We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but I was expecting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hub Hotel
Ranked #136 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Ponzano Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but I was expecting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I spent one night in the HUB hotel in Milano. The Hotel location is not very convenient for downtown but very good to be reached from the highway and seems very close to the exhibition. The riooms are design style but not outstanding, something looks new but already overused.... The SPA looks fine but I was not able to use it. I used a meeting room and it was very good woth nice multimedia support. I had only breakfast but dinner outside. The ratio price / quality was really very good, you can not expect more in Milano.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILGattab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased to read that you enjoy your stay at The Hub Hotel.

As per your comment we are exactly between the two fairs of Milano, that we connect with our free shuttle service. We hope that during your next stay you will have time in your agenda to relax in our Spa Emotions.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    474
    222
    83
    47
See reviews for
129
415
48
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband.had to catch our flight leaving out of Milan, so our only experience in Milan was the Hub. Fantastic. So modern and new. Great looking hotel with a pool and gym. Shuttle to train station was free and so was the in room Internet! Our five star in Venice didn't even have that! The room was great and the price couldn't be beat. The breakfast was also wonderful. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivedetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review in particolar as it is coming from an expert traveller as you are!

You gave a complete overview of the services we can provide at The Hub Hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hotel has a very modern look and feel. The rooms are very nice and luxurious.
the staff are very friendly and helpful. the free shuttle to the train station is a great touch and necessity.

the area around is an abandoned industrial site. this gives you an unsafe feeling. We tried to find restaurants by driving around and using google maps. all the restaurants that google maps identified were already shut down so you're stuck with the hotel restaurant.

i think this hotel is great for business. I would not recommend this hotel to friends for leisure, because of the area it's located in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boznez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased that you appreciate your stay at The Hub Hotel.

The Hotel is located in a new growing area. Soon there will be new hotels, shops and restaurants as we are facing the Expo 2015 site.

Our shuttle service is at Guest disposal to ensure a better connection to the city centre which is at about 6 km away. The Spa, Pool, Gym, Restaurant, Garden and Bar complete the hotel offer to make a stay the most pleasant one.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Mostly enjoyed our stay at The Hub in mid June in between the Opera at Verona and travelling home to Scotland. I would say, though, that it is perhaps not as polished as it would like to be. It is certainly a stylish, clean, modern hotel with a large airy restaurant and many other facilities but we felt that there elements of the customer service which let it down, perhaps as it appeared to be somewhat understaffed, certainly on the front desk. The setting is not a big issue unless you happened to walk there.

The Hotel certainly provide an excellent transit service to and from nearby stations eg Milano Certosa overground and the Metro. We arrived at Certosa but due to the driver not stopping right outside the station which we assumed he would, we had a 30min wait and several phone calls till that was resolved. If coming from Garibaldi or Repubblica it is not clear at these stations where you get the train to Certosa – at Garibaldi it was down as 1S and 2S. These are the subterranean ones (Sotteranneo) which you find below ground – you may have to walk about to find them but was no issue once we sussed it out.

Checkin took a while as the girl seemed very busy and was distracted a few times although it was only ourselves to be served. When we were eventually allocated a room it turned out to be a twin rather than double. This again took perhaps 20 minutes to resolve but eventually were given a double, albeit without a kettle, lower down and with a poorer view. Room itself was very nice with a large bathroom, excellent view over Milan etc. Time wasted, though, down to pickup, checkin and room issues was probably over an hour which took a lot out of the short time we had there. The kettle was not in the room.

We went up to the pool, located on the top floor, but as there was no-one about at the time, approx. 30mins before it closed at 8pm, were unable to make use of the facilities. More details are needed on how to make use of the facilities like this. Perhaps if some of the earlier issues had not occurred we might have had a chance to enjoy the pool

A small internet facility with 4 computers is available which is good though the internet was fairly slow. Wireless was also available but didn’t seem as polished a service as we experienced a few days earlier at the Ramada Plaza Milano and only one person could connect to it at a time on the room account which was disappointing.

One major disappointment, and one to be aware of, was the hugely expensive food in the restaurant. I would highly recommend that you eat outside the hotel in the evening, as many people had in fact had appeared to do although once there you are stuck as it is so far out. The word extortionate springs to mind. Breakfast, though, was excellent – very good food and drinks.

Overall then I would say the Hub is good but not great, needs some work on upping the service levels. 3 stars is maybe a bit harsh - maybe 70-75% is a fair rating.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

As we aim to become a great hotel so we thank you for your suggestions and your comments. We went through them as a Team and I can assure you that for every indication we will do our best to make it better in the future.

The Mirror Lounge & Restaurant main menu offers courses from Euro 10,00 to 22,00. On the side there is also a daily proposal with a convenient offer. We can assure you that we will continue to offer first quality food as you had appreciated during the breakfast buffet.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for two nights at this modern designer Hotel next to Milans Autostrada. Staff were very friendly and helpful but the restaurant for dinner is very expensive(nearly 100 Euros). Ithink the Hotel is set for the expense account traveller or the seminar goers. The main problem was the proximity of a streetwalking service within two streets as the hotel is situated in an industrial area with lorry parks close by. So ladies beware if travelling in this area alone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2008967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

The area where The Hub Hotel is located it was and industrial one untill the 80's. Since 2 years many buildings have been converted or are in construction in these months as we will have the Expo 2015 right in front of the Hotel.

From next autumn new commercial activities will open as well as residential buildings giving a completely restyling to the area.

In the meantime we will continue to put our effort to satisfy our Guest stay at The Hub Hotel.

I look forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel!

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed at The Hub hotel after checking TripAdvisor. Thank god we did because it was a really great hotel. Yes true, the location isn't ideal for visitors without a car but we did had a car and it toked us approximate 20 min's to get to the city centre.

The room was very luxury and clean. They had a wooden floor which is very hygienic and looks great. Rooms are equipped with modern electronic like a plasma TV, automatic air conditioning and special screens which you can lower (instead of old fashion curtains).

The bathroom is also very modern including a rain shower douche. Build in toilet which al was again very clean. The drainage of the shower was a bit slow but of course easy to fix.

We had a issue with the TV, I rang the reception which immediately send someone up to fix the problem. 5 Minutes and everything was fixed again.

Breakfast was good, many things to choose from.

In the evening we had some dinner we really enjoyed. For two persons with wine and 3 courses we've payed 115 euro BUT the food was great with compliments to the chefs.

We didn't visit the swimming pool but will do when we visit Milan the next stay.

Great stay, good accommodation with a nice city trip to Milan.

But guys don't give your credit card to your girlfriend as it will be stressed out to the max :)))

Don't hesitate just book you won't regret,

The breakfast was

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your detailed and positive review!

Reading it is like making a virtual tour of the Hotel and we are glad that you enjoy your stay at The Hub Hotel in Milano.

We are pleased that you also appreciated our Mirror Lounge & Restaurant, our aim is to offer to our Guest the best food quality prepared in front of our Guest from our expertise Chefs.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece Crete
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Modern Hotel.
Best service.
Shuttle bus on demand!
Perfect rooms

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kougis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

I am glad that your stay at The Hub Hotel met your expectations and looking forward to welcome back you soon.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.2 mi away
Klima Hotel Milano Fiere
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Milan
Barcelo Milan
#115 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Visconti Palace
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
5.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Milano
Ramada Plaza Milano
#56 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Galles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hub Hotel

Property: The Hub Hotel
Address: Via Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hub Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing