We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in the center of Milan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of UNA Maison Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UNA Maison Milano
Ranked #12 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the center of Milan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Room and bathroom much larger than expected. Great location for touring around Milan. Just about next door to the Duomo. Room service fast, needed a cappuccino for an afternoon boost and it arrived with croissants within minutes. Only $6 euro for two.
Annoying that wifi not included. Wifi is very hard to get in Milan, most cafes do not have it and if you find one that does, the log in takes time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cz4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    242
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
166
568
45
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The first thing that comes to mind about this hotel is the location. It is moments away from the Duomo and could not be more convenient for the historic centre of the city. It is a 10 minute stroll from Cadorna railway station and has underground stations nearby and a taxi rank visible from the balcony of your room. Most of the major shopping areas are just there. However, the hotel itself provides a wonderful experience with knowledgeable and friendly staff plus very comfortable rooms. Despite being located in a busy and noisy street the quality of the windows meant that it was totally silent overnight for sleeping. They don't offer a full dining room but provide a wide range of food for delivery to your room - morning or evening.Overall this hotel provides a quality environment from which to explore this vibrant city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fourth floor or above. Also, a balcony adds another dimension to your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginevra
Level Contributor
230 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

....that this place is definitely a great place.
Location is fantastic, full accessibility with wheelchairs or stroller. Rooms are quite large (not so large, but this kind of buildings don't have always large spaces) and clean.
Room breakfast is good although a bit pricy - but in Italy it's always difficult to get good breakfasts
What is truly impressive is the quiet in the rooms: you are in downtown, full traffic, tram, bus, people in the street, 200 mts from Piazza Duomo....and quality of sleep is unbeatable.....great!
I would come back with pleasure...but we have to say that the hotel is pretty expensive - and for the same money abroad you have provbably better hotel (but that's Italy).
English perfectly spoken and people super-service-oriented

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_agva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Service staff: The success of the hotel would most probably be due to the awesome staff they have at the hotel. Everyone whom we met during our 2 night stay were very warm and friendly. They are always eager to help with directions or recommendations for restuarants (fabulous ones indeed). When we wanted a taxi to take us to the airport (which charges a flat Eur 90), they arranged a car service at the exact same cost, so we got to travel to the airport in a very comfortable Merc. Also the service staff went over and beyond to make our stay extra special - Many thanks to Daniele and her team (I should have gotten all their names).

Location: Very central! It's located near the Duomo where all the shops are. You can always shop and drop your bags off at the hotel and continue shopping at the Fashion City. However, if you are shopping at the high end area, i.e. via Montenapoleone, then the walk back to drop off the bags may be a slight hassle.

Rooms: We had the junior suite. Tastefully done. Comfortable with amenities. Windows are sound proof so you don't really have to worry about traffic noise. Wifi strength is really good - facetiming is not a problem.

Tip: add the wifi to your package when you book online for Eur9 a day - it's alot cheaper than getting the wifi when you are at the hotel which will cost you almost 3x the amount. They charge Eur 30 for breakfast but I will suggest that you skip that and head to the many cafes or patisceria for your breakfast.

Con: The lobby is rather small and the reception area is just a small desk. If you have more than 1 group checking in, or you are waiting to ask a simple question, you would need to wait. Not a big deal since they serve drinks when you arrive and some fruit nibbles as you wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcess_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

That just about sums it up: you're in the best spot in Milan (while you're checking out the Doumo and the shopping) make sure to check out the bakery behind the hotel), the service is friendly, relaxed and helpful, but the rooms are very small and incredibly high priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiredfeethappyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed for three nights in this delightful hotel. It's situated in an ideal position for visiting the cathedral and all the main shopping area, Our room, although overlooking the street, was extremely quiet. There was ample room for the two of us and our large bags. We opted to have the 30 Euros breakfast each day and were completely satisfied with the variety and quality. It was worth every cent. Carlo was extremely welcoming as was Deborah. We were given a welcome cup of coffee and after being shown the room, we were also given some very good directions to places of interest. I have no hesitation in recommending this small, personal hotel to anyone who visits Milan

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had to have a real think before writting the review.

You see I knew milan was going to be expensive for the hotel. but when i considered what was involved for the money I just couldn't endorse this hotel as good. I stayed for one night and didn't have the breakfast.

the problem is not the staff! but the hotel. its white for sure. but when I got to my room I was underwhelmed for the amount I paid for it. it felt distinctly four star with no real character. a refurbished room, but the bathroom felt like it was a late 1990's bathroom, like the owners spent the money on the foyer (which I'll get to in a minute) they basicly got in a cream leather framed bed and painted everything else white.

the problem is the white walls and even the frame of the bed has scuffed marks which makes the room look alittle tatty against the stark white. Now the room is clean and the bathroom too.
location is good, and the soundproofing did it's job it was quieter than I imagined it would be for a city hotel.

but my big beef is with 2 things breakfast and the foyer. On booking the room you notice that breakfast isn't included! and although I got a email after I booked saying if you book breakfast in the room for a discounted price before arrival, I ignored it as I wanted to get breakfast in the city. but still this will push your costs up. but it's only on arrival that you realise why they do breakfast in your room. because there is no dinning room in the hotel! it room service all the way. in otherwords it lack amenities to be considered a four star in my opinion.

As I understand it, it has 26 rooms with a tiny foyer with a mini bar and a lift. and to me it is a scrape above a b&b in facilities a 240 quid a night b&b for (2 with breakfast)

then the foyer/bar
clean, bright, white! it has a desk about 5ft long and a cupboard behind which contains another two staff members the printers a computer system. It's quite comical at check out time. you have 3 staff all cramped within 8sqm. they a practically falling over each other they have so little space to work. this creates a reception desk that is just surrounded by guest with little space and doesn't seem personal at all.

The staff
now the interaction of the staff was good. I arrived late at night and they called a local restaurant at 2230 boked the table and give us directions and a map to it. they where knowledgable, polite helpful. But the hotel setup inhibts the staff, in hotels its usually the other way round! I distinctly remember thinking that the staff want to do better like they know this is not great. In essence they are trying to rise above there surroundings.

Now to point out the fallacy of my review. service. as you are awear i didn't book my breakfast with the hotel. so if you are booking a suite with a dinning table and breakfast then your experience will be diffrent to mine. I read that it does well on these points.

However if like me your booking the room without you are really just paying for the bed and location and at this price it feels like a average experience. Underwhelming is how I felt upon leaving. given the reviews I thought I would put this candid review up.

if your the managment I suggest you relook at the ergonomics of the gust interaction at checkin and out. give staff handheld units allow them in room check out because the foyer space becomes to cluttered to quickly as the desk becomes to congested and the entrance blocked.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SquiffyMonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#8 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#25 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Maison Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Maison Milano

Property: UNA Maison Milano
Address: Via Mazzini 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#7 Family Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#19 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Maison Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Maison Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Maison Milano Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing