We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely and Elegant”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Principe is a lovely, elegant hotel that is well suited to the well heeled traveler. The rooms are lovely and extremely spacious by European standards. Our bathroom was wonderful and much larger and brighter than we expected. Beds and linens are first rate and the Acqua di Parma bath products fantastic. We also appreciated their free shuttle service to the Duomo. Note: We stayed in the old building and do not know what the newer Towers rooms are like-- that building certainly looks less charming from the outside. We found the concierge service excellent, housekeeping didn't miss anything- truly perfect, the food at breakfast was delightful, and the pool/fitness area wonderful. This hotel is costly, but truly delivers a five star experience. I can only think of two criticisms. The first is that the staff were all extremely professional and polite, but not especially warm. They had a stiffness that I don't associate with Italians. It may be because the hotel is trying to be so stately and formal. I was disappointed because we were staying at the hotel to celebrate a special event and I had hoped the hotel might acknowledge it. I had sent a message beforehand about our celebration and our travel agent had also written it on our itinerary, which the clerk read while we were checking in. But it was never acknowledged at all. Of course, the hotel has no obligation in this regard. But I thought a customer service oriented property like this might at least look up and say "happy birthday" when we were checking in or send some trivial thing to the room. They did not. Yet they did provide us with a perfect room. The only thing that rubbed me the wrong way was the unnecessary mark-up of food. At luxury properties, we do expect to pay top dollar. But they charged 32 Euros ($42) for a very ordinary smoked salmon sandwich at the bar; the only reasonable food option for my young child was a plain cheese pizza priced at 24 Euros with a bottle of mineral water at 9 Euros. That sort of thing seems silly, especially when the bar snacks are quite ordinary and guests are already paying top dollar for the rooms. My suggestion is to stay at the hotel, but eat at one of the many fantastic and reasonably priced restaurants nearby. I will certainly return to this hotel when next in Milan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDP_MSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
As we do our best to provide the comforts of a luxury experience to our valued guests, I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your room.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken into account as we strive to provide the best service to our customers.

Best Regards
Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    346
    80
    31
    25
See reviews for
235
640
111
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Got great corp rate. Brilliant hotel. Rooms are tiny, but very nice and grande

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Director of Sales at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Ioannis,

Thank you so much for choosing Principe di Savoia for your stay in Milan.
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope to welcome you back upon your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales & Marketing,
Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A very nice hotel in Milan. Rooms were modern and clean. Good layout, not too small. Lounge area was nice, bar quite good. Overall a nice hotel that is very comfortable and livable in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveler_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Principe di Savoia for your stay in Milan, and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am grateful for your kind comments as exceptional service is what we strive and like to be known for.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your Milanese home upon your next trip to Milan.

Yours sincerely,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales & Marketing,
Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We travelled to Milano last summer, August 2011. This is the "slow" tourist time, but we enjoyed it, we didn't think it was too quiet although the city was not bustling. We loved loved loved this grande, luxury hotel. A truly 5-star experience! We stayed in room 625 which was one of the bigger suites that we paid extra for. The bathroom and dressing area complete with a large walk in closet which was more like a small room was perfect for me - I can't get ready in confined, small spaces. The concierage was great and so helpful and truly caring to us. They have a wonderful limo which is the gree ten-minute shuttle to the shops. Yes - the shops- Gucci, Prada, Gelato - oooohhhhhh I miss Italia! The hotel also had an excellent gym. It had four treadmills, weight equipment and a couple of other cardio marchines. The lobby has free coffee and chocolates in the morning. If I had to pick any negatives, it would be super difficult but one would be that our TV kept on freezing (but I was too in love in the room to dare complain) and the gym opened late, although that is quite common in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetLife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and pictures. We do our best to provide our Guests with a unique experience of comfort and service.
It will be my pleasure to pass your review to our concierge team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. When you do, please let us know if you see any flaws in your room. It will be our pleasure to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales & Marketing,
Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having stayed here a couple of times - 3rd floor corner room, I can only give an unqualified

recommendation. Beautiful big room with super old fashioned quality , a pleasure to be in. I just love the old, classic city centre hotels and this is one of the best. Service,ambiance you name it. The breakfasts are absolutley divine - the room ,the food, the service. Limousine service is a great help in the inevitable shopping. The garage and valet parking service were excellent and enthusiastic , as you would expect being italian, in looking after my classic Alfa Romeo.

Room Tip: corner rooms have 2 windows and are bigger.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Principe di Savoia for your stay in Milan, and for sharing your feedback.
I am grateful for your kind comments and suggestions to other travellers.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your Milanese home upon your next trip to Milan.

Yours sincerely,

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales & Marketing,
Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A really luxurious grand hotel. I stayed there during the winter sales, and Milan as well as the Principe di Savoia was overrun with nouveau riche shoppers from Eastern Europe. Staff throughout my stay were very friendly and helpful, whether the receptionists at check-in, the gym or the staff at breakfast. The room was fresh and very nicely appointed, with lovely soft furnishings, a marble-clad bathroom and great toiletries. If I had to criticise anything, it would perhaps be that the mattress and pillows were too firm for my taste. Very elegant foyer and restaurant. The breakfast buffet was very good, with a wide choice and quality ingredients. The gym and pool area on the top floor was also great. It's an easy 10 minute walk to the shopping area and centre, but I used the limousine service a few times, which was very convenient. Overall a fantastic hotel of which I have fond memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,
we really appreciate your comment. Thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor.
Outstanding service is what we strive and like to be known for.

Next time you visit us, do feel free to report your preferences in regards to bed and pillow. We'll do our best to find the solution that best suits your needs.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back,
Yours sincerely

Antonella Sgobba
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,376 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 428 in Milan
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Spa Hotel in Milan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing