We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Average Everything Else”
Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Milano Scala
Ranked #24 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for about 3 days as part of a 9 day holiday trip in Italy. Location was fantastic - very central and close to everything. Wasn't too crazy about anything else... service was OK, but it always felt like they were rushed and needed to get on to someone else, Menu was limited and the food wasn't great, and the rooms were indeed small.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller11nNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Just checked in and am so disappointed with the place and service that I'm writing this review from the room!

Rooms are small with signs of wear - marks on the all from bags, finish coming off the wood counters in the bathroom, etc.

Beds are small twins with low thread count sheets that chafe.

Be very aware the amenities are also not as promised:

Their roof terrace is closed "for the season". It's April 26.

The "gym" and "spa" consist of 3 machines and a massage table cramped into a tiny basement room.

Service at the front desk is very bad. The receptionists English is poor and they insisted on charging us extra for a second person in a room with two twin beds. They said it was 50 euros extra but would only charge us 30, then said they could go no lower than 20 euros. Paying for a second person and bargaining reminds me of hostels and pensions I used to stay at when backpacking in Europe years ago, not some place that claims to be 4 stars and charges for it.

Do yourself a favor and skip the disappointment and frustration of a stay at the Scala.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank bigdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMS-Manager, Direttore at Hotel Milano Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Sirs,

we very seldom come across such a negative comment like yours and we are so disappointed that we needed to despute your words as soon as we entered the office..

Your arrival at the Hotel has been preceded by the payment of a travel agency voucher, which quoted the reservation of a room for one night for one person (.please check your voucher), but there were two of you and you obviously claimed a double occupancy room.

In Europe, we are keen on helping our Clients, even during moments of very high occupancy (Hotel fully booked) and facilitate the procedure in case of such a mistake due to a wrong reservation.
Despite this, we do apologize for our sales habit in submitting an extra charge for the second unexpected presence.
At the beginning the official extra charge submitted was of € 50 (ca. 60US$)
Then, thanks to our front desk agent, who spoke “poor English”, but who had sensed your discontent, the extra charge has been reduced to € 20 (ca .26US$ )

We would like to thank you for your understanding and would like to add as follows:

• The standard room assigned was of the type you booked.
• Our sheets are made of pure linen, a custom that you can find in Italy only in superior category Hotels
• The 2 beds-size is cm 90 x cm 200 each
• Our Gym consists of “6” different machines ( not 3..)
• Our spectacular roof terrace will be opened on May 9th e will be closed on October 4th
Because of the continental weather conditions the use of this open air space on the eight floor has been deeply appreciated by our clients and has been defined really “ wonderful”.

Yours Faithfully

The Hotel MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Prime location, the building and amenities are brand new. Rooms are stylish and comfortable, although European-size (small). Staff speaks good English and is very helpful. Nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just back to Canada from 2 weeks in Italy, including 5 nights at the Milano Scala. The location of Milano Scala is very good and convenient to everything - on the edge of the Brera neighborhood which is very nice, so don't forget to walk north too. We received a fruit basket on arrival in our room which was very nice.

We booked a Junior Suite, which was very small for that designation, even by European standards. The room had basic furnishings with a nice desk (mostly occupied by a TV monitor) a very small table, two chairs, bed and small wall-mounted TV. The balcony was narrow with a wall not a railing, so views out were only sky and there would be no point sitting on the narrow balcony, even if there was chairs out there, which there were not. The marble bathroom was very nice.

The breakfast was a basic buffet and quite good, in a small lounge/buffet setting with live harp music every morning - LOVELY indeed! Serving staff was descrete and friendly and by day three remembered our beverage choices.

The service at the front desk was cordial and efficient and we were always warmly greeted coming and going. The housekeeping service however, was the weakest point of the hotel. We had very few hangers (those aweful ones designed to prevent them being stolen) and called down for more - a real challenge but we eventually got a very mixed assortment of various hangers. The dirty dishes we used to eat from the fruit basket stayed in the room for two days, until we finally put in the corridor in frustration. The room was never made up the same twice and it seems there is a level of attention that was lacking. We received a knock on the door one evening, even though the "Do Not Disturb" sign was out...only to have the staff member walking away down the hall when I opened the door.

I don't want to be too critical because it was overall quite nice, but for the price (Milan is expensive), we have experienced better surroundings and better service elsewhere for less money. The price gave us expectations that were not met.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMDOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel is located very close to most attractions in Milan. The staff was very helpful, and assisted us in making some local calls. The room was comfortable. It had a door that opened out to a small walkway outside. The breakfast was outstanding. Free wifi was also available.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

At first we were disappointed with our Junior Suite: it was too small to be called a suite and, with the sofa bed open, was even more cramped. The heating was impossible to control from the room and we were too tired to do anything other than open the doors to our snow-covered balcony that night....but it was still too hot and the noise kept us awake from the traffic on the cobbled street outside. However, the next day we were upgraded to a lovely suite on two floors and had the heating switched off. Bliss! The breakfast was exceptionally good, the staff lovely and the position absolutely perfect. I felt it was overpriced for the original room, but would go again because we could walk almost everywhere with la Scala and the Duomo a few minutes walk away. It was a really wonderful holiday and the hotel played an important role in this.

Be warned - the beds are as hard as orthopaedic ones!

Room Tip: Room 602 is a small junior suite. 104 a very nice suite on two floors. Space is at a premium in such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The staff was helpf ul, very friendly and knowledgable. The location was superb. A very short distance to the historical parts of Milano. The rooms are very nice and clean. The standard room was very small, but confortable. Good breakfast, just a standard.
The parking is difficult to reach and often full.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 431 in Milan
1,463 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 431 in Milan
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#44 of 431 in Milan
222 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 431 in Milan
834 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Address: Via Dell'Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £173 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing