We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel if you have your own rented car!”
Review of The Hub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hub Hotel
Ranked #141 of 428 Hotels in Milan
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel if you have your own rented car!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 night mid May. easy to find and if you have your own car you cant go wrong. located on the outskirts of the city you can get anywhere you want by jumping onto the major roads quickly. Parking is at a cost but just park on the road the hotel is on right outside and park for free! it;ll safe more time as well as you can just in as you walk out the hotel rather than going into the basement car park.

hotel is nice. clean big lobby, nice decor. had a delux room, was not bad. coffee machine, modern shower very comfy bed. cant fault the hotel it did tick all the boxes. Breakfast is free for a standardish breakfast you have to pay for bulkier foods such as omletters french toasts etc.

nice hotel if you want a hotel for a short City break IF YOU HAVE YOUR OWN CAR and feel modern italian designs. nightmare if you are depending on public transport. the hotel is in the middle of an industrial estate. so avoid if you do not have your own car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank int-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    482
    228
    85
    48
See reviews for
131
421
48
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We were mom, dad and ten year old child staying for one night en route to somewhere else during the Christmas season. Being off-season we found the hotel to be quiet. The staff were attentive but might not be so during high season. The pool was too cold to swim in. The restaurant was fabulous. The decor was very stylish in the bar/lobby. The location is closer to the highway sytem and not great for tourists (but doable if you get a good deal and don't have other choices). We would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

If you get it for 70 euros per day like i did its more than excelent value for money and i could give it 4,5 out of 5.

Overal it is a very good hotel and you should choose it if you dont mind using the Metro and train for your moving to the city and back or if you have a car rent. Keep in mind that the Metro is closing at midnight. Also keep in mind that the station that the hotels shutlebus can leave you is requiring a more expensive ticket than the normal urban (1,5 Euros normal, i don't know how much more)

If you have a car its better to park it in station lampungano. Very big parking and very small fare, 1 euro 4 hours, 1,5 euros 8 hours, 2,1 euros more than 8 hours and it closes 1 hour after midnight.

In the other hand i would agree with other previus reviews that the hotels restaurant strives for gourmet but doesnt get it. We tasted 5 dishes but only the chicken with thymus sauce was extraordinary. The salads were poor first of all in taste and they seemed ''ripping you of'' when they charge about 15 euros for octapus salad and you have to... ''search to find it''. The other 2 plates were just descent.

P.S. The breakfast was very very good and our rest stay was flawless, and also very friendly and helpfull staff.

I recoment the hotel
I dont recoment the restaurant (you can do better guys)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank complexara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Crazy hotel! It's now 2AM in the morning and one of the hotel's customer is hosting a concert that will continue into 5AM. Their sound proofing is so BAD that you can hear the bass pounding at 5th floor. Clear enough to give you sleepless night!

Unless you don't want to sleep, don't stay in this hotel! I went to the desk to complain, the concierge told me there is nothing they can do. I am sending a complaint to their Group Director.

This is the WORST hotel I have stayed over 5 years of travel around the world.

Room Tip: Do not choose a hotel that does not care about your sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielKHTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed as a couple, 5 days in April 2012.

Pros:
Very friendly front desk staff, drivers, and everyone else.
Rooms were VERY clean, well made everyday.
Price was great.
Wifi was included in the price and accessible from the room.
Breakfast was good - although can use some variety after few days.
Spa is average/good, pool has great view.

Cons:
Although most times shuttle from the station to hotel was fine, when it was busy we had to wait quite a lot. Regardless, 95% of time it is not a problem.

If you want to save some money without sacrificing quality, stay at this hotel. However, keep in mind that it will take 30 ~ 45 minutes to go to the center. If this is ok, I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Hub Hotel and your suggestions about transportation will surely help us to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Hub Hotel Milano!

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in the industrial area of Milano, easy to access by car. The staff is very friendly and WiFi included in the price, which is good. The decoration is modern and adequate. Only negative point is the restaurant, which in my opinion should be avoided. For a city trip I rather reccommend something nearer to the center.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

We are happy to know that your experience at The Hub Hotel has been overall a positive one. About our Mirror Lounge & Restaurant we believe we didn't perform at our standard in that occasion and we do apologise. Please check also the restaurant page on tripadvisor for other guest review.

We really look forward to have a second chance during your next visit to Milano.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Contrary to what seems like the majority here, I am disappointed that my experience at The Hub Milan was a pitiful, downright terrible one. What was supposed to be the highlight of all our hotels during our 2-week Europe trip turned into a nightmare experience that was brought about by a combination of less-than-savoury attitude on the part of the staff, terrible handling of a number of situations and to top it all off, a room with a broken-down air conditioner.

It was probably bad timing that my tour group's 1-night stay at The Hub Milan clashed with a casino-themed party that was being held in the hotel's lobby in early- March this year. After a whole day of taking in the sights and sounds of Milano, my tour group was exhausted and looking forward to a good nights' rest at the famed Hub Hotel Milan. To our horror, we were told, upon reaching the carpark that we were not allowed to check-in or even leave the bus in order not to "disrupt the event." So, thirty tired travellers were forced to wait outside the hotel in a stuffy bus for 45 mins for a hotel they had already paid for just because the staff didn't want our checking-in to disrupt their external function and didn't have the common sense to set up a different counter to facilitate check-ins. Funny, the last time I checked, a hotel's primary function is to house guests and not make them wait outside in the cold like dogs. Even when we were finally let in, we weren't even allowed in the main entrance. Instead, we were rudely ushered into a side-door where we were hurried into a lift like stowaways.

In all honesty, I've never felt so insulted in my life, they treated us AS IF WE WERE STAYING THERE FOR FREE! The first words said to me by a member of the staff wasn't a "welcome to Milan!" but rather, "Hurry, the lift's this way!!" Hospitality at its best..

When we finally got to our rooms, everyone was so tired and frustrated that we just wanted to get to sleep. Granted, the rooms were generally well-furnished and had a very modern touch to them. Just when we thought all the troubles were over though, my dad and I were given a room that had a non-functioning air conditioner. The room was as hot as a sauna!! After 3 calls to the reception counter that drew a response of "We've already adjusted the temperature for you"(Yes, you can't control the temperature in your room, the main reception has to do it), my dad and I lost our patience and got someone up to open the windows.

I simply couldn't believe it, sleeping with the windows open just because the air conditioner was spoilt and there was no technician at hand. To top it all off, the guy at the reception counter seemed to get irritated at being called several times. Well maybe if the problem had been rectified the first time round, there wouldn't have been a need for subsequent calls sheesh! Even so, the guy who came up to open the windows took a whopping 45 mins to come up to our room, during which my dad and I were sweating profusely, IN WINTER!!. So much for the Chan Brothers' tour guide promise of an excellent stay there..

I have never written such a scathing review on any hotel in my life. In fact, I've never even written a bad review for a hotel before as I'm content with a proper check-in, a bed to sleep in and working air conditioning. In all the 8 hotels I stayed in Europe across Italy, Switzerland, France and The Netherlands, this was the worst one by a longshot. Very very disappointing The Hub Hotel Milan..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zacs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

You have problably checked in the 15th of March around 8.00/9.00 pm. What was going on in the Hotel was the II Hotel Anniversary. The Hotel was fully booked and about 500 Guest where having party in the Lobby, Garden, Restaurant, Bar and every public space of the Hotel.

We are sorry for the air conditioning that was not working properly in your room. Sometimes things gets broken late and when there are no other rooms available.

Regarding your check in, a hotel staff member joined you and your group on the bus when you arrived. We checked you in there, in a quite and calm area, giving you room keys and hotel informations. Then as you where traveling with big suitcases and the main entrance was full of other Guest, for your safety and security we allowed you in from a next to reception door, showing you the lifts in order not to be confused and disoriented by music and people (at least this was the aim).

Some of the people of your group joined the party after being in their room, as it was open and free with drinks and food.

In any case your suggestions and indication will help us to organize in a different way future pubblic events at The Hub Hotel in Milano.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.


Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Barcelo Milan
#122 of 428 in Milan
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 428 in Milan
1,753 reviews
Bicocca
Novotel Milan Nord Ca Granda
Ramada Plaza Milano
#59 of 428 in Milan
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hub Hotel

Property: The Hub Hotel
Address: Via Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hub Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing