We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and enjoy Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #10 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and enjoy Milan”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Old and well placed hotel. Professional and chearfull staff. Good bar. A beat noisy in the early morning due to road encounter. Better ask for the room with the windows on a pedestrian area.
Excellent place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travaller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.com.

I am pleased to read such gentle words and I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

Nevertheless I am sorry if the room was too noisy, and if you wish to send us a private email we will make sure that at your next stay we will assign you a quieter room.

Looking forward to your return visit,

Kind regards,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    131
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
127
287
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a luxury stay, the check in was quick and very efficient by Mr Donati, he was excellently presented and spoke perfect English and was very polite, if only every hotel had staff like him. All the staff I dealt with in general were polite and helpful. The concierge were very helpful in directing me to tourist places. Unfortunately I didn't find the cleanliness of the room to be perfect.
I will most definately be returning. Thankyou

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welcome2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

I am happy to read that the service of our staff at the Front Desk was friendly and was up to your expectation.

Thank you also for pointing out that the room was not perfectly in line with our usual standard; we have shared this information with our Head Housekeeping, in order to correct these inconvenience.

I certainly hope that you will visit us again in the near future so that we can renew our utmost care and attention. If I can be in any of your assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time.

Yours sincerely,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Location - Great if you go shopping for high fashion for this hotel is at one end of Via Montenapoleon.
Room - Very small for the price (although we had a special corporate rate deal). Not claustrophobic. But it feels like a London bed and breakfast. Large marble bathroom though. Inner courtyard room on request, so not much outside noise.
Service - Nice and professional. No European aloofness at all. Concierge told us where to buy bottled water at sensible prices (0.60 euro per liter) so we water guzzlers won't have to pay 8 euros for a 25cl one mouthful bottle from the room fridge. It turned out an place like that is few and far in between.
Next time to Milan we would give careful consideration on how necessary it is to stay this close to city center and paying so much for such small rooms. A local resident told us outside of city center good meals are less than half the price. I don't know about that. We went to Bice and there were lots of locals too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alremotemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you to have chosen the Grand Hotel et de Milan for your recent visit.

Your kind comment about the service was very much appreciated and I took the liberty to inform all employee of your gentle words.

We are sorry that the accommodation provided was not quite spacious and comfortable; the Grand Hotel et de Milan is an historical building which has preserved features and space configuration of an 18th century Milanese Mansion: as a result , some of our accommodations are in fact of reduced size. Our double “Classic” category rooms are approximately similar in size, nevertheless some are larger; while we always try to assign the most comfortable accommodations to all our guests, when the Hotel is heavily booked like on the occasion of your recent visit we have to assign our less spacious accommodations to our guest who have booked with corporate rates.

We have made a note to provide you, on your future stays should you decide to honor us with your return visit, a free upgrade to the best available accommodation at the time of booking. On top of this we will always pay attention to provide you with the largest accommodations available among the category of your choice.

Thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Room has classic decor, very clean, excellent location, good room service. The device was ok...no bad, but could have been better (my room was missing toilet paper when I checked in and I had to cll twice to get it, my continental breakfast was missing fruit ec)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC102005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel et de Milan and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.com.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments but most of all we would like to apologize for our oversights in service. Please rest assured that we have treasured your comments and have reviewed our service procedures to avoid similar distractions in the future.

I certainly hope that you will visit us again in the near future so that we can renew our utmost care and attention. If I can be in any of your assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Located only a few minutes walk from La Scala and the Duomo, this historic hotel exudes charm, courtesy and unostentatious service. The Don Carlos restaurant has a great atmosphere and serves authentic Milanese cuisine of the highest standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and it is an oasis of calm. Our room was conservatively furnished and comfortable, with high quality fittings and an efficient, quiet a/c system. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard on the Fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjtNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We spend long weekend in Milan and this hotel has the best and most convinient location to many top attractions. All in 5 to 10 min walking distance to La Scalla, famoust Duomo and Shopping arcade with all restaurants and shops. Hotel is old, but very well refurbished. We were upgraded to suite on top floor that was very comfortable with large bathroom. Restaurant Don Carlos is exellent and we spend every evening at cozy and famoust Jerrys bar. Service was very good, especialy all the concierge staff they made great recomadations and managed the impossible:- Tickets for Gisele at La Scala and viewing The Last Supper immediatly. They also recomanded climbing up on the roof of Duomo and restaurant at department store Reminiassente, where we spent lovely sunny afternoon enjoing delicious lunch and views of spirals of the Duomo. I have stayed in many hotels in Milano and this is my preffered one.

Room Tip: Suites are better choice, regular rooms that i saw as well are small. But thats usual for old europe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It' right on the Golden Triangle and a five minute walk from La Scala and the Duomo. It is an old magnificent building, that has been extremely well renovated up to modern standards. It keeps the old atmosphere (don't forget that the great Verdi died there and Maria Callas was a frequent guest), without any compromises to modern amenities.

Our room (419) was ridiculously small, although very well furbished. One interesting thing that I liked a lot is the old cupboard facade that has been preserved. The bathroom was a surprise: one of the best that I have ever encountered. Classic in style, but modern in all its amenities. But the bedroom was so small that the bathroom door touched the bed when opened!

Breakfast is mediocre and you expect more from a five star plus hotel. They even charge you more for american style breakfast. The restaurant area that it is served is kind of dreary.

Staff is OK. Upon arrival, we waited for 20' because we were earlier than the normal check-in time. As we waited in the lobby, they didn't offer us something to drink, as usual in other five star hotels, but we were compensated by the willing main desk employee who showed us to our room.

One problem that they have and that they must resolve is the Wi-Fi connection that is available for ONLY ONE device per room, which is very inconvenient when you have a smartphone and a tablet or a laptop. They told me that they are trying to resolve it. I hope so.

Two remarks: In a hotel of such standards you do not expect to carry your luggage from the taxi to the lobby (because the doorman is talking to someone else), as we did. And you expect that they bring your luggage in your room, not someone else's, as they did with us.

And finally, the offer that we booked included free Wi-Fi and newspaper. The paper NEVER came and WE had to ask for another Internet voucher after the first 24 hours. But these are minor problems.

Definitely I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for courtyard view rooms, since they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyros F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to learn that you have valued our location and history of the Hotel, as well as its design and classic atmosphere.

We would like to apologize for not extending an invitation for a drink while you were waiting for your room to be ready upon your arrival; our sincerest apologies also for the poor luggage and doorman service. Your comments have been useful and have been shared with the staff concerned to avoid similar situations in the future.


We would like to make a note on our records to ensure that you will be given a more comfortable and spacious accommodation on your next stay with us; please feel free to provide us the name under which the reservation was made, to enable us to add the adequate information for the future.

Your comments about the Internet and Wi-Fi service are perfectly understandable; unfortunately we are contractually bound to a private company until September 2013. We will surely manage from there on the system directly and accordingly we will be able to offer the Wi-fi service free of charge and limits.

We wish that you will visit us again in the near future, If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,


Antonio Cailotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Property: Grand Hotel et de Milan
Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing