We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Milan
Ranked #98 of 428 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Silverstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Have previously had a great stay with Doubletree in Amsterdam - Milan was quite inconsistent. No food after 11pm (great welcome for a late flight, and no, a cookie does not constitute dinner) and no irons/ironing boards in rooms. When you need to get in, get ready for the working day and get to sleep, this wasn't a great start at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregoriopecoraro, Proprietario at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Terry W,

I'm sorry you did not find our restaurant open because of your late flight. Like suggested from our receptionist the Bar is open until midnight with a various selection of food (Pizza, Sandwiches, Salads ) as to permit to have some food also so late. I'm sorry you did not take advantage from this and I will take your suggestion in consideration to extend the restaraunt opening time. I'm happy you appreciate our rooms and in particular the cleaning of them giving us a good vote on your review and I'm sure that you can understand that to comply with Italian and USA Fire and Safety rules we can not put iron and iron board in the room. To provide this service we have a dedicated room where you can use them at disposal 24 Hrs of our guests. It should be enough to ask us about and we could provide a solution, but we did'nt receive any request. I'm sorry we were not able to satisfield and anticipate your desires and we look forward to have the possibilitie to regain your satisfaction in a next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    521
    160
    50
    27
See reviews for
109
271
67
462
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Staring on the positives the hotel is very modern with spacious rooms and excellent staff as well as a great breakfast!

The major drawback however is its location - it is in the middle of nowhere and the surrounding area does not seem the safest place as many prostitutes are on the street directly outside the hotel. I certainly did not feel comfortable walking around the streets at night.

I go on many city breaks and a large part of my enjoyment is walking around the city center so distance does not usually bother me but it would take hours to walk from the hotel to il Duomo (centre of Milan). The number 12 tram is frequent and you can get this around the corner from the hotel however it still takes 25-30 mins to reach the tourist hotspots and again does not go through the best areas of Milan.

If you are in Milan on a city sightseeing trip I would avoid this hotel simply due to its location and surrounding area. To be honest I question why Mr Hilton decided to build one of his hotels here.

Lovely hotel but they really need to move it elsewhere!

Room Tip: Make sure this is the correct location for you before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I'm Happy you find the Hotel nice and you appreciate our services.
I'm sorry you did not appreciate our location. The Hotel is located in Certosa business disctrict close to a lot of Multinational Company Headquarters, very close to the MiCo (Milan Congress Center, the biggest in Europe),Close to FieraMilanoCity, close to the main Fair (Rho fair) of Milan, the Stadium Citylife New Business district and the area of the new Expo 2015. In front of the Hotel there is also the Tram stop that can easily (20-25 minutes ride) get to the center, that's why our hotel is choosen also from leisure travellers who do not want to pay the Hig prices of the city center Hotel but have a full service branded hotel at a convenient rate.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pforzheim, Germany
Level Contributor
264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Doubletree by Hilton Milan is a really great hotel, it seems really new. The service is excellent, the staff really helpful. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was a "typical hotel breakfast" - good and plenty.
The city centre can be reached by tram within approx. 25 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel is good at the doubletree standards, looks new inside
Rooms are medium in size but well equiped
Service is good and helpful
Strikes you more as a business hotel rather touristic one due to its location and surrounding area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKayv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregoriopecoraro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I'm Happy you find the Hotel nice and you appreciate our services.
I'm sorry you did not appreciate our location. The Hotel is located in Certosa business disctrict close to a lot of Multinational Company Headquarters, very close to the MiCo (Milan Congress Center, the biggest in Europe),Close to FieraMilanoCity, close to the main Fair (Rho fair) of Milan, the Stadium Citylife New Business district and the area of the new Expo 2015. In front of the Hotel there is also the Tram stop that can easily (20-25 minutes ride) get to the center, that's why our hotel is choosen also from leisure travellers who do not want to pay the Hig prices of the city center Hotel but have a full service branded hotel at a convenient rate.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and provided fantastic value. Far from the previous comments we found it to be a great experience.

While not close to the tourist center it's very easy and cheap to get there. A quick google might advise on this.

Love the welcome cookie a nice touch at any double tree!

We where very happy with the warm and genuine welcome upon arrival.

Because we are Hilton gold we got a complimentary upgrade to a room with a nice view of the court yard. Which is nice for drinks by the way!

The staff couldn't have been more helpful in guiding us around. Tram 12 takes you to and from the tourist areas. Tickets are available from the hotel staff at €1.50 each way good for 90 minutes. It's about 20 stops on the charming tram but you will see the real Milan.

Don't spend a fortune getting to and from the airports take the bus to the central station then take a local bus or cab.

The room was extremely comfortable the bed was great with the Sweet dreams pillows. Hotel is very quiet and would be good for business.

There where a wide range of Crabtree amenity kits in the room. Everything you might want or need was there.

Bathroom was well designed and had very nice features. Water hot and reliable. You can adjust the jets to your preference.

The hotels restaurant was very nice and had a wide range of choices we enjoyed our lunch with the friendly crew. There is also a wide range of room service choices although we didn't use this.

There is no stocked mini bar in the room but this is a good thing!! There is a shop downstairs with very reasonable prices in the hotel or a supermarket nearby your free
To use their fridge to keep the purchases cool.

Likewise breakfast free for gold, was very good and had a wide range of choices including cold cuts, cereals, hot items and tasty pastry.

Staff will make you a coffee or you can choose from a wide range of juices.

There are 6 English channels and a wide range of movies if you wish.

Internet was cheap and free for gold members.

Would be very happy to come back again and would recommend this hotel. If you don't like adventure or getting to know a city stay at the main hilton but if you want a great value hotel and get to know the real Milan this is for you.



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbangsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The room was nice except for the dirt in the corner of the tub. The parking is not ideal. You can either park on the street for free or pay to park in their little parking lot. The view leaves something to be desired. We got in around 3:30 in the afternoon. The hotel restaurant is closed from 3-7 pm. We were hungry so we asked at the front desk about a close restaurant. We were told there was a good restaurant 5 minutes away. We asked about parking and were told there would be plenty right in front. Because of the horrible traffic we in countered and the fact that there wasn't a parking space for blocks around we returned to the hotel over an hour later. We then went to a market they have listed on the map they gave us. If you go take a bag with you. The shopping carts are not free. We did enjoy the restaurant in the hotel later that night and the food was very good. The hotel is trolley line. We used that to get into Milan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CDR_ORION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here in September 2013. From the airport we took a direct train to Cordoza, and took a taxi from there which was a 10 to 12 euro ride. The hotel is located in a suburb, and seems to have offices and small business located around it. We knew what to expect as we had done our research before booking the hotel.

The reception was good. The rooms are clean and the facilities are very good: hot water kettle, face mirror in bathroom, small fridge among others.

It will take a half an hour tram ride to get to the center (Duomo area). Use tram no. 12 which will take you to the Duomo.

Most guests here seem to be business guests, but if you don’t mind the long commute to the tourist attractions, this is a very good option while in Milan. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well.

Only downside for me was that the wifi connection was very spotty, and worked in only one corner of the room. In fact, I would say there was no wifi in out room.

Room Tip: Check wifi availability in your room, if it is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
1.5 mi away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milan Suite Hotel
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Milan
Barcelo Milan
#121 of 428 in Milan
1,054 reviews
6.2 mi away
Starhotels Business Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Milan

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Milan
Address: Via Ludovico di Breme 77, 20156 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Milan
#45 Business Hotel in Milan
#81 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#85 Family Hotel in Milan
#96 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Doubletree by Hilton Milan in the heart of Viale Certosa, northern Milan's essential business district, offers upscale hotel accommodations and modern amenities close to Fiera Milano Exhibition Center and Trade Fair Complex, only five minutes from the new Rho Fair Grounds and 10 minutes from the City Center. Our elegant hotel, convenient to major rail lines and autostrada, is only 30 minutes from Malpensa International Airport (MXP) and 30 minutes (25mi/15km) from Linate National Airport (LIN). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Milan Hotel Milan
Hilton International Milan
Milan Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing