We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK as a budget hotel but we would not stay again, do not get breakfast here- not worth the additional fee.”
Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gala
Ranked #335 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK as a budget hotel but we would not stay again, do not get breakfast here- not worth the additional fee.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked this hotel as a budget option for just 2 nights, but of we had the choice again we would stay elsewhere.
Booked a double room, but in fact got 2 single beds which were more like camp beds, with thin mattresses and dated bedding(although the bedding was clean).
The bathroom shower cubicle was small and had a shower curtain. Don't expect fluffy white towels, what you in fact get are more like table cloths and tea towels.
The cleanliness was below a standard of other similar hotels.
The breakfast was an additional fee and definitely not worth it. It was very poor, the 2 mornings we were there, the same bottle of gone off, long life milk was provided for the cereals. The bread and pastries were poor quality and there was little selection of juice and fruit.
The only pros were the air-con (although the remote didn't work) and the sky tv (which on some channels you could convert to English speaking).
The hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Zara metro station so a good link to city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    87
    60
    33
    35
See reviews for
29
109
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Nice unique hotel a little bit away from the centre with very reasonable prices. Didn't have breakfast so cant comment but the coffee was nice! Easy travel links and nice staff. Wifi was dodgy on occasions. Staff were helpful. DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT NEXT DOOR... RUDE! Basically had to leave after first course as they refused to serve us - why? We will never know....

Room Tip: Some rooms had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sclate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel has many pro's and few con's.
The pro's :
- Metro station and tram stop in front of the hotel
- Comodities in room excelent (even included desposable tooth paste and brush)
- Free Wifi
- Vending machine with cheap noodles that you can make in your room
- Clean and confortable

The con's :
- Very poor breakfast (has bread,coffee and cookies for instance, but does not have eggs?Instead they have meat balls, french fries and other cold lunch food)
- The checkout is at 11h
- The Staff doesn't have any problems to have a loud argument and you ear-it.

To sum, 3 stars is right for this small family managed type hotel, but they really should improve the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barata_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is a fine budget hotel. I stayed 2 nights in March for 50€ per night. The room was clean, well-heated, had a safe and mini-fridge, and the bathroom was modern (the shower stall was narrow, but I’m small, so it was no problem for me). There was a small entranceway to the room, meaning the bedroom had its own door separate from the entry door; by closing the separate bedroom door, I could shut out any light or noise that might come from under the entry door. Since only a few rooms are on each floor, noise wasn’t a problem.
The breakfast was ample and varied for a budget hotel. I was served cappuccino with a friendly smile and with flair. My companion and I enjoyed the man who attended to the breakfast; he seemed to take pride in his job.
All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, from check-in, to check-out, to breakfast service.
There are two gates that are locked at night. If you need to come back late or leave early, be sure to let the receptionist know. On our last day, we left early (4:45 a.m.) to catch a train to the airport; as agreed, the porter was right there to open the gates for us.
The only down side for me was that the WiFi didn't work for me. I was using an iPad mini, which had worked fine in Venice, Ravenna and Florence. I'm still new to WiFi, so I can't say if the problem was me, or if the Gala's WiFi was temporarily on the fritz.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamrun
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

So basically we went to this hotel for around 4 days , hotel is very central and clean , breakfast was not perfect but good. there is a metro 10 seconds away from the hotel and also a tramm, supermarket 5 min away . so i was happy. the only thing i did not like was one of the staff members, im not sure if he is the owner he is an old guy which is very unpolite to all clients including us. he stays there watching you eat in the breakfast room he is weird and when you ask him somthing he talks in bad manners . so basically im dissapointed of him being there. pls throw him out. then there where a couple who are very helpfull and always ready to help. Milan is a very nice city but not very clean etc. its good to go to other places like Sondrio for skiiing and Como which i suggest. there is this reataurant next too the hotel which is good i think its called La Villetta , small portions but good not that expensive. Well im still pissed at the old guy at the hotel one thing good to know that he only smiled when we paid him at the end of our trip what a jerk. So whoever is going pls kill him for me. also there is another jerk i bet he is his son he was complaining cause we wanted to book a taxi ooohhh God i Think they should throw out some ppl over there .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DARIO258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Took a chance on a cheap laterooms booking whilst attending a conference. Hadn't visited Milan so had no idea where to stay but this hotel seemed not too far from the central station. The best way to describe Hotel Gala is typically Italian - but this is no bad thing as I found it made a much welcomed change from the stereotypical commercialised hotel chains. Rooms were simple but clean, well stocked with toiletries and came with SKY TV and complimentary wifi which worked well enough for FaceTime. The access to the underground is very convenient as a newly built underground station is literally outside the entrance of the hotel. I was amazed at how close this was and for the price. Breakfast is continental and for the brits wanting milk in their tea or coffee you have to ask for it and I discovered Italians don't like milk in tea.
Overall, the price, service and cleanliness of the rooms is excellent together with the location next to the underground stop.

Room Tip: Higher up the building - noise, if any, travels through the thin-ish walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashishakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I are true visitors of the Gala hotel, that we picked up from the Michelin guide some 12 years ago. Ever since, this family-run hotel is a good starting point to visit the city. This time, we booked via the "booking.com" website and paid 85 euro's for the night from Friday to Saturday - more expensive than the 58 euro's we paid 1 year back via "initalia" on a Sunday evening. The breakfast has been extended and now includes "würstl" and "crauti" to also satisfy the taste of the Northern Europeans. However, we were less happy with the room we got this time - we had asked for a "matrimoniale", but got a "French bed" with an extremely poor mattress. Let's hope this be the exception for a series of pleasant nights over the past 12 years!

Room Tip: Avoid room 22. The larger rooms in the "single-digit" section of the hotel (e.g., room 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Zara Milano
Hotel Zara Milano
#188 of 427 in Milan
149 reviews
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#189 of 427 in Milan
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bicocca
Holiday Homes Residence Appartamenti Milano
Stazione Centrale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Viale Zara 89, 20159 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gala is found in Milan in a peaceful residential area only 2km away from the railway station and the city exhibition centre. The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful garden in a convenient location from which to reach the city centre and other neighbourhoods, making it the ideal place to spend a relaxing holiday, to reach the famous shopping roads or to spend a business trip.Guests have access to a TV room, WiFi internet access and free parking. The hotel would like to inform guests that indoor parking is currently unavailable due to recent flooding of the Seveso river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing