We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Milano Scala
Ranked #26 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A modern hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Enjoyed our stay here in July 2012, close to the Duomo and other sights.
The musical accompanyment at breakfast was interesting, a good breakfast, lots of fresh chunky cut up fruit too, easier for people on the go.
Downside, our double room was small, as is the feel of the hotel. Bar prices high, paid 40 euro for two drinks, I recall a scotch and an apertivo, oh and you have to pay cash at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cate999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    259
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
70
196
66
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I often find that hotels in large Italian cities can be a little hit and miss but after following a recommendation for Milano Scala I can announce that my search for a good hotel in Milan is over. The staff a friendly, the room is comfortable, I can actually work the air-con, breakfast is pretty good and the location is central yet quiet.

Following on the issue of hard pillows, I would like to add that indeed they are. That is, one is very hard and I would assume only Barney Rubble to enjoy that one. The other one of the two you're given is moderately hard and I like firmer pillows.

I love the touch of the harpist at breakfast. Only cynics would say, 'Use that money to invest in a breakfast chef and serve up some omelets', but I quite like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeeMan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is perfectly located, close to the Brera, La Scala, the Duomo and the shopping streets. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast excellent by Italian standards (the harpist and the pro secco are a nice touch), and the service courteous. The hotel makes a big deal of being eco-friendly, zero-emission (whatever that means); so I was surprised to find that I couldn't turn down the heat in my vastly over-heated room. I asked reception three times to turn it down, and they went through the motions, but without making any difference. I compared notes with a Dutch guest in the bar, who said 'I've just taken to opening the window' -- a solution, to be sure, but not a very eco-friendly one. This seems like a trivial complaint, but it's really unpleasant to wake up sweating because of the temperature of the room. What are blankets for?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Arlington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near the duomo. It is clean and the staff are extremely friendly. I will definitely stay here on my return trip to Milan in the spring. I want to note, the single rooms are small, but absolutely adequate. The fitness center is also small, but again adequate.

It is not a "luxury hotel", but it definitely served the purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in October and liked it here very much. The staff are friendly and helpful, the decor is attractive and modern, the beds comfortable - as someone mentioned, the pillows are indeed very hard but you only have to ask and they will give you a soft one! Very nice breakfast, plenty of coffee and pastries and fresh fruit, with not-too-loud live music, a harpist or accordion player, it was delightful. If you have a room at the front you do hear quite a bit of traffic - it is a busy road, but then it's very central and well-placed for shopping etc. Would certainly return here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmicham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This one couldn't really be more conveniently placed, if its opera, shopping or culture you're after, the location of this hotel is perfect. This is also one of the best value hotel deals you can find in the city - I've been going to milan for years on business and often felt ripped off by many of the hotels i stay in, but this one beats them all hands down - great sized rooms, incredibly friendly and efficient staff, a fabulous little restaurant, and one of the nicest bartenders I've ever met in a milan hotel!
It definitely has more of a business traveller vibe here, so may not be a good option for families or longer stays, but for those nipping in and out of the city, I cant recommend this option highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayester74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

- very central (10 min walk to the Duomo)
- for opera addicts: you can leave the hotel just 20 min before the curtain...
- for power shoppers: easy walk to and from the shops in case you want to take your stuff to the room before lunch/dinner
- rich buffet with tasty food for breakfast --> in a cosy but elegant atmosphere (live classical music)
- very clean and comfortable rooms with "green" concept.
- helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: choose an upper floor - e.g. 6 (lovely view from the balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCenterentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#10 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Property: Hotel Milano Scala
Address: Via Dell'Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing