We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location -lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Milano Scala
Ranked #26 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location -lovely hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of Hotel Milano Scala for our two night visit to Milan at the end of June. The hotel is in the heart of the Brera neighborhood, which is accessible to everything the city has to offer. Out visit was built around a night at the opera for my 65th birthday, as La Scala was on my "bucket list'.

We found our room to be typically small,, but nevertheless pleasing and with top quality bedding and mattress. The front desk staff was always welcoming and friendly. Most impressive were the beautiful common areas, where one could take the included breakfast.The buffet breakfast selections were way above average and beautifully presented.

All in all, we would recommend the hotel for business or pleasure travelers seeking a city-center location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkinnyGuides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    254
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
69
190
65
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Overall a smart hotel , even if the rooms are rather small . It is well located and stylish . However , our stay was overshadowed by the sullen and unwelcoming attitude of the hostess in the rooftop bar . We had especially chosen this hotel because it boasted of a rooftop bar but when we went for early evening drinks before going out for dinner we were told that all of the tables were reserved ( by non-residents we suspect ) which wasn't a problem but the hostess struggled to hide what a nuisance we were for trying to get a drink . Shame that such a small thing spoilt our stay .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is right around the corner from La Scala, the Galleria, the Cathedral and via Spiga.
Just north is the Brera neighborhood, great for restaurants and people watching.
Our room looked out over a vine covered courtyard above the restaurant, so it was quiet as well as charming.
Wonderful service at the front desk and the Concierge was equally helpful.
Highly recommended hotel in a big city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolyninLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

You air conditioning is controlled by the front desk.

I did not realize that every time you leave the room your air conditioner setting are adjusted to the default position (OFF) (your key needs to go into the slot by the door but is actually controlled by the front desk manager). Therefore I just woke up in a hot sweat and had to call down to lobby to get it turned on again.

This is pathetic.It Summer time in Milan. Its 90 degrees outside.

Do not stay at this cut rate hotel. (Cut rate in the sense its E165 a nite for a non air conditioned room). If you go out touring or to lunch or dinner, that's a lot of phone calls to the front desk.

PATHETIC.

Room Tip: Maybe the Winter it does matter that the rooms are not air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BizTravelerFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you are looking for a decently priced good hotel in the heart of Milan, then you cant go wrong with Hotel Milano Scala. It may seem pricey, but it is Milan after all. How cheap can it get at the center of the city?

The hotel property is good, parking is available at an extra cost, and the rooms are decently sized & modern. The Duomo is 5-10 mins away, just a couple of streets away. There is plenty to see, shop & eat around. Its a safe bet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masifk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Full Breakfast is good and essential .rooms are clean congy and have king beds,views from Balcony +++, Bahrooms lookited lie they were from 5 star hotels ,just divine! Room service for food till 10,30 pm youth in the same street there are three divers to devour ,,,2 x Italiano & I is called Wasabi where there is daily Happy Hours from 6-8 so eat all you can and there dishes are yummy
Late night walks to Brera markets are only 5 m away ..... A must see! Another 5 minutes takes you to armani & bulgvari hotels....... Try their spa shops or a meal . Sublime !
Hotel Staff is amazing , take ownership , speak good English and always a warns smile awaits eps from Luuanna . I cannot recommend this hotel enough esp for those who are foot explorers and want to avail of top ten things in thir bucket lists buy with little time . Thankyou Milano Scala

Room Tip: Try balcony view with courtyard for good sleep otherwise try the city view,,,,its gorgeous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

spent 4 nites here.great location.

for milan- reasonably priced hotel- quite expensive to visit this city.

very comfy room- bed was also comfortable.We had a door opening to a common outdoor terrace - would have preferred a private terrace but there was rarely anyone else out . no chairs though.

Bathroom was relatively spacious and shower pressure was good.

breakfast was very good.

front desk was very helpful.

liked evreything but didn't love everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 431 in Milan
742 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,016 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#24 of 431 in Milan
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#10 of 431 in Milan
284 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Property: Hotel Milano Scala
Address: Via Dell'Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing