ham, jam, coffee, tea etc.

Would I stay again? Certainly! Really good location to explore Milan - buy a urban travel ticket and travel everywhere via tram, train or bus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Room on the last floor had poor air-conditioning, it was so hot that it was impossible to sleep. room was clean, but on the balcony there were a lot of cigarrets and some foreworks left after new Years (we wrere there in July). Only two small bottles of water were given, but we stayed there for 3 nights. Breakfast was more that poor - it was absolutley nothing to eat, only marmalede, honey -no juice, no water, no chease or someting you would like to taste in Italy. And coffee: you'd better not taste it. Whoever decides to book this hotel should search for other location, I am sure that 2* hotles or hostels are much better.
We were granted a welocme drink and fresh fruits, but we never get it, although we reminded the staff about it. No air conditioning in the cantine.. Lost of money! don't go there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good points:
* the hotel is located in a quiet street outside the city, but very close to public transport (bus, trolleybus, tram and metro).
* the room that I had was big enough and clean and also the quality of the beds are ok.
* bathroom is ok: shower works and enough soap, shampoo etc.
* the people in the hotel do their best to help you

Bad points:
* even the hotel is in a quiet street, they all have old windows without isolation (don't ask how it is in the summer and winter, spring is ok) but you'll hear everything of the main streets (2!) 100 meters away, just like you'll sleep with a open window. Too many noise and I couldn't believe that such simple glass still existed.
* not only the quality of the glass of the windows is tiny, but also the doors and the walls. You hear too much noise when other people are somewhere in the hotel!
* breakfast is a joke. It's a buffet, but the choise is very limited and the also tiny rolls are just made of steal. Juice looks like to be coloured water and has also that taste, if you can find a taste in it. And I can continue, because this is really bad.
* sometimes there was a smell in the bathroom.

The hotel is not bad, but not 3 stars: just worth 1 or maybe 2, but not more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located on the street side, even the noise is coming from the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank focus1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Older, small hotel on a side street about 3 blocks from Maciachini metro station. Small lift with dirty carpet. Single room was small but okay, except for the strange bad smell which came from the bathroom at night. The room and bathroom look clean, but during the second night there was a terrible smell in the room. When I closed the bathroom door and opened the window for fresh air things improved.

No one was at the desk when I left early in the morning so I couldn't report the problem.

I was out of the room early mornings so did not have the included breakfast.

No computer available for internet use if you don't bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cl1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Zara Milano
Hotel Zara Milano
#174 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#68 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#171 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Bicocca
Holiday Homes Residence Appartamenti Milano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ares Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ares Milano

Property: Hotel Ares Milano
Address: Via Edoardo Porro 8, 20158 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ares Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ares Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing