We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous ! location location location ! Truly 5 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #8 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous ! location location location ! Truly 5 star.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Grand Hotel is one of the few Old world Luxury hotels in Milan.Upon Entering you feel the ambience of the real Italian splendor although the Hotel remains warm and the service very personal.The staff is very warm,helpful and after just 1 day the already know your name.We took the regular room facing the courtyard ,the room itself was small and simple but the bathroom was very large and beautiful and well appointed.The breakfast was a bit on the pricey side (35 euros) and when we ordered the breakfast it came so quickly and was very good.We did take breakfast at the Armani Cafe right beside and it was very good and inexpensive.Location was wonderful,Monte napoleone just across ,the scala was on the same street and the Galleria .
Everything was wonderful except the room service for dinner one night,pasta was really a disappointment considering it was a 5 star hotel.Internet is not free and very expensive,such a pity.I would definitely come back and highly recommend the hotel to well travelers with a good budget.

Room Tip: go to the Armani hotel for breakfast it is half the price and just as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    127
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
126
281
54
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Both my wife, a fashion designer, and myself, a doctor, are seasoned travelers. Our stay at The Grand Hotel et de Milano was delightful, from the warm welcoming to the wonderful room with very elegant period furnishings. The location couldn't be better, within walking distance of La Scala and Monte Napoleone. All in all an outstanding Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firenze
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Well, the hotel is very nice. Of course if you like modern hotel, it's probably better to choose another place, we can discuss if it's really a five stars hotel, but it worths to try. However there are couple of choices that I think are wrong. Considering the price, the fact that the breakfast is not include (and expensive) is a strange choice especially in Italy. But what I really think ridicolous is the frigo bar prices. 8 Euros for a small bottle of water. Let's that I was travelling for business and I didn't have any problem with the bill, but there are things which are offensive. So paying a total of 870 euro for 3 nights, you cannot get a basic need like water unless you want to pay a ridicolous amount of money. You don't pay this amount of money in the best luxury restaurants and hotel in the world, do they think their water has long life properties. Five stars doesn't mean that people that come in has no idea of price, I hope that the opening of the new Armani hotel in front of it, suggest the management to do something to review this crazy pricing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcello68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, comments and experience while staying at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

I have been very sensitive to your note with regard to the cost of the full American breakfast. I understand that the cost for this service may be regarded as high, however a recent investigation showed that the cost of breakfast is in line with other 5 stars Hotels and in most of the top properties in Milan is not included in the room rate. The full American breakfast at € 35.00 per person includes, on top of the variety of items , a guest choice of eggs freshly prepared. I will suggest you for the next stay to book our Breakfast Inclusive Rate, that with only € 25.00 of supplement compared the Best Available Rates, you will have the full buffet included in your room rate. An à la carte menu is also available for breakfast for those guest not wishing a full option.

Our in room minibar is provided with a wide selection of drinks, alcoholic or soft and are priced in accordance to our fellow 5 stars Hotels, yet it is correct to say that only a very few Hotels put their soft drinks (only) at their guests disposal free of charge.

We trust that despite those issues we will meet your understanding and that we will have the pleasure of your return visit and I would be particularly honored if you contacted me personally for your future stay mpagetto@grandhoteletdemilan.it

Yours sincerely,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in Grand Hotel et de Milan for one night. The location is very central close to Montenapoleone metro station and the street with the same name. The d'uomo, best bars, boutiques and shopping locations are at walking distance.
Our room had a balcony, and we had a a view on the bar located on the corner opposite to the hotel.
in general you can hardly find a quiet hotel in Milan city center, but the isolation was great, so we could sleep very well. Bed was very comfortable and I never had so many pillows on the bed.
Room and bathroom were very clean, we didn't miss anything there.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupazzzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Absolutely fantastic. From the moment I pulled up in the car I was greeted both with enthusiasm and importance. On entering the reservation staff greeted me by name and had my early check in ready to go. I was upgraded to a Junior suite which was very nice. I had the the Assistant Manger welcome me and escort to my room. The room was well appointed and I thought the location of the Hotel was very good. My only disappointment was that I only had time to stay there for 1 night, but will be back next time I'm in Milan. Thank you again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris13Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here recently for a long weekend after being recommended by friends. I was greeted on my arrival by friendly helpful staff. The hotel is stylish and elegant and my room was situated in the inner courtyard which was very quiet. The bathroom was large and spacious and had a lovely walk in shower. In a previous review they had complained about the tv and internet but i didn't go to Milan to stay in my room as there is so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel ie the Duomo, La Scala, restaurants and fantastic shopping!!
The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and served in a bright sunny room and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. In the evening i was joined by friends and we had drinks in the comfortable and elegant bar. I loved my stay at this hotel and would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room dont have one facing the street - ask for one in the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Grand Hotel is a great combination of old and new world. The rooms are lovely and have all the modern conveniences. The 24 hour room service is great if you're working international hours. I was there the week after Fashion Week and they were still having events at the hotel. It is a stone's throw from great fashion stores. You are in the heart of Milan and can walk everywhere. It was a great base from which to tour a beautiful city. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauaidudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#9 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Property: Grand Hotel et de Milan
Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing