We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, attractively furnished” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa di Leonardo

La Casa di Leonardo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa di Leonardo
Ranked #191 of 263 Milan B&B and Inns
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well located, attractively furnished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I read the reviews here, and was in two minds as to what to expect. I very much enjoyed staying in this B&B, principally because I found the atmosphere friendly and the décor beautiful.
Milan is not cheap. This is my third trip, and I was happy to pay 100€ and not get a dirty viscose bed spread and a leaky shower. Here is what to expect:
The owner, Gabriella, does not speak english, and neither does Valentina, the concierge / maid. You have to email and/or call to book, and this I did in French.
The instructions for finding the place and getting in were in Italian - good old google translate and a bit of puzzling revealed that 1) you need to let them know what time you are arriving so that Valentina can be in for you, and 2) when you get there you need to ring the doorbell to be buzzed in. Neither of these presented me with a problem. I was late and called the flat to say so, in broken spanish-italian, I don't know if she understood me, but she was there when I arrived!
You get a key to all the locks (front door and grille etc), but there is no lock on the bedroom doors (two fancy double-double-doors that make you feel like you're in a miniature palace). You are at the mercy of other guests' honesty, but Valentina is there, and I decided to be relaxed about it. I stayed (alone) in a double with private bath. There are only 3 bedrooms, the other two I believe share a bath. The house was clean, as was the private bathroom.
The 'double' is two singles pushed together, which has been the case for every 'double' I have slept in in Milan.
There is a luxuriously decorated sitting / eating area for the guests, which would make a great place for relaxing in between the hectic bustle of the city (next time i'm staying longer and making the most of it). There is supposed to be WiFi, I think, but Valentina and I couldn't communicate well enough for me to work out why it wasn't working.
Milan is noisy, and in a historic building, the glazing is going to be rubbish. I always take earplugs, and slept well on a not-overly-hard bed.
Breakfast was the usual inedible plastic italian brioche and rubbish toast, nicely presented, at a communal table. I will not let me put that off from staying again - Italy isn't really known for its breakfast! I will find a local pasticceria for next time.
I liked this place for the decor, the fantastic 3 m high rooms, the lovely tall windows, the beautiful old wood floor and the overwhelming feeling of elegance and homeliness.
It is 50 m from the Malpensa Express, 3 metro stops from the Duomo, and I loved it. The photos do not do it justice, but it's difficult to get a good angle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisachamonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

This is the first complaint/review I’ve made, but I want to ensure no one else gets stuck in the same position. After making a reservation with one of the well known online sites I was surprised to arrive and find this bed and breakfast hidden within a residential apartment block with no outside indication it as B&B. Following assistance from a taxi driver, a neighbour in the same apartment block and the security on the building I was able to confirm we had the correct address and it was used as a bed and breakfast but no one was in during the check in time outlined in the reservation.
Later that evening following two phone calls to the number on the reservation, some help with translation and a phrase book (no English is spoken) I was informed the Bed and Breakfast was closed as the owner was out of town (even though I clearly had a copy of a reservation with me). Unless an email has slipped through my junk folder I have received no contact warning me about this issue and I was therefore stuck in Milan after the tourist offices had closed without accommodation (Whist I did find somewhere else I had to pay significantly more and it was more of a rush to get to the last supper the next morning as it was in a different area).
I might have just been unlucky, but I’ve yet to receive any explanation/apology and don’t know exactly who was at fault (agent and/or B&B), but I just wanted to make people aware there is currently a communication problem somewhere here!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank blondey421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Situated in Milan downtown, 50 mt far from the train to Malpensa airport and 100 mt far from the red line underground (the one to Fiera Milano City &exhibitons) in an ancient and nice building, the apartment is a real surprise: beautiful design, different and original rooms, managed by a very kind woman. Rooms are quiet and in general the rate is good.
Really suggested for those coming to Fiera Milano and also for tourists (its position is very comfortable)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Charming ancient B&B, excellently located in the heart of Milan, close to the minor (and silent) train station Cadorna (well connected with Malpensa airport). It is managed by an incredibly nice Italian woman, available at any time. The rooms are simple but large and originally decorated, as is the entire apartment (except the bathroom). The breakfast is nicely served, but is quite poor. Sleeping requires a strong commitment as you lay on ridiculously old and thin mattresses placed on hard cheap single beds.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marks_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Mokinba Hotel King
Mokinba Hotel King
#323 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Palazzo Delle Stelline
#192 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#104 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Bonaparte Suites
Bonaparte Suites
#62 of 263 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Atellani Apartments
#58 of 263 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Leonardo

Property: La Casa di Leonardo
Address: via Giacomo Leopardi, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 263 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing