We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Five

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Five
Ranked #77 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Good location near the Metro. There are restaurants, a mcdonald and bars within the vicinity. Rooms are quiet very clean and modern. The shower could be a bit small for the larger sized ppl but acceptable. Room/lobby has wifi. This place is value for money. I also walked back from duomo as i had time which was also a nice experience. It was not near but walkable. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    247
    40
    7
    4
See reviews for
97
169
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here our first night in Italy. We are a family of five so we requested two rooms close together, which they granted. Both rooms were ready, even though we arrived a little before check-in. The rooms were very clean and certainly large enough for the time we spent in them. Everyone in our group slept well and really enjoyed the wonderful fresh breakfast the next morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations, directions, arranging taxis, etc... The hotel is close to the Metro which made it easy to visit the sights we wanted to see during our short visit. However, I'm not sure the location would be as ideal for a longer stay. I felt the room size was fine for our needs, but if you're planning to spend a lot of time in the room, it may not be adequate. All in all, this was the perfect choice for a quick stay in Milan!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent 4 nights here in July and took advice of other reviewers and chose a room to the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. Our room was small but functional, and we did have a small shaded balcony which was nice to sit on in the late afternoon. The bathroom was tiny with a sink more suited to a doll's house; however I don't go on holiday to spend much time in the bathroom so it was not an issue. The breakfasts were more than adequate and the hotel staff very helpful. The hotel is well placed for either walking to the Doumo, a twenty-five minute walk or by taking a tram or the Metro, with stops within 100m. The area around the hotel has many fine places to eat for a variety of budgets. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you want to escape from the madding crowds in the city centre and like something quirky.

Room Tip: Room with courtyard view are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stopped for one night in Milan before heading to the lakes. This hotel was functional and stylish. Room was teeny tiny but modern and well furnished and even had a tiny balcony too. Breakfast was very good by italian standards, very fresh. Staff were helpful and courteous. Hotel was well situated and it only took a short metro trip in to the centre, about 10-15mins, stop is 5mins away. parking €15 per night, expensive, but it is a central hotel. Overall would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is very clean and modern. The breakfast is good and plentiful. I loved the handmade cappuccino instead of having to use an automated machine. Location is great, just a block away from the metro. I needed a Laundromat and asked if there was one nearby. The clerk did not know, but she went online for me and found one just three blocks away. She even found out what time it was open until. Very helpful! The Laundromat had instructions in both Italian and English. Overall, a good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuts4TravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Extremely good location, great value for money, friendliness of the staff. The conditions of the room were perfect. As for the breakfast, I saw some 4 stars hotels offering a service which is not even comparable to the one proposed by hotel Five!!! This is definitely a great one. Just a minor remark - the wifi in the room was not working particularly well. Overall, it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seb3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Milan can be an expensive city for hotels, depending on the time of year, so we were happy to stumble upon this exceptionally good value hotel just south of the Duomo.

We arrived at Linate Airport and took a taxi which was quick and only cost 16 Euros. Although the cab driver didn't know the hotel, he found it with ease.

We were checked in quickly and efficiently, and given a city map and shown the location of nearby amenities and transport.

Our room was a good size with a double and single bed. The bathroom was quite small, but adequate, and more importantly was new and sparkling clean. In fact, the whole hotel felt quite new. Our room faced the courtyard and was quiet during the day, and although we could hear people walking not he level above in the evening (not part of the hotel) it wasn't enough to bother us.

Front desk staff were very friendly and able to answer our questions about using buses, trams etc and were able to make good suggestions on getting to places. It was helpful for me that many staff had very strong English skills, although my wife speaks Italian. We were also advised of good traditional style restaurants in the area, and not being a really touristy area, we were able to find good quality and good value food, as we'll as supermarkets etc nearby.

The location of the Metro connects you with ease to the rest of Milan, and the stop is very close to the hotel, although it is possible to walk to the historic centre on foot if you are happy to take a stroll.

Breakfast was quite good, and although the breakfast room was not very big, we always got a table with ease.

This was a really pleasant, great value hotel and we would use it again next time in Milan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Palladio
#64 of 428 in Milan
389 reviews
UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
#133 of 428 in Milan
494 reviews
Canada Hotel
#33 of 428 in Milan
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#26 of 428 in Milan
454 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#63 of 428 in Milan
362 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Five

Property: Hotel Five
Address: Corso Lodi No 4 | angolo Via Salmini, 20135 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Milan
#20 Family Hotel in Milan
#24 Spa Hotel in Milan
#36 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Five 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, Hotel Five is an elegant designer hotel in Milan located near the Porta Romana subway station, next to the wellness center “QC Terme Milano", and convenient to the Duomo, the Bocconi University and the contagiously lively Navigli areaThe metro station nearby is on the yellow line, providing links to the historic centre, Milano Centrale Train Station, and the trendy Navigli area.Hotel Five is just off the limited-traffic C area. Milan's Designer Hotel Five features roomy and comfortable soundproofing rooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV, all personalized just like the best designer hotels, reflecting the sparkly style of this property, recently built. Everything of this allows Hotel Five guests to experience an extraordinary and comfortable stay, supported by top service and a young, professional staff.A varied American-style breakfast buffet is served every morning from 07:00 to 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing