We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Luxory in Milan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #8 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxory in Milan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Maybe not in the very center but 15 minutes walking distance to great Duoma.
Nice spa ( small but clean indoor pool , very nice fitness center..)
One of the best brakfast buffet in Europe
Spacious and nice rooms ,very friendly stuff ,so if going to.Milan
For business or pleasure do consider this Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Vedat A,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
I am thrilled to hear that your stay went well and that you enjoyed the room, the service and our breakfast. I will make sure to share your kind comments with the rest of the staff.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Hotel Principe di Savoia.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    332
    78
    30
    24
See reviews for
222
611
110
557
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stay in this hotel annually. Rooms are luxurious, clean and comfortable. Highly consistent and maintained well. Hotel offers car service to the Duomo and Metro is conveniently located across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atc664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear atc664,
It brightens my day to hear your thoughts on our hotel and that everything is to your liking.
We are so proud when our guests consider the Principe their home in Milan.
Please do let me know if there is anything further we can do to make your stay memorable at the Hotel Principe di Savoia.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

we had a one night stay at hotel principe di savoia between a train ride and a flight. the hotel is located very close to the train station (walking distance) and easy to access all that milano has to offer. the grounds are beautiful, as is the presentation of the hotel. the staff was extremely courteous, helpful and nice. we enjoyed the pool, sauna and hamman- though i did expect the pool to be a bit bigger from photos- it was fine as there was noone else swimming!

the breakfast was fresh with a lot of variety and the staff at the restaurant were smiling and very accomodating.we originally reserved our room with a third party website and after a bit of confusion regarding the booking, the hotel was understanding and quick to add an extra bed to our room.

we travel to milan quite often and i would be happy to stay here again-

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arayaglaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear arayaglaser,
thank you for sharing this review about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Principe di Savoia and that everything went beautifully. I am particularly glad that you loved the service and breakfast.

We would be delighted to have you back again. Should you choose the Principe again for your next trip to MIlan, please let me know in advance and I will be glad to give your family a warm welcome.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Since this is unashamedly an expensive old style luxury hotel, part of the elite Dorchester group, you are not likely to stay there very often, unless you are an oligarch. So assuming this is a rare weekend treat for most visitors and is not on business expenses, it is important not to dwell on the fact that a cocktail costs 20 euros; that you can buy two bottles of good supermarket prosecco for the price of a glass in the bar; and you need to allow, realistically,100 euros a head for dinner in the splendid restaurant. Once you are over that mental hurdle, you can then enjoy the unbeatable ambience; the benefits of higher than average ratio of professional staff focussed on guest care; and a concern about food quality that I have yet to find in other hotels - anywhere.

If you need to balance out the expenditure, Milan now has a good collection of small cafes and restaurants with ordinary prices within walking distance. And in terms of timing of your trip to manage accommodation costs, avoid convention and conference times - and fashion week if you can.

The sign of an excellent hotel is how staff react to a problem. A minor plumbing issue with the hot water flow in our daughters' room elicited a rapid response, and when it could not readily be fixed without a spare part, there was an immediate offer for them to move to another room. We declined; a further unsuccessful attempt was made; the rooms manager came to see us personally at Sunday brunch to apologise; and a bottle of the local champagne-quality sparkling wine then arrived.

We found the basic free wifi to be adequate, if slow,for emails and simple downloads. The pool and gym were OK, though the water was slightly warm and the gym at 25C soon felt uncomfortable. I should have adjusted the wall thermostat or opened the windows earlier.

An excellent weekend. Bravo!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quodnumquamscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Quodnumquasmscis,
thank you for your through review of the Hotel.
At the Hotel Principe di Savoia we take immense pride in providing the highest quality of service and to have an exceptional staff at hand.
I am delighted to hear that although you encountered a problem we were able to quickly assist you and that you felt the dedication of our Staff. I have spoken with our team at Club 10 regarding the water temperature and room temperature and this is something we will definitely be more careful about in the future.

I hope to have you again soon as our Guest.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

That such a prestigious and welcoming Hotel, with a good location, excellent restaurant, and the absolutely most stunning spa and health center, with an incredible view of the alps on a clear day.

Hotel with old and welcoming staff, to make your life easy and pleasurable. What a pity that they should stoop to charging for wifi, and at outrageous daily rate of $40. It really is a business Hotel, and even if they charged more for the room would be OK, the wifi charge has the feel of gouging, and make the guest feel unappreciated, and makes the connecting laborious and time consuming as well as the feeling of being gyped.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaBetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear FloridaBetterhalf,
thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad that you loved the hotel location and services and I hope to welcome you again upon your next trip to Milan.

I would also like to let you know that starting from February 2013 we have changed our internet service provider and policy.
Internet access up to 256 kb/s is now free for all guests. This connectivity speed is sufficient to browse through emails or surf the web, while unlimited access is still available for a fee.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely
Ezio Indiani
General Manager, Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Quite simply the best hotel in the world.

I really don't know where to start because there are so many great things to say about this hotel. I have stayed here a few times now and every time it is fantastic.

It is like a stately home in a city. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is stunning from the lovely terraces to the spa on the 10th floor. Unassuming elegance is the best way to describe the style which welcomes royals and football superstars without anyone taking a second glance. It is a complete home from home.

The staff are all excellent. So helpful and delightful.

The location is excellent. 15 minutes walk from the Duomo and main shopping streets, but you don't have to walk because you can take on of the hotel limos free of charge. But also it is on the main tram lines too and only 5 minutes from the central station. There are lots of lovely restaurants nearby.

The breakfast is epic. With a fantastic hot buffet and a cold buffet with a selection of amazing pastries and champagne on tap. Really I have stayed in hundreds of hotels but this is the best breakfast I have ever had.

Now this hotel is not cheap as you would expect, it is part of the Dorchester Collection, but it is worth every penny.

I can't wait to return soon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicporter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear nicporter1,
what can I say to such flattering words? Thank you!
We believe that any good hotel can guarantee luxury services. At Dorchester Collection that is not enough, though. Our staff is passionately committed to providing an experience of excellence. It is for us of the highest importance if our Guests feel that.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Principe.
When you do, please let me know about your arrival date. I shall be most glad to give you a warm welcome back.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager, Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel and I was very impressed with two things: the service level and the breakfast – both really great!

I would not call this a truly luxurious hotel, but even though it’s an old hotel everything is very well kept and nothing that I could see was worn down. The beds are ok, the bathroom ok and the room size is ok too but nothing really stood out as it should in a luxury hotel. I, of course, had the most basic room and I can imagine that if you pay a bit more you will for sure get a room that has that extra thing.

In short, I can recommend this hotel for both business and vacation travel and I will most probably return on my next trip to Milan.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear ErikFromSweden,
thank you for this review about Hotel Principe di Savoia.
While I am pleased to read that you loved the service received, I am sorry if you were not that impressed with the style of our hotel. All the rooms were recently refurbished and the common areas redesigned by world-famous architects. Actually I daresay we do not have any such thing as "basic" accomodations.

I really hope that the Principe may become your home in Milan. If you do choose our hotel again, please let me know in advance and we will make sure to prepare a warm welcome back for you.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager, Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#6 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#5 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Milan
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing