We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently situated and friendly service”

Calimero Cafe & Cucina
Ranked #6,215 of 8,239 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Conveniently situated and friendly service”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This restaurant is in the same building as the Hotel Romana Residence and is really handy for a quick snack, a leisurely glass of wine or a full blown meal. We enjoy it as it has an outdoor area where you can enjoy an aperitif, listen to the music, read the paper and if you so desire smoke a cigarette. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    10
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Tx.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Must've caught them on an "off" day.....”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I can hardly agree with the reviews giving this place high or good marks. It was recommended by our nearby hotel (Hotel Canada) as a very good, trattoria-style place for dinner within 2 blocks of the hotel. The place looked rather run-down and seedy inside when we found it, but we went in anyway. Service was poor, dinner menu selections were average to poor, but the quality of food was nowhere what I would expect from a trattoria-style cucina/cafe. The house wines, both red & white were OK & the prices for the wine were good, and the only food I can say was the best were the cold meats & cheese platter we shared for an appetizer. I ordered risotto for my primi & it was covered with ice cold grated provolone when it came out. The risotto was undercooked & the sauce was unimaginably plain. The secondi piatti was even worse. The waiter described an entirely different chicken dish than what was served to me: a dry, rubbery scallopine of chicken with grill marks on it, no seasoning whatsoever, garnished with a slice of lemon, a piece of lettuce & radicchio. I'd also ordered a side salad which I requested be served BEFORE the risotto, but it came out with the secondi. At least it was fresh and more effort seemed to have gone into it than the secondi itself. Definitely CANNOT recommend this for Americans because we can get much better Italian in the U.S. than what was served here. The food was terribly overpriced for the quality served.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stumbled upon this hostelery on a very wet Friday evening and were pleasantly surprised. It was located close to the hotel we were staying at (Uptown Palace - see separate review). The service was excellent, despite the fact that the waiter didn't speak a lot of English and we don't speak much Italian! Very nice Bruchetta selection and Tiramisu. We sat in the covered outside area which was very dry and cosy despite the rain.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank debsgreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A great little find!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had dinner here with my husband and his parents and we had a very nice dining experience. It was casual, yet elegant. The food was very good and we all our enjoyed our meals, from the risotto to pasta dishes. Prices are reasonable too. Staff were kind and attentive. We sat outdoors under a covered area. The ambiance was quite delightful. We would go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really nice indoor/outdoor restaurant”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had a nice evening here, ordering different kinds of food. It's possible to sit outdoors, underneath a roof, in the summer with about 25 degrees in the evening this was great. Food was nice and service very kind and adequate. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tliebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calimero Cafe & Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Calimero Cafe & Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing