We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Palazzo Segreti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Segreti
Ranked #105 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here over the Easter break. The hotel has lots going for it and a couple of failings. The hotel is of a contemporary style. I like a decent level of comfort and the room was a bit too stark for my taste. We stayed in room 1. The shower is in a cubicle in the main room and the bathroom is separate. You need to use the bathroom to brush your teeth etc then grab a towel cross the room and shower, (a note for the manager...there is no where to hang the towel maybe a hook outside the shower door?).

Positives: Location is very central, no more than 10-15 minutes walk to most attractions. The ladies on the morning shifts, very friendly and helpful. Beds are comfy, the duvet and pillows are from what I could tell man made, I prefer natural but they were comfy enough.

Negatives: Noisy, our room and from what some of the other reviewers have said, some of the others also, are not sealed or sound protected. Our room, Room 1, was next to the stairs, which has no covering so you hear everyone returning, heels on concrete until the last guest returned, 2 am on Saturday night. Also you hear all the chat from the lobby up to the rooms, I mentioned this to the very nice lady when we checked out and she comped 2 bottles of water from our bill. Breakfast is ok and light, not a huge selection with other choices available for an extra charge (eggs, selection of meats and cheeses etc). Night time Guy over the weekend was less than helpful. When heading out the first evening, I asked directly for a few recommendations of somewhere to have an Aperitivo, a Milanese tradition, he replied, just walk around the area behind the hotel. When heading out the second night the same guy was there again, I said directly to him, the area around the hotel has no real cafes and the area which was recommended by people we spoke with out and about was Brera 10 minutes walk away, it got to the point where I said..assume you have a friend that has never been in Milan...where would you tell them to go! we got 2 names. Please have staff that are willing to offer advice without your guests having to insist upon it.

With a couple of tweaks this could be a great hotel at the moment it's good.

Room Tip: Enquire as to which of the rooms are the least noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

It's the place to stay in Milano. Great location, great design. Sabrina the manager was very helpful; all the staff was nice, you see the owner Francesco looking into every detail. You can feel the family ran hotel spirit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is located in the center of Milan. It is very charming and warm and it is one of the most pleasent hotel I have ever been in Milan. I would definitively recommend it. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is very good

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Palazzo Segreti for your stay in Milan.
We've appreciated so much your review in Trip Advisor, positive and genuine.
All the staff hope to see you soon here, that's always a pleasure.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

First I have to warn that I did not stay in the hotel, I live in Milan and I have been there only because I saw that in the breakfast room there was an exceptional painting by Marco Cingolani, a well known artist. I asked the manager to see the rooms and it's exactly the kind of hotel I would like to find should I have to travel in Milan, modern, minimal, stylish rooms with wooden floors and the old brick wall painted but visible. Location as convenient as you can get at walking distance from absolutely everything and the plus of the attention for modern art with the amazing Cingolani picture I mentioned before.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank claudioborghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We've been staying in this hotel for a weekend. It's located in an old building right in the heart of the city. The Duomo and La Scala are just a few minutes' walk away, also the fashion district ("Berumda Triangle") and some of the best shopping venues of the city. The hotel is great for couples and not ideal for families with children. So if you want to get away with your spouse and have a quiet and romantic time, then it's perfect.
The hotel is furnished in a tasteful combination of old and modern. We had a junior suite on the first floor (room no. 6). In the night, there was noise from the street below a couple of times. It didn't disturb us really, but for sensitive people it might be a better choice to ask for a room on a floor above. It was quite a huge room, with a spacious bathroom and a stand-alone bath tube. It was clean and equipped with a high-quality king size bed. We also liked the organic cosmetics they provided (shampoo, body lotion, soap, etc. from a local organic brand).
Breakfast was offered in a relatively small but very stylish room adjoining the reception, featuring only 5 tables. We were lucky to catch the last free table. We liked the italian pastries, the organic fruit juices and vast variety of fresh fruit they offered.
The staff was attentive and very friendly. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Segreti very much.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room, then go for a room on the top floors 4, 5 or 6. Junior suits are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guests,
thanks for your precious and positive review in Trip Advisor.
We appreciated your attentive cure of details, like our biological cosmetics or our genuine breakfast, we like a lot when clients notice these particular things, we're also happy to listen that you enjoyed stay here.
We hope you'll visit Milan soon and choose again Palazzo Segreti for your comfortable stay.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a lovely place, very stylishly designed but calming. (The grey walls with the wood floors and the dramatic lighting makes you feel a little like you’re in an Armani showroom.) The staff are friendly and helpful, with good recommendations for restaurants and advice about transportation, etc. The breakfast is great, with delicious coffee and well chosen pastries, yogurt, cereals, meats and cheeses, and the locations could hardly be better: about midway between the Duomo and the Castello Sforzesco and just a few blocks from La Scala. I do think some of the furnishing decisions in the rooms favor style over function a little too much: It would be nice to have a desk or table in the room for people who want to work, and even a chair would be nice. But that’s my only complaint about this relaxing and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Client,
thank you for choosing Palazzo Segreti of Milan and for writing this precious comment about us.
We're glad you enjoyed stay here and we hope to see you soon..

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Palazzo Segreti is located just off Via Dante, you cannot be more central in Milano than this place. Great starting point for shopping or sight seeing.
The hotel has a 'secretive' charm, with its design of dark grey walls and floors, with indirect lights - it is different than the business hotels and the theme is well carried through. The interior of our room was colourful. The bed was very low, almost on the floor (not for older people) but for the rest it was all fine.
We had one issue, and that was with the heating. We were here in December and the bedroom was well warmed up - 24 degrees --- way too hot for us. I thought I turned it off when we went sleeping, but the room stayed hot. I did it several times during the night, until I called the reception hours later to hear that the room temperature is controlled centrally at the reception. They should tell that at check in
I read in many reviews that staff was friendly, but we felt not welcomed at all. Staff at check in was very grumpy and frankly just inpolite, and only when two days later other staff members took over the reception, we saw the first smile.
We travelled with a baby and we found the price of a child cot (30 euros per night) a record - never paid so much for a cot.
As to the breakfast - though in typical minimalist Italian style, the quality of ingredients on offer was very good and they were very fresh.
So all in all, great location, good breakfast, interesting design were the pluses. Grumpy staff, a strange heating system and the expensive child cot were the points for improvement.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wipama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for posting your experience and comments about your latest stay in our property and the service received.
For the entire organization is vital to receive feedback and suggestions from our customers in order to be able to put any remedies and amend any procedures, in order to avoid that such errors of form and substance may happen again .
I am sure that your feedback and suggestion will help us to improve our quality of standards especially in front desk department after talking to the person you mentioned .
We all look forward to welcome you again at the Palazzo Segreti to show you the improvements done.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#20 of 428 in Milan
776 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Clerici
Hotel Clerici
#182 of 428 in Milan
56 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#23 of 428 in Milan
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Segreti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Segreti

Address: Via San Tomaso 8, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Business Hotel in Milan
#61 Family Hotel in Milan
#86 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £181 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Segreti 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosted in the splendid setting of an elegant old building in Downtown Milan, rises PALAZZO SEGRETI, a new hotel concept. Located in the heart of Milan, between the Duomo and the Sforzesco Castle, the ancient soul merges with a modern image, made of sophistication and elegance. Raw materials, soft lighting, precious parquet, vibrant colors but never excessive: an architectural project that wanted the feeling of a second home, focusing on tailor-made livings and intimacy of the spaces. An elegant reception area, which houses important works of art, where to spend pleasant moments, thanks to the Winery. 18 rooms, all different from each other, to find your ideal place of rest and intimacy from the bustle of the city. Ideal for business guests looking for comfort and modernity, but also for refined tourists, given the enviable location in the heart of Milan, just steps away from the fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Agoda, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Segreti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Segreti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing