We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel / Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Ranked #331 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel / Good Location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel located just a short walk from Milan Central Station. Approx 10-15 minutes walk into city centre. Hotel reception staff very helpful and provided map with useful information as to where to go for shopping etc. I think that they hotel was fine for the price paid. Room was comfortable and was fine for a city break. Bit nosey due to building works etc but then again what can you expect with a hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    202
    221
    100
    115
See reviews for
73
231
48
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The location is newer the train station and there are lots of sketchy people around here. Based on this alone I wouldn't come back.

The hotel really ticked me off - they charge 7 euros per day per device to use air (the internet). This is really nickel and diming guests. Our TV's didn't work and we asked for somebody to come and look into it. Nobody ever came. The toilet button you needed to push was broken and they didn't come for over 2 hours. Enforce fixing it. The front desk lady was rude and indifferent. The breakfast was marginal.

Overall not impressed and I will never stay at one of these Idea hotels again. I would consider to do so a bad IDEA!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Idea Hotel is perfectly positioned between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 of 'Milan's Malpensa Airport. The hotel is not hard to find but GPS is recommended to save any hassles. The checkin staff were friendly and helpful and hooked us up with Wifi promptly. Rooms are comfortable, and clean if a little shabby and knocked around, e.g. Chipped paint in the bathroom and luggage stand had a loose baton, but the bed was comfortable and we thought this was an ideal hotel for anyone flying from Malpensa. A shuttle is available to the airport at no extra cost, unlike many of the other airport hotels at Malpensa and the staff will organise and book a taxi pickup if you are arriving at a time when the shuttle is not operating. A perfectly reasonable ristorante is part of the complex for a meal at night time. Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight, had to search for adequate cutlery and tables were not cleared promptly, but given the volume of people they put through and the relatively low cost, we found this a very good hotel indeed and will return on our next trip through Malpensa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It has a clean room and downstairs is clean as well as ok breakfast. Itll work if you are just staying the night and leaving onto somewhere else on the next day. I recommend it for that, as its also good value for money.

Room Tip: Just make sure to ask for a room far from construction, because there is a building they are cosntru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I spent just one night at Hotel Idea Milano Centrale. It is located just a few steps away from Milano Centrale railway station. Rooms are fairly good decorated and furnitures are modern. Bed is comfortable and breakfast is fine. Welcoming is great and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronten, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived very late night without any hotel reservation. This hotel was guided by local guy. It was nice and clean hotel though we spent only 1 night there. We stayed in double bedroom but there was only one pillow. We called reception so many times but nobody answered. We were exhausted from the flight so we did not want to go down and ask for it. The bathroom is very very small. Location of this hotel was good, breakfast was great with variety of food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsansanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this place for one night. It is great place to stay for a night . you get what you pay for. its doesnt have any AC. so you may have to keep the windows open in summer. Price is very good. location is great. few restaurants opne late night around this place for those who arrive late night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dombivli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#147 of 428 in Milan
565 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#77 of 428 in Milan
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#149 of 428 in Milan
524 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#87 of 428 in Milan
803 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#210 of 428 in Milan
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Milano Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Milano Centrale

Property: Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Address: Via Napo Torriani 28, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly San Carlo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel Milano Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Hotel Milano Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing