We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected and not in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection
Ranked #119 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected and not in a good way”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at the Boscolo Exedra Hotel in Milan in January 2012 and the experience was overall very bad. The style of the hotel is very far from what I consider luxury and it has very poor taste in my opinion. The lobby is too bright and loud but not in a good "design" way, instead it looks cheap and unfinished. The reception desk is so high that from a distance it looks like the cash register of a bar, it's not comfortable or spacious and again looks cheap.
After checking in, while they were accompanying us to our room, we enquired about the internet connection and we shockingly found out that this hotel does not provide wi-fi connection in the rooms, only cable connection. Since we only had our ipads, this was useless. They told us that wi-fi connection would be available at the lobby or we could use the hotel computer. When we went down to the lobby, they told us that there was no internet connection available at all for the next 24 hours: unbelievable. If I had known this in advance, I would have changed hotel immediately. The rate of the room was quite high (350 euro), absolutely overpriced for the service and the decor of the hotel. The corridors to the rooms have very bright white lights and no carpet, so you can hear housekeeping staff pushing their noisy carts up and down at night and heels of people walking at every hour. The colours of the corridors and the doors are very bright and again look very cheap and tasteless. The room layout is not convenient since the tv is not centered. The plastic wall between the washroom and the toilet was badly cracked and this is supposed to be a new hotel. The shower is even too big and they could instead have used the space to put two sinks instead of one. Not what you expect from this kind of establishment. We have lived in Asia for the past eight years and we know very well that the Asian standard is generally higher than the european one, but this was bad even compared to Boscolo Exedra hotel in Rome, which was instead a very good experience.
We will never go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maricipry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    367
    175
    85
    69
See reviews for
154
460
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This was our 3rd trip to Milan and by far, the best hotel that we stayed. The location was superb and great for shopping. Just a couple of minutes on foot and you are on the main shopping street of Milan. We loved the design of the room and how everything is clean and appeared to look new.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0annesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Location - 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral, shops and Restaurants. Easy to find due to its big red entrance. About 15 minutes from the main bus/train station in Milan.

Staff - Some of the front desk staff were helpful, although it depended on who was working at the time as some were quite rude and happily chatted rather than helping. The cleaning staff and spa staff were constantly pleasant.

Room - The room was an average size.
The Good = The toiletries were fantastic and they made the bathroom look like a fun chemical lab. It was comfy and warm.
The Bad = The internet is very very poor in this hotel. Although it is free. Do not expect a good constant signal. Noise from the streets was an issue. It was quite loud, despite being 7 floors up.

Spa - was excellent. Well worth a visit and the treatment was great.

I would stay here again, but i do not think that it is a 5 star hotel.

Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpediem208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Perfect location for shopping, impressive modern design everywhere, very nice room (just love rain showers) amazing swimming pool. One thing that needs improvement though is room service food, quality is not up to par. Will be revisiting for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

On the surface Boscolo is a good hotel. Large rooms, excellent shower/bath, great location, distinct look. If you're visiting Milan for one or two nights this hotel serves it's purpose well. Eat out and return to a very nice room.

But don't stay here for business (as I did) or longer stays. There is minimal support for the business traveller - no desk in room, costly internet, limited wireless range, no real business center, costly laundry (22 euro to wash and press one business shirt), no irons given out to rooms.

However, I found the biggest nuisance to be the noise. The common areas outside rooms are hard surface stone and hard heeled shoes or trolleys being wheeled along are a regular source of irritation. There is something poor about the noise insulation in the rooms as even other room doors closing seem to penetrate too loudly. Unless you are a deep and sound sleeper this could prove a nuisance. I had just come from an airport hotel that had excellent noise insulation so that you didn't even know you were at an airport, yet at the Boscolo I felt like I needed earplugs. It may not serve their fashion-targeted image but they could do well to replace the floor surface in the common areas with carpets.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Boscolo Exedra Milano is very well-located. It is a 10-minute walk to the Duomo and it is at the Quadrilatera d'Oro where all the beautiful shops are. The hotel staff are very amiable, helpful and efficient, especially Valentina at the front desk, Leonardo at the restaurant and Basil at the door. The hotel is a graphic design dream from the entrance to the lobby, the restaurant, the spa and the rooms! The entire hotel is spotlessly clean, our room and bathroom were spacious and well-appointed. I liked the wood floor in the room which is so much more hygienic than carpeted flooring. The pillows were nice and soft, the bed wasn't too soft though. I was a bit disappointed with the spa though. Being a spa addict, the quality of the massage I had and the general ambiance was worlds away from the spas I've been to, especially in Asia like Shangri-la's Chi (anywhere in the world) and The Palace The Old Town Spa in Dubai. I suppose the space limitations in the hotel will not allow them to give you that sense of luxuriousness and abandon at those other two spas I mentioned, but they did serve tea in a plastic cup at the end of the massage. In a five star hotel? Really? The spa and the bed that wasn't soft enough are very minor complaints when one sums up the excellent quality of service, the aesthetic pleasure one receives in staying in such a beautiful hotel and the accommodations provided.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DramaQueenFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights for the grand prix in monza.
The hotel is a trip, a very funky decor throughout. the rooms were spacious with a huge bathroom and shower area, The biggest selection of shampoos etc that I have ever seen.
I don't like a hard bed and unfortunately this one is but that was a problem throughout Europe, I thought it was just asia but obviously not.
We had no problems at check in or with our room except that the more you pay for a room the less you get, no iron or coffee facilities, internet access in rooms not free and it would only allow us to use 1 computer ( you had to pay extra if you wanted to connect other devices)
the concierge could not help us in getting to Monza we knew more than she did so we worked it out ourselves. had a great time. the hotel is close to the main shopping area and the Duomo and the underground which was very easy to navigate.
we did not eat here so cannot comment on the restaurants but there were heaps of places nearby to eat.
This place amazing and has to be seen but I would not say value for money but then it's hard to say as i did not see other hotels in Milan

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#134 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#10 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
#36 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Chateau Monfort
#11 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection
Address: Corso Matteotti 4/6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Milan
#41 Business Hotel in Milan
#63 Family Hotel in Milan
#72 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#95 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the elegance of Milan, Italy with a stay at Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection. Our five-star hotel is extraordinary in every way and a preferred choice among luxury hotels in Milan. We offer first-class accommodations in the city center, near the Duomo, La Scala and Castello Sforzesco. From our location in the vibrant fashion district, you can experience the fine shopping and dining in of our city and top destinations in Milan's city's business hub. Effortlessly stylish accommodations at our hotel are perfect whether you are traveling for work or pleasure. While in Milan, enjoy an intuitively designed guest room or suite with modern furnishings, a pillow-top bed and free Wi-Fi. Some accommodations provide stunning views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Milano Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing