We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location and lovely small hotel”
Review of Palazzo Segreti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Segreti
Ranked #114 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights during a holiday in Lombardy and were very pleased to have chosen Palazzo Segretti. Tucked away on via Tomaso but just off the bustling via Dante and only 10 mins from Duomo, the location for a tourist is perfect. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Our room (15) was very comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic.
Breakfast was fine and served in the small communal area in the lobby. I suspect this could get a bit crowded at busy times (maybe a few more smaller tables).
Great double glazing and air-con ensured a lovely peaceful sleep on both nights.
I would recommend this place as a great to base yourself for a visit to Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

thanks for taking the time for your review.
Has been a great pleasure to have welcomed you at Palazzo Segreti.
We hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Francesco Tollis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

Great location! Very nice room, the staff is very friendly. There is a constraction in front of the hotel, so a little noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you soon at Palazzo Segreti, you are always welcome.

Best Regards,


Francesco Tollis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The hotel has the perfect location just a short way to the duomo. It's a really nice small hotel in a beautiful old building. Breakfast was very good and the staff was really helpfull and friendly. There is no place to park we came in the centre by train and left the car outside.
We will stay there again we liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aicha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We hope to see you soon again at Palazzo Segreti.

Warmest Regards,

Francesco Tollis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I chose this hotel after I'd spotted the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and after extensive research on the internet for a reasonably priced boutique hotel in central Milan - I'd nearly started dispairing about the lack of choice of hotels that seemed to fit the bill, most of the accommodation in Milan seems to be aimed at the business travel and either very over priced or chainy and unexciting. From the moment my fiance and I arrived at Palazzo Segretti we were met with a warm welcome, and nothing was too much travel - the front desk were able to help us get tickets for a football match, call up about a tour of La Scala, recommend restaurants - everything to help us make the most ofour 3 night stay. Our room was small but light and airy with high celings, the bed was blissfully big and comfie, and the bathroom was a dream (we were in a superior double so there was no bath which only comes with the suites I believe). My only slight gripe was that it overlooked the street and was a bit noisy when the rubbish was collected in the wee small hours, but that could happen anywhere. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing at first though improved as our stay went on, when fruit salads started appearing in the selection & we also realised it was possible to ask for some things not set out e.g. eggs - it would be good if they could make this clear from the start that this is an option. But these are minor details. I know the hotel has not been open long and it's obvious from the reviews on here that it will be a huge success - I only hope we can get in next time! We actually tried to come back for a couple of nights a week later at the end of hour holiday in Italy but they were fully booked! By the way the location couldn't be more central - a stones through from the Duomo and right off one of the main shopping streets so temptation is not far away beware!

Room Tip: The suites sound lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MdmeBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

thanks for the time spent on your detailed review.
It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the service and philosophy of Palazzo Segreti.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Francesco Tollis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Location, location, location! but with a nice room, great design, clean and with helpful staff! between the Duomo and the Castello Sforzesco, therefore a great base to know the city!
However, it can still improve in some areas (note that I would still return to the hotel!) such as:
- a better black out (curtain) system for those more sensitive to light.
- hair conditioner (simple, as they have everything - sewing kit, etc - but forgot that)
- critical: for those coming by car there is no parking space (1 does not count). There is however a garage nearby, but might be closed in some hours, I managed it and it was national holiday. At about EU32,00 per day (if you get out it re-starts). So having partnership with them would help!
- shift the breakfast time up to 11am ou 12pm (could start later if they wanted). It's clear that people prefer to rest a little bit more and they do not need the kitchen anyway (people arrive 10am sharp for it). Should have (as we are in Italy and it's basic) cheese local if possible and ham (prosciutto). After asking they provided the cheese. Also better bread options would help and it's a 4 star. Hot chocolate is great!
- No charge for late check out! I have stayed in lot of hotels around the world, not a single one charged for a late check out! either you can provide your guest or not! they were charging 20% almost of the daily rate for it.
- Offer restaurant option and guidance on shopping and museums, as we did not know monday and sunday everything would be closed. And the unique suggstion was a nice one on friday!

+ The only reason for the suggestion is that I know they can develop and reach a better service! as the staff was really helpful, the design is modern, clean and have a perfect location, difficult to match on such standart.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhlpenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itpalseg, Direttore at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear Guest
Thank your for time reviewing your experience with us. It will help us improve. As your probably noticed, we do offer different concept of hotel, in all ways.Breakfast times are very flexible, but still need a start and ending time. Previous experiences showed that people would attend breakfast on Sundays five minutes before closure (12:00). Because our breakfast room is in "time share" with our lounge it needs to be setup at a certain time. In fact, like stated your our room directory, breakfast can be served in the room at any time you wish like at your home. Parking in the city center has always been an issue. We offer one parking place in front the hotel which has to be booked. Public parking is possible nearby, they are two and you choosen the cheapest one (like everybody else) but is closes at night and on Sundays. that is the reason why it is cheaper. Our breakfast concept, even If I consider it evolved and more developed that any other breakfast in town, apparently it is not producing the desidered results, and you are not the first one making a point out of it. We are already changing it and most likely we will bring it to a normal breakfast, like anywhere else with no hassle. We opened 40 days ago. A lot of work is still to be done. We addded some top end hand-made pouf's to the room furniture and now we feature also a business center. We will keep working to repay your trust in us. Regards
Marco Ferreira - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

There is nice presentation on the web site, short but clear messages to the customer, minimalism in all its best but also in all displays. It was very easy reservation, nice voice without irritation after the third call (I wanted to finalise reservation and leave the office...). Even the transfer from the airport were proposed.
Really I am not sure about the other rooms, but the room number 01 seems not very easy to stay. It looks like a well especially at night. By the end of the stay (on 7th day) the floor was covered by dust. There was the permanent deficit in soap and shower gel which normally refreshed in all the hotels on daily basis.
For breakfast you could find the narrowest choice I have met before, i.e. bread & butter, cold milk with flakes, jam & honey, yoghurt, and fruits. If you are in a diet or want to lose your weight it would be nice. For male it is a real disaster.
It was necessary to pay by card - no possibility. Because of inconvenience caused the manager promised 5% discount if we pay by cash. In a few days he rejected his promise.
Finally, we were invoiced for some purchase (6 euro) in the bar which we were not aware as well as the regular personnel of the hotel (no date of the purchase, no name of the product)
Wish you to try if you decide to get your own opinion

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Efrosinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itpalseg, Direttore at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear Guest,
Nice to read from you again. I believed that we went through all your issues during your stay, where the only thing that was not clear were the bar charges (and promptly voided). Housekeeping performance, according to your wife was flawless. The points you mention in your review are new to me and I will take action if necessary. Credit card payment was not possibile the first day of arrival as you well remember, but in the next following days your credit card was not working properly.We cannot be held liable for this and claiming and discount based on this seems goes beyond our culture of doing hospitality. In fact you have preannounce and online review. They are always welcome. I appreciate the time you took to write it. Warmest regards from the sunny Milan.
Marco Ferreira - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Myself and my teenager daughter stayed at this hotel for one night. We found this hotel last minute after a lot of research and we were very happy with it and in particular the staff. I was dissapointed in the choice of hotels in Milan on various hotel website, finding the quality, star rating and pricing not good. But after finding this hotel and communicating with the staff I was happy to proceed with a booking. We were offered the option of hotel parking at an extra charge via the website, which we selected, there was also other services available but we did not use them. We were told just to leave the car outside the hotel and the staff looked after it, but maybe they will organise secure parking close by once they have established themselves. We found the hotel easily via my GPS and the location was ideal, very close to the Castello Sforzesco and a few minutes walk from the Piazza Duomo. On our arrival we were informed this hotel has just opened two days previous and in fact we were the first guests, so there were workment still around and they were putting some finnishing touches to our room, but it didnt affect our hotel at all and in fact the staff went out of their way to help us settle in easily. They recommended a great restaurant around the corner. We had breakfast included in the price which was a good selection of bio products and included home made pastries.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for the confidence you've shown.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Palazzo Segreti.

Warmest Regards

Francesco Tollis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#25 of 428 in Milan
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#125 of 428 in Milan
703 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#39 of 428 in Milan
806 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#34 of 428 in Milan
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Segreti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Segreti

Address: Via San Tomaso 8, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Business Hotel in Milan
#61 Family Hotel in Milan
#93 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £183 - £752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Segreti 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosted in the splendid setting of an elegant old building in Downtown Milan, rises PALAZZO SEGRETI, a new hotel concept. Located in the heart of Milan, between the Duomo and the Sforzesco Castle, the ancient soul merges with a modern image, made of sophistication and elegance. Raw materials, soft lighting, precious parquet, vibrant colors but never excessive: an architectural project that wanted the feeling of a second home, focusing on tailor-made livings and intimacy of the spaces. An elegant reception area, which houses important works of art, where to spend pleasant moments, thanks to the Winery. 18 rooms, all different from each other, to find your ideal place of rest and intimacy from the bustle of the city. Ideal for business guests looking for comfort and modernity, but also for refined tourists, given the enviable location in the heart of Milan, just steps away from the fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Segreti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Segreti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing