We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hostel”
Review of OstellOlinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OstellOlinda
Ranked #342 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 6 March 2012

10 subway stops away from the center of town, this hostel located inside an old hospital for the mentally ill was the worst stop in the eurotrip me and 2 friends made. First off, if you're looking to have fun, this is the worst option possible for you. The hostel is empty most of the time, most of the staff is mentally challenged, there are no pool tables football tables or games of any kind, there is a living room with a TV that doesn't work except for 5 channels that show cooking shows. Since there was nobody and nothing to do, me and my friends wanted to go out at night. There is no staff left after 8 pm until 10 am in the hostel. If you want an extra towel, tough luck. We left the hostel and were leaving the hospital premises, and the guard at the entrance refused at first to let us out!!, we had to fight him into letting us out and convince him to stay and do his job and open the door at 4 am when we were thinking of returning. He let us out, we got to the subway (that's a long walk) and to our surprise, the subway closes after 11:30 pm, and the taxis from that far from the center cost a fortune, we returned to the hostel defeated. The next day, we asked for our money back for the second night and went to another hostel called "ZEBRA HOSTEL", this is the place to go if you want to have fun. I hope I save someone's trip to Milan with this information, Good Luck!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank luis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

I enjoyed the different environment in this re-purposed psychiatric hospital. I lived the kitchen, we cooked there one night, and it was a nice spot to hang out.

The bathrooms and room seemed very clean.

The location was not best, but it was not unmanageable, just bear in mind that you will be paying a couple metro tickets a day (1.5 euro a ride). There is absolutely nothing besides the bar-restaurant next to the hostel to see or to do in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aavalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

After getting severely lost attempting to find the hostel, it was a relief to finally find it. Located within an old psychiatric hospital, it is an interesting experience to stay here.
The staff were friendly and spoke reasonable English - we had no communication misunderstandings.
Our room was basic and mostly clean. The beds were old and rickety - seriously squeaky and my brother, who was sleeping on the top bunk woke me up every time he made even the slightest move.
The bathrooms aren't clean and are a little bit freaky. You have to search the hostel to find a good one that isn't in bath form. There is mould throughout the bathrooms and most of the showers are broken. On our first night, the hot water wasn't working.
There is cutlery and plates etc available to everyone and good facilities near to the hostel - there is a restaurant (though they don't speak English and the menu is completely Italian) right next door.
The Metro is about a 5-10 minute walk away and the centre of the city is easily accessible.
Overall, I would say that I would try and find somewhere else if I ever stayed again in Milan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtenay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Unique experience, this hostel is located inside a psychic hospital so the timetable is limited and so is the people that are on the front desk. If you are going to stay only for a night is not recommended because is too far from the centre of milan... you have to get 02 types of metro and also a train to get to the hostel and when you arrive at tha train station you still have to walk a bit.
At night is little scary, and it seems that you are in a horror movie!!! weird... because the doors closes at 10 pm...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriAssahida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Кристина Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiQuiRizia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceane358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#297 of 428 in Milan
179 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
#293 of 428 in Milan
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ca' Grande
#369 of 428 in Milan
142 reviews
Hotel Edy
#214 of 428 in Milan
234 reviews
Hotel Corallo
#356 of 428 in Milan
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OstellOlinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OstellOlinda

Address: Via Ippocrate 45, 20161 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £19 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you fancy sleeping in a park? Why not booking a hostel plunged in a lush green park and, maybe, having dinner a la carte at Jodok restaurant that suggests Italian dishes such as marinated anchovies, lamb ragout tagliolini, steak tartare, strawberry cheesecake... After dinner...Theatre shows! In June and July from Tuesdays to Sundays "Da Vicino Nessuno e normale" festival offers a review of the best Italian theatre productions: Teatro la Fortezza, Societas Raffaello Sanzio, le Albe... All this in one square mile! Strolling along alleys lit beautifully by garlands of lamps under linden trees, sycamores, centennial oaks... All this is Olinda! But that is not all... Come and meet Maria and Andrea who live all year round at the OstellOlinda and who share their life experiences with backpackers, tourists and actors. This is what we mean by an integrated hostel. A mix of different experiences. Actors, clowns, university students and teachers, adventurous backpackers, refugees and immigrants mingle themselves with persons who have been living in the past in psychiatric structures and who have a deep understanding of life and who gladly share their sympathy (for free!) You can also meet Roberto, Giovanni, Eva, Alessandra, Barbara and Davide of the reception or Pino and Marco of the housekeeping staff, all satisfied workers of "La Fabbrica di Olinda" a social firm that, from 1999 develops production activities and social economic structures to find employement for fragile and disadvantaged people. Besides, every Thursday you can enjoy an excellent aperitif with high quality live music with JODOK STORIES. You can find too a countryside corner in the city wandering about the urban vegetable gardens located in the park; among hens, chickens, rabbits and luxuriant medicinal plants at IL GIARDINO DEGLI AROMI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your OstellOlinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing