We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maison Borella
Ranked #97 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Have a nice long weekend at hotel, despite the rain. great style to this small hotel, without being over the top. Breakfast was good. rooms clean and nice accessories. Good wi-fi. Location on canal is perfect- we ate in great restaurants close by, and it was close to metro. would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maeve2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We only had one night in Milan before we had to fly out so we choose this place because of its location. The hotel sits right on the canal in the energetic Navilgli area. There are a huge number of bars, restaurants and shops within a 10-minute walk of the hotel. We couldn't have been happier with all of the options we had to choose from and the vibe was great! Plus, you're less than a 30-minute walk to the Duomo.

As for the hotel, it exceeded our expectations. The staff at the front desk was tremendous, from carrying our bags to ordering a taxi. We always felt like a priority. The room itself was very clean and updated. It had plenty of space. Most importantly, the shower was amazing! By far the largest shower I've had in Europe, and it couldn't have come at a better time after a week of traveling with tiny showers.

Overall, this is a great option just outside of the heart of Milan. It's about a 15 Euro taxi from Milano Centrale and a 13 Euro taxi ride from Cadorna Station, close to a Subway stop, and within walking distance to plenty.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyArgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A really friendly, nice hotel. Well located on Grand Canal. Room was well appointed, reception was helpful and the light breakfast was nice.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is fantastic.. Other than that, we had a poor experience. We had left some money in our room, And it was taken when we got back from a day out, after housekeeping had been in.bit wasn't a large amount of money, but the fact it happened didn't sit well with us.
On the surface, the room is nice, but when you look further you see a stained roof and bad paintwork.
Unfortunately all font desk staff were male, and they seemed not genuinely friendly, everyone we arrived back at the hotel we felt very awkward.

Breakfast was terrible, with cold scrambled eggs (at least I think they were eggs!) and cake?!?
I settled for a bread roll.. So if you stay here, it's best not to pay for brekky, maybe go to one of the nice cafes in the area.
We won't be back here, which is a shame, because the hotel has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel has great interiors- the website does not do it justice. Vintage style furnishings- rugs, sofas etc. contrast with the concrete staircase! Much of the brickwork in public areas is exposed and there are unusual works of art around the hotel waiting to be discovered. The staff were excellent- very helpful and friendly and most speaking good English. There is a good restaurant which is more pricey than many along the canal but it offers a lovely selection of Italian fayre.Our room was small but adequate. We had a room overlooking the delightful courtyard on the 2nd floor. One problem is that the courtyard is where guests go to smoke in the evenings so we had to close the window to avoid choking to death on all the smoke that wafted up! Breakfast was lovely. A wonderful selection of pastries, cakes and sandwiches plus scrambled eggs/ ham and cheese. Also fruit and yoghurt were on offer with a good selection of teas and coffees.
A few niggles- The maid would go into our room to clean while we were at breakfast despite us putting the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. On 2 occasions she was in our room when we wanted to use our bathroom and prepare for our day out. The room needs better maintaining as it was starting to become shabby. The counterpain on the bed was snagged in several places and the walls had been wiped over leaving unsightly marks on the black piant. There were 2 sticky pads stuck on the walls for no reason?? I wouldn't expect this in a 4* hotel. Poor paint quality on wardrobe door which wasn't 'shabby chic' but which had just been done badly.
My grading of this hotel is based on other experiences I have had in Europe not in comparison to others in Milan- in this case I think I would have graded it higher.

Room Tip: In peak season the canal will be very busy with night revellers- get a quiet room in the courtyard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A friend and I were coming for the weekend in Milan. Maison Borella was just what we wanted... Great stylish place with a home feeling. We felt home straight away, had a glass of wine in the patio. The room was great and the staff very kind and useful.

The place is in a superbe location ... great food restaurants around and great atmosphere for bars at night.

Walkable in 30 min to the center.... more great places on the way, little square and shopping streets....

would really recommend this place to anyone... younger to older, friends to couples...

Room Tip: all rooms are overlooking on the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

In Milan for business, I stayed in two hotels in the two weeks before staying here, one very expensive in the centre and one budget further out in the sticks, this hotel was by far the best one. I hope to return here for a weekend break in the summer perhaps. The hotel is beautiful (contemporary, but not pretentious), the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are very nice (I had a basic one) and the showers are just fantastic. It's in a great location, the food of the restaurant is excellent.

I thought for the quality, location, service and everything else, this hotel was very appropriately priced - not cheap, but not overpriced like so many others in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Art Hotel Navigli
Art Hotel Navigli
#77 of 429 in Milan
990 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#87 of 429 in Milan
394 reviews
Navigli
Hotel la Vignetta
Hotel la Vignetta
#168 of 429 in Milan
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Navigli
Hotel Pierre Milano
Hotel Pierre Milano
#191 of 429 in Milan
294 reviews
nhow Milano
#28 of 429 in Milan
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison Borella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Borella

Address: Alzaia Naviglio Grande 8, 20144 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli , Porta Ticinese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £135 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maison Borella 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel situated on the Naviglio Grande in central Milan. This hotel offers Superior Rooms and Junior Suites designed with in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maison Borella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing