We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but service needs to improve”

Pizzeria Ristorante Salernitano
Ranked #1,681 of 8,269 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stazione Centrale
København, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, but service needs to improve”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

In short: excellent food with inspiration from Campania.
Ended up at this restaurant short of other decent options in the vicinity (just 5 min from Milano Central Station) and can only say we couldn't have made a better choice. The staff was friendly an courteous on arrival, but made a couple of mistakes with the bill.
The choice of starters and pasta dishes is extraordinary. Only tourists were eating pizzas. If you are vegetarian, there are plenty of decent options, but make sure when you order that plates contain no meat whatsoever.
Service only gets 'poor' because we felt they tried to cheat us with the drinks and appetisers -and judging from other reviewers they seem to do that often, so beware!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    112
    62
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Greece
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good location, average experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

region. near porta venezia
type of food. pizzeria, sea food, italian couisine
service. 7 (in scale 0 to 10)
food quality. medium except rizotto milanese that was excellent

negative. they charged our bill with desert that we haven't ordered or had. After we complained they removed the extra charge

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmanouil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Favourite of Locals”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Looking to how packed it was on the evening we visited, it must be a hot favourite of locals. Seems to be strong on sea food and meat. Being vegetarian, we still found pleasant options. THe Spaghetti Arabiata was good. The wine was excellent. The pizza was quite bad. Service seems bad - but really they are not bad, just terribly short staffed. TIramisu was great. Nice outdoor seating, if you can get a table.
Nice place to go, reasonably priced - amongst the many in Milan. Don't go if it is to be your only meal in this city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harsingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old style...”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Impossible style from the 70's
Definetely needs a refurbish
It looks like a sad place . Service is very poor and they think to be experts of wines or food.
But they know nothing...
Avoid it!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alebu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Un-professional and rude staff !”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We went there for dinner on our arrive to Milan coz was next to our hotel and we were tired.First the guy take us to sit, but he stop and decide to have a chat with other customers at table while we were standing and waiting behind him! We ordered just two pizzas, small beer and fanta so we were not good enough for them I think coz unpleasant sight all the time.Pizza was served with olive oil, but they forgot to tell us is hot and spicy so we destroyed our pizzas with that.I call them to ask what kinda oil is that coz we were not sure what cause it so hot. They said is hot and spicy oil and I said you should tell us before we use it. They didn't offer new pizzas or something, so we decide to not pay Copperta (service fee) of €4 for that.I asked for a bill and they even charge us for a big beer instead of small, so I said we are not going pay copperta for this hot spicy oil and she was so rude, talk to me like with fool ... that you are in Italy you have to pay even if you sit in restaurant (like I was from other planet) and we sorry for oil.I told her you destroyed our dinner and you asking for money and you just sorry? She said you have to pay. .I just threw 4 euro on the table and we went. We were not surprised after this, that only two tables booked while Little Italy pizzeria next to this was packed !!! Do not recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Ristorante Salernitano also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Ristorante Salernitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing