We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, very tiny rooms”
Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Milano Scala
Ranked #26 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, very tiny rooms”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is a very nice hotel with great service and very nice rooms. The location is awesome too. The only setbacks are the very small rooms. The bathroom was nicely appointed and it has all the amenities. Breakfast was great as well. They give you 3 free hours of internet. Room service was good but a bit expensive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJCiccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    263
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
70
204
67
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
470 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is a contemporary hotel in an old building on a busy, although not main road. Its not a big place and had a nice looking bar an adjacent to the reception area. Restaurant looked very small and not that welcoming to be honest, probably because it was located toward the back of the hotel and was windowless. The rooms are very small, but had everything you would need for a short stay. I had a non smoking room with balcony on the third floor, inward facing which made it very quiet. When I say balcony, the inner rooms shared a balcony/walkway all around the courtyard. Nice, but what with no windows other than patio doors to open, I thought this was a security risk. Still, the air conditioning worked well so no need to open any outside doors. Room had a safe, large double bed, flat screen TV with movies, multiple language TV and internet use – which is free for the first 3 hours. The bathroom had swish modern fittings, hairdryer, bidet, great double-size rain shower and bidet. Nice toiletries also. The best bit of the hotel is its very hip and happening roof top bar with views over the city and the Duomo, a 10 minute walk away through the Galleria. This bar had a great selection of tapas type dishes which you could nibble on whilst you listen to the resident DJ do his stuff. Initially, he provided background muzak, which I suspect was cranked up somewhat as more and more beautiful people arrived to enjoy the venue. Nice place. All in all, a nice hotel to spend a few days and enjoy the delights of Milan. Would consider staying again, as the location was good, rate was reasonable and included breakfast with hot and cold choices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
266 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

after researching Milan hotels for weeks, I had decided on where I wanted to stay and finally started on price. Milan in VERY expensive and this hotel price was great for the location and 4 stars. 3 blocks behind La Scala and thru the Galleria to the Duomo. 3 blocks from the Beara district and all the great restaurants. The only minor issue I had, (which I had with all the hotels I stayed at in Italy) was the air condition barely kept the room cool and the pillows were flat and hard. don't know why italians can't find good pillows and mattresses.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank tcakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I cant believe in 2011 a new 4 star hotel in the hearth of Milano still has single bed rooms, by now every new hotel has always double bed for single use.
Anyway my reservation stated "letto matrimoniale" (double bed) , turndown service, complimentary bottled water, Coffee/tea maker : disappointing experience I did not have anything of all this I paid for.
No free internet wifi

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The location is fantastic. Very close to all the shops! A short walk to a metro station.
10 min on the metro to the main train station. I guess for Milan this hotel is not too expensive. The service level could be improved! I shared a room with a friend. The rooms are not big, but clean and well equiped. The roof terrace was not open when we were there. I also think it is a good business hotel. All the banks are very close to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanja00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Hello!!! i have stayed in scala milano..The single room is quite small. I think is the smalles single i have ever visit in my life! Single bed and very small. U think you are in a cabin of a boat!! > Strange smell in the bathrooms sometimes. Generally speaking the location was great and quite clean. The boufet is quite ok!! in a small area.
The most strange had happend in the BAR!!!! THIS HAS BEEN NOTICED!! we sit in a table with my friend and the waiter came and tell as..You should move to other table because this is dirty!! He was bored to clean table!!! And it was light dirty..!!! To bored!! we ordered 2 drinks ..it was about eleven at night. The both waiters they dissapiered for 30 minutes..left as waiting all that time!!! Finaly they came with drinks...Tired we went to sleep..!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl80Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMS-Manager, Direttore at Hotel Milano Scala, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Madame,

we are deeply sorry that you had to experience such a poor service at our Bar, as you have described it.

Despite this, we would like to advise all travellers who read TripAdvisors comments, that in the evening of Tuesday, February 22nd , Bar Prima Donna has played the starring role in the official inauguration Party which started at 7.00 p.m., offering live music entertainment, a rich buffet and the partecipation of almost 250 guests!

This exceptional “situation” will be unique throughout the year and therefore the inconvenience that may have arisen from the event, for example, the Bar area not perfectly neat and tidyly set up at 11 p.m., as usually it is instead, during all year around, was exceptional as the event!

With the hope that you will be visiting back Hotel Milano Scala, we warmly invite you to contact directly the General Manager for your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Hotel is ideally located Via dell'Orso, a stone away from La Scala and The Duomo square and in the heart of Milan's fashion and design district (via Brera, via Solferino...).
It is not a cheap hotel but in Milan is an expensive city when it comes to hotel and you also pay for the location.

We were with my wife in a superior room, whose dimension are very reasonable, overlooking the inside yard, hence very quite (even though a little bit dark, even though we were on the 3rd floor). I would advise not to book a room which is on the street as via dell'orso can be very noisy at night, especially during the week-ends (I have lived 5 years in Milan in the past in the area).
Rooms are decently equipped (however no free Wifi access which is a shame as it is now standard in most hotels now) and the bed is very comfortable.

The personnel is very kind and helpful. The breakfast (included in the price) compares very well to the standard italian hotels, and offers a continental as well as UK breakfast. The breakfast room is pretty small (10 tables max.) so I guess that when the hotel is full it is difficult to have a table immediately at rush hours (it was not the case when I stayed as it was during a week-end, jut before the Fashion week).

Overall, the hotel is very nice and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMS-Manager, Direttore at Hotel Milano Scala, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Dear Sirs,

we would like to thank you for your kind annotation and we reply to your comments as follows:

Hotel Milano Scala offers to all Guests 3-hour free Wifi Internet Access and this service is stated in our website and with reference to this topic, we suggest you to read through the letter written but our Guest “Captpablo Jan 26th 2011” on Tripadvisor. In this letter, the Guest’s commentary consists in an appreciation of the free Internet Connection, (Guglielmo/Fastweb) offered by the Hotel Milano Scala, considering the service offered as an added value.

Our breakfast room is not the only space where the breakfast is being served; as you have correctly deduced, when the Hotel Milano Scala has to face moments of high occupancy, a second space is being set up in the ground floor to be conveniently used during rush hours.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to have you as our Welcomed Guest again in the future, we remain

Sincerely Yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 428 in Milan
771 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
594 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 428 in Milan
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Property: Hotel Milano Scala
Address: Via Dell'Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing