We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bobbins!”

Ristorante San Carlo
Ranked #6,226 of 8,089 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$26 - US$104
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
manchester
Level Contributor
201 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Bobbins!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

the one place we didn't do our homework and check trip advisor first (we got a bit lazy as we didn't have much time). it's expensive and pretty poor too. for instance: i had the salted cod which, at €18, i would have expected a bit more than some mush in the centre of my plate. the missus had the veal. this was 'alright' and came with a few slithers of potato. NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bagg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    13
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trap....dont go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

One of those typical tourist trap...expenisve....below average food...only go there for pastry or coffee, location is great though...

Helpful?
Thank Ivan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grahamstown
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The service was unfriendly, the glasses were dirty from the dishwasher, he mixed up the order and brought our appetizer after the meal. My risotto was acutally quite good, but my partners pasta was not really what we thought we ordered. I think there's much better restraunts in Milan so I wouldn't go back to this one, even though it has a nice location. Also it's kind of expensive for what you're getting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la_lea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,766 reviews
1,083 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Made a mistake and stumbled into this place, or rather, was led here by a waiter while we were looking for a place to eat. Nice location in the duomo shopping area and good outdoor seating. Waiter was curt and unfriendly though I noticed he was nicer to female patrons. All our drinking and wine glasses were dirty so obviously they don't take pride in the business. My friend's 22 euros veal dish was overcooked though he specified medium rare, and didn't taste very good. My spaghetti was undercooked. Naturally didn't order dessert. Near the end of our meal, the waiter was clearing the next table and he cleared the water in the glasses and splashing the contents onto the floor next to me, getting my shopping bags wet. I've never seen that, even at the dirtiest food markets in china or Thailand. Will hope never to return

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Both the pizza (which is served on a slice of tree, believe it or not) and the tortellini in this place were delicious. Portions were small but the taste was great. Price was okay considering the location of this place, would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante San Carlo also viewed

Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Ristorante San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing