We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #10 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“super hotel”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

it is hard to fault this hotel. it is perfectly situated for the shops, galleria, duomo, la scala etc. and the staff could not be more charming or helpful. we did not have lunch or dinner there, but the buffet breakfast was fine. it is eye-wateringly expensive, but so are all the top hotels in milan.
the "classic" bedroom was a bit on the small side, but i would return again and again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    131
    44
    12
    7
See reviews for
128
301
55
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had a fantastic weekend in Milan staying at this hotel. The location is top, the reception and staff very attentive and friendly and the rooms (although a bit small) are clean, cozy, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is equipped with wonderful high-class utensils.
I would definitely come back to this elegant hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovi900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here a number of times when working in Milan. Absolutely fantastic, rooms stunning, fantastic service, wonderful location.
The bathrooms are marble heaven and spacious, the suites are very spacious and the staff as attentive as you'd expect from an hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streety_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hotel with history, lovely location.

Great touches that made the rooms feel so comfortable and homely. beds and therefore quality of sleep amazing, lovely pillow menu! Bed turned down in the evening, slippers put out by the side of the bed and room tidied for when you return from an evening out. The little things really count when you are away from home on business and this hotel knows that.

Great shopping area too, dangerous on the old bank balance!

The staff can't do enough for you, highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizza1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want to indulge some luxury to yourself here is a good place to start in Milan. A great location in Milan city center at the end of Via Montenapoleone and close to la Scala. We got upgraded to the Brazil emperor suite that was superb. A scent of history.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tero C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for one night after a couple of days in Lugano and before our flight home back to the States.

The pros: The hotel is historic and gorgeous. The location is amazing--1/2 a block from all the best Milan shopping. The bell staff was gracious, helpful, and cheery. The room we had was nice--faced the inside "courtyard" and was quite, sizable, and comfortable. And the bathroom was huge.

The cons: I found the front desk staff a little dismissive and uppity. The lighting in the rooms (I guess because it's an old place) wasn't great. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant, the menu looked mediocre.

All in all, the location is what sells this place, although I'm sure there are friendlier places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed twice in 2008 and and 2010.
I had a quite nice classic room in 2008, remembered that it was classy and neat but when I visited there again with my friend in 2010, we got the small room (modern taste) facing the street. We were pretty tired with the early morning flight so we wanted to take a nap but was too noisy (tram and car along the street) and asked the hotel for the other room. They took us to the much spacious and quieter room but it smelt a bit smoky (not too bad but felt like it used to be the smoking room).
The hotel is close to Duomo, Scala, and Nobu. Walking distance to Cracco Peck, the wonderful restaurant as well. I always have a great dinners and lunches experiences at the restaurants right around the hotel. During the daytime, the area is quite busy, but in the night, its very quiet.

One night in Nobu (clubbing area), I had my wallet stolen - I rushed back to the hotel around 2-3 am and the staff told me I could use their PC and phone to sort out (cancel credit card etc), which was super helpful.

We also had great snacks/drinks at the hotel's bar area.

Overall, fun and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erika-lux-miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,629 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
603 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Property: Grand Hotel et de Milan
Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing