We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Milano Scala
Ranked #27 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

A charming small hotel, superbly located right in the middle of everything in downtown Milan. As there was a taxi strike - we were especially happy about the location, within a walking distance to many attractions, nice restaurants etc. A very nice breakfast and lovely staff added to our positive view. The only let-down was the tiny little room, way too crowded for two friends, and the uncomfortable beds.(Do not miss the aperitivo in great bars such as Noon and the Bulgari hotel.)

Room Tip: We discovered (too late) that our friend stayed in a bigger room.... should have asked to be transfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    254
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
69
190
65
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were absolutely thrilled with this lovely little boutique hotel where the staff were completely delightful. We arrived on a busy weekend and we had made a mistake with the booking and mistakenly booked a single rather than a double room. The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful and apologetic( even though it was definitely my fault) and not only managed to find us a small double room( no way near as small as Parisian doubles) but brought a bottle of wine and lovely tapas to the room as a sweetner. They continued to be wonderfully helpful and cheerful recommending 2 amazing restaurants locally and generally being efficient and smiley. The room was on the small side but beautifully decorated and the bed had very soft high thread count luxurious linen and everything immaculately clean . Really a very enjoyable experience! unfortunately we slept late in that gloriously comfy bed and missed breakfast-our fault again !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Located between the Scala/Piazza Duomo and Brera - so perfect for sightseeingm culture and atmosphere. Very friendly service, good breakfast. The hotel chose a music theme as its concept - just the right balance to add character and without being exaggerated. A very nice touch was the live classic music played at breakfast - while the harp was much better than the flute, and also better adapted what ears want to hear at breakfast (how about trying oboe instead of flute? harpsichord?) The huge bathtub is nice, but not practical - difficult to get in and out, plus the plug system is tricky, and for the jaccuzzi function the bath needs to be very full to operate properly. Still, nice touch. Rooms were functional with good storage space.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We only stayed here one night but I would choose somewhere else next time. The downstairs area is chic, the staff are helpful and friendly and offer free wifi including an Apple tablet computer if you need. Space in central Milan is obviously more of a premium than outside the centre but for a double/twin room it was small with little space between the beds and the other furniture. Our room needed a serious repaint with loads of scuff-marks on the wall. The design of the rooms including bathrooms is borderline kitsch - not sure whether it is a character boutique hotel or a state-of-the-art wannabe with its boast of zero CO2 emissions. 4 star? More like 3 star. The hotel was full when we stayed so people who are there to visit the financial sector, shopping and central sights will like it for that reason, but I would rather stay in a 4 star chain or a little outside the centre to get a bit more space and comfort. Try Grand Visconti Palace instead for the same price but four stops away on the metro.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent two nights at the Milano Scala hotel and it's hard to find anything to criticize there. The only irritating thing was that the (very friendly) guy at the reception wasn't able to give us a room rightaway, although we had booked and prepaid via booking.com - apparently, all rooms in our category had been given away already. We finally got an upgrade to a junior suite which was fine, although smaller than you would typically expect a suite to be. Nice bathrooms, great beds, prompt housekeeping, balcony (although useless for us as it was raining all the time). Breakfast was also very good with a buffet and a guitar player making nice music. Location is excellent, just a few mins walk from La Scala and the center of Milan, as well as underground stations. The only drawback is the price, it's not a cheap hotel, but for what you get it didn't seem overpaid also compared to prices for other hotels in Milan.

Room Tip: As high up as possible, as there are balconies offering a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thearndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

i spent three nights here in November 2011. The hotel is new and very attractive. The service is friendly and excellent, and the restaurant is good. My room was very comfortable and quiet. Best of all is the perfect location, a quiet area only a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takamatsu
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Newly established clean hotel run by friendly people, very conviniently located for typical milanese holiday, taking a peek at la sacala, awed by Duom , una passegiata through Garellia, shopping in Montenapoleone. You will be happily exited.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mahanamahana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#25 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#8 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#10 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Property: Hotel Milano Scala
Address: Via Dell'Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing