We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged us 20 EUROs too much”

Pizzeria Ristorante Salernitano
Ranked #1,548 of 8,181 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stazione Centrale
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charged us 20 EUROs too much”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Beware. Like som other foreign tourists have written. Check your bill or easier just stay away. The food isn't that good. We should have paid 54.50, they charged 74.50. we paid, but went back then the owner suddenly didn' t understand a word of english. After a lot of talk between the owner and his crew, explaining a lot in fast and load Italian, and consulting a menu (Beware again they got a different menu with higher prices, just for this. For instance our bottle of wine had gone up from 23 Euros to 25) after som sighing and headshaking and even more explanations the owner gave us back 11 Euros. We took that as sure sign of guilt, but they were still willing to haggle, and we just gave up shook our heads and accepted a 9 euro rip off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    110
    61
    29
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Tourist warning: Check your bill carefully!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Arrived late at night with suitcases on way to hotel so we were obviously an easy target.

The food itself was excellent. Partners oysters were awesome & our shared marinara pizza was the best I've had in Italy. Steak bit fatty & lacking few veg but the best was yet to come. Having travelled all day after several problems en route we were very tired & the manager picked up on this & pounced with eager when we asked for the bill.

In practically every eating establishment on the planet you will receive a bill with itemised dishes making it easy to understand & what you are paying for.

Not so in this place. They gave us a receipt the size of a stamp with just figures in print. I added up the figures which totalled €72.5 but the figure they put down was €82.5. Very convenient for owner but not for me I'm afraid. He could see i was baffled perusing bill so he came over, i explained & he rectified. He looked guilty as sin & over the top with his continual apologies.

It's a shame as the meal was very good but, please watch your bill like the other reviewers below did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Thelobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, but service needs to improve”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

In short: excellent food with inspiration from Campania.
Ended up at this restaurant short of other decent options in the vicinity (just 5 min from Milano Central Station) and can only say we couldn't have made a better choice. The staff was friendly an courteous on arrival, but made a couple of mistakes with the bill.
The choice of starters and pasta dishes is extraordinary. Only tourists were eating pizzas. If you are vegetarian, there are plenty of decent options, but make sure when you order that plates contain no meat whatsoever.
Service only gets 'poor' because we felt they tried to cheat us with the drinks and appetisers -and judging from other reviewers they seem to do that often, so beware!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good location, average experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

region. near porta venezia
type of food. pizzeria, sea food, italian couisine
service. 7 (in scale 0 to 10)
food quality. medium except rizotto milanese that was excellent

negative. they charged our bill with desert that we haven't ordered or had. After we complained they removed the extra charge

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmanouil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Favourite of Locals”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Looking to how packed it was on the evening we visited, it must be a hot favourite of locals. Seems to be strong on sea food and meat. Being vegetarian, we still found pleasant options. THe Spaghetti Arabiata was good. The wine was excellent. The pizza was quite bad. Service seems bad - but really they are not bad, just terribly short staffed. TIramisu was great. Nice outdoor seating, if you can get a table.
Nice place to go, reasonably priced - amongst the many in Milan. Don't go if it is to be your only meal in this city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harsingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Ristorante Salernitano also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Ristorante Salernitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing