We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel perfect location,welcoming staff, but not business friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great for shopping, the Scala, restaurants, everything nearby, cross the street and you are in the famed and unique Montenapoleone. Across the street is Armani, hotel, store Nobu.

This great hotel insists on charging for Internet, and an inferior service of Swisscom, with repeated dropped lines, endless wait to connect to sites, and innumerable need of logins, with contorted user ID's and passwords. This is unacceptable for CEO's and staff at business meetings, the price addition of at most of 2% of the room rate, spoils the other 98% of the bill. How shortsighted managements are at this hotel and others in short changing their business clients with poor Internet service, and spoiling what should be a perfect and beautiful stay.

Room Tip: I like inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaBetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is extraordinarily expensive for our budget but since we regularly go to Italy we thought "what the heck." The quality of the hotel and the location didn't compensate enough for the cost. We've stayed in many Italian hotels that are much nicer and less expensive. Milan has a high cost profile, but we wish there had been room for us at the Hotel Grand Duca di York. We know it has a rather silly name to our ears, but it is ideally located and very nice.

Back to the Grand Hotel, there is nothing to really brag on. The food was okay, the room a little worn and the service a little stuffy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77,027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel et de Milan. We had two connecting rooms. The staff service was outstanding and the accommodations were fabulous. We stayed in two other Leading Hotels of the World in Italy on this trip - one in Rome and one in Florence. This hotel was by far the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I went back to Grand Hotel et de Milan after a long hiatus. I had liked it a lot 15 years ago and then it became run down. It's renovated rooms were just new enough, maintaining the feeling of Old Italy. Service was mostly very good, pleasant, and warm. And the price beat any other in the area with larger spaces. The location is perfect, steps from Via Montepeleone and all the best shops, La Scala and other top hotels. Breakfast buffet stupidly overpriced unless you are a buffet lover and will eat to your value. Room service food is disappointing, probably in efforts to please varying cultures and tastes. Only other complaint is mattress way too hard and Italy has a problem with overly starched sheets......
Definitely my Milan home for future.

Room Tip: I had rooms on either side and found no noise problems with windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmievNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. We are delighted that you have once again decided to stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan, and that your stay was overall positive.

I understand that price for the buffet breakfast may be regarded as high, however a recent investigation showed that the cost of breakfast is in line or even lower with other 5 stars hotels in Milan. The full American breakfast at € 35.00 includes, on top of the variety of items, a guest choice of eggs freshly made. Thank you so much for your kind suggestion of using less starch when ironing the linen.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit to Milan hopefully in a near future, I remain.

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Recently came back from a weekend Milan.

The overall experience was amazing, everything felt so natural, well oiled machine.
Top notch service.

Breakfast was first class, where both selection and quality stand out.

Thank you so much for making our stay so beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mwroka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan, and we thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon again at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

Kind regards,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

After one year, we have returned in this very good hotel. I have not changed my mind it is always perfect. The welcome was great. At each level, the staff was really kind and helpful. The restaurant Don Carlos have a carefully prepared food. One again, they gave us some excellent fish. Sure, we will go back.

Room Tip: The room 118 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. com.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your last stay with us, and we are extremely happy to have been able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

at the airport heading to Milan for a work trip having paid 663 euros for a night in this hotel, and the hotel phone and say 'sorry someone's been sick in the room your supposed be staying in so you can't stay now'. Amazing ! No chance of them upgrading, finding me a different room or anything. Just 'sorry, you can't stay'. Don't bother I say, you might end up like me on route to Milan without anywhere to stay !!

Stayed: April 2013
5  Thank Beckleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpage, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guests,

We would like once again to apologize for not being able to accommodate you on the occasion of your recent visit to Milan. We faced a very embarrassing and uncomfortable situation when the guest who was occupying the accommodation we had reserved in your favor, informed us in the afternoon that due to his weak health condition he was not in a position to depart and absolutely needed to extend by one more night. As the Hotel was fully booked due to the Furniture fair in Milan regretfully we had no other alternative accommodations available that evening and were left with no other solutions than to immediately find an accommodation still available in those days in Milan.

Please believe that we sincerely regret this situation and would like once again to extend our sincerest apologies. We hope that you will not hold this past situation against us and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you at the Grand Hotel et de Milan in a near future..

With reiterated apologies and thanking you for your kind understanding, we remain,


Antonio Cailotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,113 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,769 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £291 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing