We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place, but staff not very welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Segreti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Segreti
Ranked #131 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, but staff not very welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Palazzo Segreti is located just off Via Dante, you cannot be more central in Milano than this place. Great starting point for shopping or sight seeing.
The hotel has a 'secretive' charm, with its design of dark grey walls and floors, with indirect lights - it is different than the business hotels and the theme is well carried through. The interior of our room was colourful. The bed was very low, almost on the floor (not for older people) but for the rest it was all fine.
We had one issue, and that was with the heating. We were here in December and the bedroom was well warmed up - 24 degrees --- way too hot for us. I thought I turned it off when we went sleeping, but the room stayed hot. I did it several times during the night, until I called the reception hours later to hear that the room temperature is controlled centrally at the reception. They should tell that at check in
I read in many reviews that staff was friendly, but we felt not welcomed at all. Staff at check in was very grumpy and frankly just inpolite, and only when two days later other staff members took over the reception, we saw the first smile.
We travelled with a baby and we found the price of a child cot (30 euros per night) a record - never paid so much for a cot.
As to the breakfast - though in typical minimalist Italian style, the quality of ingredients on offer was very good and they were very fresh.
So all in all, great location, good breakfast, interesting design were the pluses. Grumpy staff, a strange heating system and the expensive child cot were the points for improvement.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wipama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for posting your experience and comments about your latest stay in our property and the service received.
For the entire organization is vital to receive feedback and suggestions from our customers in order to be able to put any remedies and amend any procedures, in order to avoid that such errors of form and substance may happen again .
I am sure that your feedback and suggestion will help us to improve our quality of standards especially in front desk department after talking to the person you mentioned .
We all look forward to welcome you again at the Palazzo Segreti to show you the improvements done.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    103
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
181
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed 2 nights in November, quirky sort of place but makes a change from the normal large hotels you find in the cities. Staff very friendly, rooms all clean and well equipped but did not have tea/ coffee facilities.

breakfast was a bit disappointing as this is buffet in the reception area, not much choice and as there are not a lot of tables you could need to wait for a seat. I would say the hotel would not suit families.

Very good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for choosing Palazzo Segreti of Milan and to have found time to put review on Trip Advisor.
We're so happy to read that you enjoyed stay here, we're trying every day to give to our guests the best we can to satisfy each customer.
Regarding our breakfast can be considered simple and genuine, every product is biological and come from high quality, we're putting new yummy things and we're sure you'll appreciate for your next trip in Milan.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Funky yet with real character. Palazzo Segreti would be the best overall hotel we stayed at during our 5 weeks in Italy.
Great staff, good breakfast with high quality produce - the juices are great and they make a terrific coffee. Great linen, towels and amenities really high quality. A proper double bed, not two king singles, and comfortable to boot.
Awesome position just off Via Dante and a very short walk to the Duomo and Brera area.
We were given some great restaurant ideas for lunch and dinner and they proved to be not just tourist restaurants, out of the way and frequented by regulars.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different have a look at each. Check their website for what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoot E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks to give us your positive review about Palazzo Segreti.
We're happy to listen you enjoyed stay here with us, hope to find time for another trip in Milan in Palazzo Segreti.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

This small hotel is located in the center of Milan. It is very charming and warm and it is one of the most pleasent hotel I have ever been in Milan. I would definitively recommend it. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is very good

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I enquired about room 6, a junior suite, as the photo on the website appealed. When I emailed to check availability I was told all the junior suites (6, 12, 18) were booked for the night in question. They did have the "unique suite" room 8 available for €400 (the website was asking €500 for the suite so it pays to email...). The design of the room may not be to everyone's taste (I didn't find the "greyness" of the images on the website hugely attractive) but the room is in good condition and fun enough for a night or two. The bath is splendid, the bed very comfortable (felt a bit like "memory foam" - not sure if it was), the minibar complimentary (it sounded like this might just be a policy for the suite). The staff were delightful, and the complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyTinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at PS last weeks for 3 nighst for a city trip. The location of the hotel is superb, staff is very helpful and friendly and rooms are lovely and just the right size.
Breakfast is very simple yet very tasty - the choice is limited but the quality is excelent.
The only problem I had was with the room doors which had very poor sound protection - you could hear virtually everything happening in front of the doors, regardless of how quiet someone tries to be. This caused several wakeing during the night, but everything else was just excellent!
The hotel is a bit pricy, but in Milan everything is expensive!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraZagreb_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for chossing our boutique hotel for you stay in Milan.
We want to say thank you we've found time to put a review on Trip Advisor, we're always wanting to know if our customer enjoy our hotel...
We hope to see you in Palazzo Segreti.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Palazzo Segreti is a beautiful hotel located steps away from Milan's Duomo church. We had a wonderful 2 night stay there during our vacation to Italy in October The rooms are beautifully decorated with contemporary furniture. While it can be a bit noisy if the windows are opened, upon closing them you hear virtually nothing. The breakfast was more than adequate with healthy as well as decadent sweet options. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to save pastries for us when we overslept and missed breakfast. Rooms are very clean and thoughtfully furnished. The bathroom is chic and comfortable and stocked with high quality toileteries. Free wifi works well in the rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crabs_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure for us to know that our philosophy has been well appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#75 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#26 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#114 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Segreti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Segreti

Property: Palazzo Segreti
Address: Via San Tomaso 8, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Business Hotel in Milan
#61 Family Hotel in Milan
#103 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Segreti 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosted in the splendid setting of an elegant old building in Downtown Milan, rises PALAZZO SEGRETI, a new hotel concept. Located in the heart of Milan, between the Duomo and the Sforzesco Castle, the ancient soul merges with a modern image, made of sophistication and elegance. Raw materials, soft lighting, precious parquet, vibrant colors but never excessive: an architectural project that wanted the feeling of a second home, focusing on tailor-made livings and intimacy of the spaces. An elegant reception area, which houses important works of art, where to spend pleasant moments, thanks to the Winery. 18 rooms, all different from each other, to find your ideal place of rest and intimacy from the bustle of the city. Ideal for business guests looking for comfort and modernity, but also for refined tourists, given the enviable location in the heart of Milan, just steps away from the fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Segreti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Segreti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing