We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than an average 3 stars”
Review of Canada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canada Hotel
Ranked #32 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much better than an average 3 stars”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is very well located (5 min walking from the Misouri metro station), 10min walking from the Duomo. New facilities, clean, good service and good breakfast (included), air conditioning, room spacious. Elevator that fits people and luggage (differently from other places in Europe). There is a Carrefour very near by, just in case you need. The only "bad" comment is the wifi access. Although it is free, it is poor. They really should fi this as today everybody wants wifi access. But this would never lead me to change my mind and not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    532
    90
    16
    5
See reviews for
243
466
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This very smart hotel is a cut above the usual three stars. Nicely (and apparently newly) decorated in a contemporary décor. Very good lighting in the rooms. Nicely appointed bathrooms with large showers with very good fixtures. A very friendly and accommodating staff always ready to help. A very full and nice breakfast. It’s a fifteen minute walk to the Duomo. Five to the Metro. Overall, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Good location, the room is great, with comfortable bed and very good shower with bathtub. The coffee break was nice and the staff polite and gentle. Very good!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpuglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is in a good location. There's a grocery store practically next door and the Duomo is only a 15-20 walk, there are only lots of shops and restaurants near by.

The room was spacious and fairly clean, bathroom was pretty basic. This was actually our second stay at this hotel. The first was on our honeymoon and we requested the same room as last time but did not get it. We noticed the building and street noise in this room and at times struggled to get to sleep.

Breakfast was average and not of high quality. It has a small dining area and at time was a little cramped. Food wasn't topped up once it was finished.

The internet service was annoying, we paid a one off fee for the duration of the stay but needed to go to reception every 6 hours to get a new password and username.

Staff were ok but not very friendly. They were unhelpful when we asked where the closest laundry was. They didn't know and didn't try to find out. (It was a 30 minute walk away).

We were really disappointed after having such a lovely stay the first time and unfortunately we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trak83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel was in a walking distance from the Duomo, about 15 minutes, but it was very easy to reach by metro too. From the outside it doesnt look like a very good hotel, however the rooms were great, new and quite clean. Breakfast was ok!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Definitely a 3-star hotel, good facilities in the rooms, water pressure and temperature just right, spotlessly clean, staff is polite and more than eager to help, English level fair, hotel location 15 minutes away from the Duomo on foot, otherwise metro stop within a few minutes' reach, no restaurant in the immediate area that we could find, breakfast nice and decent. Hotel entrance and lobby a bit dated and spartan but rooms are truly exquisite, albeit on the smallish side.

The only downside is that our media devices couldn't connect to the wi fi and when, after days, we did manage to connect, we were requested a password we had never been provided with, so we gave up. I don't know whether the wi fi was supposed to be free or not because on one booking confirmation it was listed as free in the entire hotel, while on the second booking confirmation it was listed as against charge.

Another amusing issue is that there was plenty of bath foam in the bathroom but no shower gel although we had a shower, not a bath. Upon request, the staff promptly provided us with yet another set of bath foam bottles as there was no shower gel available or they didn't understand the difference. In any case, not a major discomfort and overall it was a very enjoyable stay in a quality hotel.

Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room and bring ear plugs, as you can hear some traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Uptown Palace
#54 of 428 in Milan
1,550 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#178 of 428 in Milan
367 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Hotel

Property: Canada Hotel
Address: Via Santa Sofia 16, 20122 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Canada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing