We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection
Ranked #113 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Odd....”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Boscolo Milano. Arriving was hampered by a taxi strike in Milan (taxi drivers didn't like the introduction of Uber in Milan). Thankfully the hotel is only two blocks from a subway station.

Upon arrival, I was impressed with the lobby. The flower arrangements were being replaced and they were stunning.

Registration went well. I arrived about 3 pm and my room was ready. A friend had been waiting in the lobby for two hours and his room was still not ready at 3 pm. They did some juggling and found him a room when I arrived.

My first impression of the room was positive. If you've conducted research, you've seen photos and those are worth a 1,000 words at the Boscolo Milano.

The safe was really large - three shelves for storing items. Unfortunately the safe in my room wasn't working. After two calls to the front desk, security arrived to replace batteries. That didn't help so they ultimately had to unscrew the safe from the floor and replace it with a new one. I've never had that happen before. In the meantime, I asked how to change TV channels because I could not get that feature to work. After stepping me through the process of changing channels, they discovered that my TV would not change channels. After a lot of trial and error, they said they had to re-boot the room. Behind a mirror was a switch or cable that allowed them to turn everything in the room off. After the reboot, channel changing worked. That's when I realized the channel listing in the room did not match the channels on the TV. I was looking for CNN and never did find it. Settled on BBC news since there were very few English-language channels.

On the plus side, the room was very clean. The green vinyl "blob" chair was odd. Having a room with the toilet and bidet on one side of the TV and the room with the shower on the other side worked for a single occupant. This could have been awkward when sharing a room. Another oddity - no soap or towels in the mini-sink in the toilet room.

The regular sink and shower were fine. Something appeared to be broken and all I could get to work was the hand-held shower wand. The overhead rain shower never would engage no matter how much I pushed, pulled and twisted the only other knob in the shower area. My friend had the opposite problem - only the rain shower head worked and the hand-held wand never would work.

The numbered toiletries were unique although we both realized that tubes with the #2 contents were missing. We both had two #3s instead.

We visited both the pool in the basement (cool looking!) as well as the outdoor lounge on the top floor. Very impressive view of the Duomo.

Breakfast was good but pricey. Plenty of options. I really like the mini skewers of pancakes, cheese and ham - kind of a breakfast appetizer.

As others have mentioned, the location is great.

I stayed using Rewards points. if I had paid for the room, I would have been quite disappointed. A hotel at this star level should not have had issues with the safe, TV and the shower. However, the staff was friendly and accommodating throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Not many rooms have views so pay extra if you want to secure a room with a Duomo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    380
    182
    89
    75
See reviews for
170
480
55
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved our stay at this contemporary, modern hotel in a great location in Milan. We arrived very early for check-in after an overnight flight and they accommodated us after a brief delay. Our room was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was huge with at least 15 different shampoos, conditioners, lotions and body washes in fun test-tube packaging. The bed was fabulous with good linens and a funky overhead cloud. The location is great - we were able to walk everywhere. Tons of great restaurants, shopping and sights. The staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations and directions. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi5636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very modern hotel as one of the newest to be built in Milan. Some of the furnishing are a little funky, but otherwise a comfortable hotel...good bed, nice rain shower, large towels and a variety of shampoos, bocy wash and lotions. Be careful the shower floor can be slippery when already wet. Laminated wood floors in the hallway makes it very noisy. Breakfast was good and could even order pancakes.

Great location for touring Milan on foot. Romano, Guest Relations Mgr,, recommended we go to the 8th floor rooftop terrace to view the Dumo when lit at night which provided excellent pictures. Hew was very friendly. Also, the doorman (Abdul) recommended a great gelato place and was helpful with other directions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had an overall good experience staying at Boscolo. However with a lack of that little extra.
Staff at reception was observant and friendly, and gave great service.

The room (Luxury room) was nice and met my expectations. Only remark about the room is regarding the shower, where there were visible water damages in the floor corners and the rainfall shower head was mended and hanging a bit loose.

At the rooftop however, one evening the service was really bad. I ordered a drink and was given the wrong one. I ordered snacks to the drink and had to ask again after waiting long. Me and my room mate ordered food and wine, and waited very long for it, although there was just as many staff members on the roof as there were visitors. I would have liked to have the wine while waiting for the food... Also the music at the rooftop bar this evening was the same track playing over and over and over again (elevator music), and even though I pointed out that the same track had been played probably 15 times, it still took very long until it finally changed and someone put on some nice lounge music.

Another negative experience was down in the spa one early evening. Outside the pool area there was a table where tea, fruit and nuts where supposed to be served. There was nothing left when I arrived, no tea water, no drinking water, just used cups. I asked the girl in the spa entrance, and she said she had called for more. Nothing happened however, and when I left after swimming and sitting in the sauna, the table was still a mess and nobody had attended to it.

Room Tip: Stayed in a luxury room, facing a quiet back yard. The room was spacious and good for two friends sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Part of the Autograph collection, this Milan location is clutch. Very central and close to several bars, restaurants and cafes. There are several shops and designer boutiques just a stones throw away.
The rooms are decently sized in terms of European standards and the staff is very friendly. Room service was fast and the food was very good. The selection of wines in the hotel bar is excellent. The hotel also hosts a night club that is very popular and on Saturday nights, the line to enter the club extends all the way outside the hotel. Speak to your concierge about entry to the club if you are a room guest.
All in all, a very great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harimoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnfield
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed three nights at Boscol. The hotel was surprisingly modern and funky. We were able to walk everywhere within the city, never needing a cab. It's close to the train, the city center, the Opera House, and many restaurants. The beds are comfortable and the showers and bath were filled with fun multi-colored shampoos and soaps. The shower was in need of repair near the door area. After our first night we moved to a different room and we had magnificent view of the Duomo. The staff was extremely helpful when we required directions, taking out maps and charting paths for us to follow. The roof top bar is a great spot for having a drink and viewing the Duomo. Twice we enjoyed the spa/pool area. One time the space was overcome with running children. No parents to be seen. Also, there were a plethora of used towels around on the 6 available beds. More beds? Hooks for towels, robes? I would stay here again because of location and the helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location is very central and very good. Nice view on Duomo from top floor bar.
However, where do i start? Maybe with the fact the hotel failed to pick me up from the airport. It was prearranged but nobody showed up. Yes, i got a bottle of bubbly wine to compensate but so what? Room, not bad, you love the green plastic seat (with handles) or you don't but the fact the water in the shower stays boiling hot no matter how you turn the tab is not normal - my wife was unable to wash her hair and needed to do it in the sink. Breakfast - on Monday morning no issue but on Sunday morning downstairs in the bar (?) - super poor service. We ordered 2 omelettes and the chef couldn't get them right (by the way, one was plain, one was ham/cheese - not too difficult) - they kept showing up with mushrooms - we ate them like that. Employees are too cool, too stuck up with the exception of a concierge - i think her name was Valentina. At check-out Monday morning the guy who checked us out told us there was a taxi strike. Obviously, that's not his fault but his reaction on my question "how do we get to the airport" was "that's not my problem". That is not lack of language knowledge, that's arrogance and that doesn't belong in the service industry and certainly not in an alleged 5-star hotel. It's not worth those 5 stars as you gathered. Stay away, folks!

Room Tip: Stay away, folks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pgi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G, General Manager at Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest

we are very frustrated in reading your comment.
We work daily for our guest satisfaction and we take care of their expectation and need.
You indicated in your response that some people was not helpful and their advises were not satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
The taxi strike actually was unexpected and not announced and created problems to guests.
But we have professional people, very well prepared on the city life and the city logistic.
We work for the satisfaction of our guest. We daily train our staff to improve their attitude and the quality of the service we offer to our guests.
I will take the opportunity to share with our staff the comments you did, in order to feed our learning process.
Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations also for the room functionality and amenities.
We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. The Boscolo Milano is a design Hotel, and each detail is hardly studied and chosen by the Architect for giving the lifestyle mood.
Some special rooms are equipped also with fitness features that usually are really appreciated. And I am very sorry that this is not the case.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Barbara Gibellini
General Manager
Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#147 of 427 in Milan
411 reviews
Centro Storico
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
#35 of 427 in Milan
547 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 427 in Milan
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#44 of 427 in Milan
1,760 reviews
Centro Storico
Four Seasons Hotel Milano
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 427 in Milan
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection
Address: Corso Matteotti 4/6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Milan
#41 Business Hotel in Milan
#63 Family Hotel in Milan
#72 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#92 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the elegance of Milan, Italy with a stay at Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection. Our five-star hotel is extraordinary in every way and a preferred choice among luxury hotels in Milan. We offer first-class accommodations in the city center, near the Duomo, La Scala and Castello Sforzesco. From our location in the vibrant fashion district, you can experience the fine shopping and dining in of our city and top destinations in Milan's city's business hub. Effortlessly stylish accommodations at our hotel are perfect whether you are traveling for work or pleasure. While in Milan, enjoy an intuitively designed guest room or suite with modern furnishings, a pillow-top bed and free Wi-Fi. Some accommodations provide stunning views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Milano, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Milano Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing