We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Ranked #330 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient place for travellers”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this place for one night. It is great place to stay for a night . you get what you pay for. its doesnt have any AC. so you may have to keep the windows open in summer. Price is very good. location is great. few restaurants opne late night around this place for those who arrive late night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dombivli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    203
    225
    102
    116
See reviews for
79
233
48
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Djibouti, Djibouti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed three days started 15 April in Idea Milano Italy, located near Milano train station and close to city centre, also very close to many bus stations , it seems it has been renovated recently , modern , new , well furnished and designed , WIFI cost 11 Euro per night, and it was very strong . TV LED screen.
For the price compared to a lot of other places we found we were happy with this accommodation, the price was the best as we searched early , but it still considered high.

The most noticeable thing is that , the hotel and the rooms are very very clean , well equipped with neat comfortable bed , sheets towels etc. although its very small.
Out of the hotel many Italian restaurants plus Indians and Asian are almost every where , those who fond of shopping , it will take you only 3-5 minute walking to browse enjoy go around the Italian stores for the top fashion Italian made.
The bad thing is that , nit like any other cities in Italy its hardly to find Bars around easily, this was very strange as we walked long distance trying to find bar to drink coffee , and we managed to find a restaurant who agree to serve us coffee as strangers in the city.
The food is okay , not like other Italian cities like Bologna Firenze (Florence ) and Venice , to me it was better to eat in the hotel.
Duomo was walking distance , you can take the tourism bus also .
Any time I will be in Milano , I will choose to stay in Idea.

Room Tip: All the room are very good , and there was no noise as of the location , but you can choose to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haifasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived for a 3 night stay on the 5th May. The mini bar was not working, which we reported and which was replaced immediately. I could not for the life of me get the TV working. Had to call reception. The TV had not been used for a while, input settings had reset. You could only change the input on the actual unit not the remote. I was glad the handyman showed me that as it reset a couple of times during the stay. Next day I ordered the 7 Euro per device wi-fi, which was poor when I first attempted to use it between 8-11pm, could hardly load a page. It was a lot faster when we popped back into the hotel for a breather at around 2pm, when presumably no one else is using. By the way I don't just sit around at hotels all day on the net or watching TV, but at the end of the day, if I want to use either of those forms of entertainment, and I have paid for them, then I expect it to be available to me without having to ask again. I had to make this point to the staff when I requested a refund on the non existant wifi service, which they did refund to me, but only after lengthy questioning about why I didn't report it at the time.
Actually, I was sick of having to report so many problems without feeling I was being a nuisance to the staff there.
The location is excellent, unfortunately there is a big construction site next door but it didn't affect our stay at all, from what I can gather the workers are done before dinner time.
The room itself was smallish, bedding ok. The shower was terrible, no consistent hot water. The breakfast was limited and only just adequate. The breakfast staff weren't the friendliest that we have encountered.
The reception staff do their best with a hotel that is aging and that is only just hanging in there in terms of it's 3 star rating. The younger reception staff were vibrant and enthusiastic, the older more senior staff seem tired and sick of the complaints about the hotel.
The manager made the point when we checked out that our problems were fixed the moment we reported them, and to be fair this was true. My point is that our inconveniences were preventable errors and should not have happened in the first place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickyBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We researched for hotels in the Centrale part of Milan with our requirements being that it provided parking and had free WiFi. We ticked these as requirements when using booking websites. The Idea Hotel was chosen for as it indicated that it met both these criteria - but when we got there we were told that it has no parking, (which was available a few streets away in a public carpark). This left both my wife and I grumpy at the start of our stay and added a further Euro20 to the cost of the night's stat (would have been more in the normal public car park but we did a deal with a private car park operator).

Our final gripe would be that WiFi was also advertised, and there was no suggestion that it was not free. However when we asked for the details and password we found that a further Euro7 per 24 hour period was required and this for a throttled down service apparently) which we did not partake in.

However once we got over this we found the room was very good for the price. Breakfast was adequate, if boring, but hey it was breakfast. There is presently a building site right next door to the hotel, so the quiet room erupted into building site racket at 6.30am that even the double glazing could not diminish.

In this day and age of electronic communication, hotels should be providing free WiFi and if car parks are advertised as being available they should be (also if these are being charged for this should be clear as well).

Room Tip: Check where your room is due to the building site next door - a high rise building that is only abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked Hotel Idea for a night, as we were flying out of Linate early in the morning. We chose it mostly because of the location (right in front of Milano Centrale) and the price.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, there are no luxuries and the rooms are small and basic but it's perfect for a quick stopover.
Breakfast is quite good with a decent selection of foods, however there is no hot breakfast.
They charge you for wifi which is annoying but there are a lot of free wifi zones around Milan so don't bother paying.

Room Tip: If you are given 507 make sure they fixed the shower door. Ask for odd number rooms for a quieter ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in May. We picked it because of its location near the Milano Centrale Station, not because we wanted a fancy hotel. Therefore it met our needs. We were able to check in a little early, though the wifi is not free. The room, bathroom and breakfast were basic. I recommend staying here if you need a decent option close to the train station due to travel and don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent4699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

rooms are too small with moisture in the wall. Bathroom with no shower and curtain so water goes allover ! Lift very small , only for three persons with no bags.Internet access too expensive (7€)
Lobby and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaSoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#144 of 427 in Milan
574 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#149 of 427 in Milan
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#75 of 427 in Milan
215 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#214 of 427 in Milan
433 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#86 of 427 in Milan
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Milano Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Property: Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Address: Via Napo Torriani 28, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly San Carlo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel Milano Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Hotel Milano Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing